In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
    • MMMM Offline
      MMM

On expired food… I think some old folks does not have awareness. Maybe old flower eyes so cannot see the expiry date…

My pils are like that too… Sometimes dh has to do a spring cleaning on canned food and food in fridge. Maid will get it from them if she does it so only dh can do it. They think it’s a waste of $$$ to throw. But this is really penny wise pound foolish… Seeing a doctor after eating the food will cost more $$$.

verykiasumummy

On expired food.... I think some old folks does not have awareness. Maybe old flower eyes so cannot see the expiry date....

My pils are like that too.. Sometimes dh has to do a spring cleaning on canned food and food in fridge. Maid will get it from them if she does it so only dh can do it. They think it's a waste of $$$ to throw. But this is really penny wise pound foolish.... Seeing a doctor after eating the food will cost more $$$.
        if pils know how to listen, we wun hv so many problems liao....

verykiasumummy

my own mum is even older than my mil but she understands that when i told her not to do this and that to my dc… only the mils in the world nv understands…

verykiasumummy

contentedSAHM:
            verykiasumummy:

[quote=\"contentedSAHM\"]actually my issue is not with sil, i am ok with DH footing the bill, it is i am pissed with MIL's comment that 这是应该的...why must she pass this kind of remark, like DH owes it to her ....in the 1st place, she doesnt look after my children and she doesnt even cook for us whenever we visit her

i hv 2 sils, this one who is bringing MIL on hol is reasonable, cant speak for other one who is more well-to-do and takes advantage of my DH !

I wish i have no in laws at all !

cannot say like tat... next time my dc's spouses will also wish they hv no in laws... means want us to d....i....e.... soon izit?? take back ur words.... take back ur words....

haha..i din see it tat way, ok lah i take back my words....[/quote]good, much as i do complain about them... i wouldnt and also couldnt pass down comments to ask them to pass on faster.... i really dun want bad influence on my dc...

mommylow

On expired food.... I think some old folks does not have awareness. Maybe old flower eyes so cannot see the expiry date....

My pils are like that too.. Sometimes dh has to do a spring cleaning on canned food and food in fridge. Maid will get it from them if she does it so only dh can do it. They think it's a waste of $$$ to throw. But this is really penny wise pound foolish.... Seeing a doctor after eating the food will cost more $$$.
              Not old flower eyes but seriously my mil does not how to read expiry dates on packagings. So she actually eats a lot of food that is expired unless we tell her. Of course, she is also too thrifty to throw them away even when we tell her the food cannot be consumed.

Years ago, she used to bring expired foodstuff or cheap junk food and titbits for my kids when she visited. I was too polite to reject them but threw them away the minute she left. After complaining to DH many times, he knocked some sense into her and she finally brought foodstuff that are consumable. Now, we have no more issues about eating expired foodstuff.

verykiasumummy:

They think it's a waste of $$$ to throw. But this is really penny wise pound foolish.... Seeing a doctor after eating the food will cost more $$$.

The problem here is not expired food, but refusal to put left overs in the fridge. If get food poisoning/contamination, worse! Have to suffer on top of seeing a doctor. Their stubbornness will get them no where...but if refused to listen, gone case! Everything also want to keep like garung kuni.

SAHM Chew

My MIL kept expired \"cooling water\" for fever. I just threw it away yesterday which has the expiry date in 2009. Even the can has rust. Do not understand why she kept it for so long. She never drink it when she has fever. She kept cooked prawn in the fridge fm cny to aug til it has a bad smell n i had to throw it away. She kept those canned drinks in fridge til it expired.... Even if cannot see expiry date, by the rust n smell, shld discard, right?

SAHM Chew

verykiasumummy:

[quote=\"MMM\"]
                    They think it's a waste of $$$ to throw. But this is really penny wise pound foolish.... Seeing a doctor after eating the food will cost more $$$.

The problem here is not expired food, but refusal to put left overs in the fridge. If get food poisoning/contamination, worse! Have to suffer on top of seeing a doctor. Their stubbornness will get them no where...but if refused to listen, gone case! Everything also want to keep like garung kuni.[/quote]Yap. Either she put left over food one day later n kept them in fridge until they rot.... :mad: i gave up on them. I just stopped eating the food, n clear the fridge when i am free.. :rotflmao:

verykiasumummy

verykiasumummy:

[quote=\"MMM\"]

The problem here is not expired food, but refusal to put left overs in the fridge. If get food poisoning/contamination, worse! Have to suffer on top of seeing a doctor. Their stubbornness will get them no where...but if refused to listen, gone case! Everything also want to keep like garung kuni.[/quote]ya so true... all mils have the same pattern... mine also karung guni...

keep until the whole kitchen n storeroom full of things liao right, nvm...
                      we went for 1 week holiday wit dh and dc and when we return, i see things along the walkway outside our room... some things in my dc room... i secretly threw them away while she was sleeping, pretending that i dunno anything, put walkway is rubbish so i throw... who knows next morning she woke up and go pick them back... and the following week i threw them again and this time i threw them at the rubbish collection... no more return!!!!

SAHM Chew

Yap yap. Same same. My mil also pick up the things that i threw away. Sometimes, i have to wait for the collection truck to come, then i can throw it away. If not, i will see the items at home again. Even my kids old toys, she will pick them up again....

verykiasumummy:

ya so true... all mils have the same pattern... mine also karung guni...

keep until the whole kitchen n storeroom full of things liao right, nvm...
                        we went for 1 week holiday wit dh and dc and when we return, i see things along the walkway outside our room... some things in my dc room... i secretly threw them away while she was sleeping, pretending that i dunno anything, put walkway is rubbish so i throw... who knows next morning she woke up and go pick them back... and the following week i threw them again and this time i threw them at the rubbish collection... no more return!!!!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 443 / 529