In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      Flowermonaster

just888:

maybe if you stop giving out birthday gifts, they might appear to remind you.

if mil ask why no presents, just say \"oh, never seen them so cant remember how old they are and so didnt get any\".

Think 2 years ago I got the girls some dresses from our vacation trip. The reply came back is the elder one dress is going to be too small liao. My replied then was, I last saw them they small built wat.. grow so fast liao huh? No one tell me what's their built.
      Think if on the road, my son and his cousins would never recognize each other. Told my son, he like no cousins but nevermind, my cousins' kid are his cousins too. hehe

Yeah yeah, I support LOLMum's idea! :rahrah:
      Never see them so mean not in existence wat. So they r the legendary 神龙? :rotflmao:

ningning

How to accept the fact that my gal got to call that spolit princess"gu gu" at the reunion dinner where she had verbal insult me with names. . I just cant stomach it.

while i agreed that that we should not stop hubby from spending time with their parents. i had always told my Dh to attend gatherings on his own and he did. But tink i really cant let my gal which i carry for ten months in my womb, to turn up for re dinner and call that spolit "gu gu". I cant get passed this.

LOLMum

if you really dont want your child to call her gugu, talk to your husband and see if he could go alone for the reunion dinner.

your child can see the grandparents any other time. but what about the first day of cny? you do have to go right?

also this matter is between you and your sil, child shouldnt be caught in between.

i would only stop my child from seeing or acknowledging anyone if they badmouthed me in front of my kid.

• G Offline
            garam

I can fully understand, although I staying in the same block, she has never invite me to her place although I not keen to go.  Now the best part, she told my hubby, she will not come over to eat when my mil cook as she afraid I not happy, so my mil will bring over the food to her place.  We r eating together with the whole family including PIL & she eating with her hubby.  But can’t b bothered & gv never even ask why she dun want to come. Let her go & act, pathetic. Since I’m already a bad person just let it b

fifiyeo

Talking about younger SIL and BIL - when DS was in kindergarden he was very chatty and SIL found him such a pain that she screamed at him to SHUT UP! BIL was upset with DS’s mischief and took the cane and whipped him. Just felt that their should be some respect and boundary but ILs felt there was nothing wrong. But if we dare touch our nephew, we will surely be hanged!

ningning:
                How to accept the fact that my gal got to call that spolit princess\"gu gu\" at the reunion dinner where she had verbal insult me with names. . I just cant stomach it.

while i agreed that that we should not stop hubby from spending time with their parents. i had always told my Dh to attend gatherings on his own and he did. But tink i really cant let my gal which i carry for ten months in my womb, to turn up for re dinner and call that spolit \"gu gu\". I cant get passed this.
                Fly kite if that spoilt woman expects my son to address her gu gu or that selfish, self-centered brother-in-law shu shu. Don't think they deserve such nice 'addressing'. My other SIL better still, she told her daughter to address that spoilt woman 'aunt xx', 'uncle xx'. The old one hopping mad but so what...she dare not tell SIL she wants traditional way of addressing. I love it. :rahrah:

just888

Flowermonaster:
                  just888:

[quote=\"LOLMum\"]maybe if you stop giving out birthday gifts, they might appear to remind you.

if mil ask why no presents, just say \"oh, never seen them so cant remember how old they are and so didnt get any\".

Think 2 years ago I got the girls some dresses from our vacation trip. The reply came back is the elder one dress is going to be too small liao. My replied then was, I last saw them they small built wat.. grow so fast liao huh? No one tell me what's their built.
                  Think if on the road, my son and his cousins would never recognize each other. Told my son, he like no cousins but nevermind, my cousins' kid are his cousins too. hehe

Yeah yeah, I support LOLMum's idea! :rahrah:
                  Never see them so mean not in existence wat. So they r the legendary 神龙? :rotflmao:[/quote]Ya, maybe I can try with the HongPows for the 3 kids this 2012. Never see how to give?!? Usually I will just pass them to my MIL on 1st day of CNY. Now I shall pass it to them later instead this year instead and test if they will appear or not.

LOLMum

yes, start with angpow. keep them with you. if mil asks where are the angpows for the kids, just tell her you have not seen them for so long, cant remember how many kids there are so didnt prepare. 😉

p.s. do you kids receive anypow or birthday presents from them?

just888

yes, start with angpow. keep them with you. if mil asks where are the angpows for the kids, just tell her you have not seen them for so long, cant remember how many kids there are so didnt prepare. 😉

p.s. do you kids receive anypow or birthday presents from them?
                      Usually I gave 1st as her 2 gals birthday falls in Jan and Feb respectively, then they will give my son in May.

I remebered when my son was younger - age 3 then, he is the only grandchild, SIL was very weird, get a multi-storey carpark toy for my son without any cars. Then told me it is very cheap to get the toy cars from ToyRUs.

Then came 1 time, I got a ropper for her elder gal when she was 6mths old from ToyRUs during my shopping. Guess what in Dec (1 mth away from my niece birthday), she told me that the ropper I got for gal was very good and nice. She said she was unable to find it even in toyRUs. I told her I am surprised she can't find it there, as I brought it there. Suggested to to try other outlet. Asked my hubby if she is trying to hint me to get another dress for her gal...maybe I am too sensitive.

ningning

if you really dont want your child to call her gugu, talk to your husband and see if he could go alone for the reunion dinner.

your child can see the grandparents any other time. but what about the first day of cny? you do have to go right?

also this matter is between you and your sil, child shouldnt be caught in between.

i would only stop my child from seeing or acknowledging anyone if they badmouthed me in front of my kid.
                        I dun intend to turn up for re dinner nor first day cny coz mil had scold me again and again that I am a bad woman and she dun ever want to show concern nor help in anyway to look after my dd. Coz sil is not happy with me that I talked back when she talked rude to me. I was expected to give in to this spoilt princess at all cost coz I am married \"in\" to their family.
                        As usual mil tot I bully her \"sweet angel\".

Anw mil has never offered to care even \" one minute for my dd\" . So be it. Go or dun go re dinner or First day of cny , I am still the evil bad woman for them and they had nvr lift a finger to help me anything at all. I rather go my mum place and be happy then. Why swallow pride there and be taken like a prey by this pack of wolves. Cny is supposed to be a joyous festive not where I had to come home feeling lousy after visiting them. I had always visited them during cny dutifully coz I regard myself as one of family . These years I realised all these while I self deceive and determined to exclude them in my life.
                        As for dh I told him if this marriage is to stay this will be the way to stay. He agreed too coz he had witnessed how I was treated all these years. From being called a slut , money graber , hooker , black magic , cheater and mocked at big family gathering that I was childless etc, so much more painful words that I could not mention here. I had enoughs. They felt so superior by just running a small family business.

So my girl, I am sorry that she won't be closed to her grandparent . Anw I believe they won't miss her also as compared to her nephews. They are \" golden grandchild\" to the old folks . This is life. We dun get all the attention and love we desire in life.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 375 / 529