In-law problems?
I am relieved I am busy with kids this year. Anyway, after the first day of CNY, I couldn't be bothered. The stubborn 2 can continue to puff and drink to their hearts' content. First day of CNY order KFC again. With them, 相见都非常难,住在一起是会疯掉。
can understand.
dun feel like reunion Chinese dinner.
not in mood to cook special CNY food at home, bring the \"pot luck\" to in law house. -
Desserts:
I can really relate to whatever you all shared! Yes, CNy is super sian. Best if can get away for a short break.
Yes, go away to Malaysia for short holiday better. -
Go for holiday to avoid them…my hubby 会跟我死过. Never mind, tahan reunion lunch and 2 hours on 1st day…mission accomplished.
Ya, phtthp, my sis told me the shops in Malaysia will all be closed leh. Nw we r looking for a cheap, short and good getaway. Cruise is good too, but should be very x if book now.
Do your kids call your out laws to chit chat during the weekdays? Recently my hb and I got :spank: :nunchuk: for not teaching our kids to pick up the phone to call them on a regular basis. my kids were scolded first then us, that we didn't teach our kids to be Zhi4 dong4 -
Desserts:
Call them? The moment my hubby calls his parents, the both of them will quickly make an escape. The ONLY question the old one asks them is 我是谁...like that Jackie chan movie :faint: My SIL also told me her daughter escapes to the toilet whenever the old one calls...apparently that one doesn't ask anything else but that question. At least if she asks 'how is school? Or have you eaten? The kids won't be pissed.
Do your kids call your out laws to chit chat during the weekdays? Recently my hb and I got :spank: :nunchuk: for not teaching our kids to pick up the phone to call them on a regular basis. my kids were scolded first then us, that we didn't teach our kids to be Zhi4 dong4 -
haha. why she likes to ask that question?
Call them? The moment my hubby calls his parents, the both of them will quickly make an escape. The ONLY question the old one asks them is 我是谁...like that Jackie chan movie :faint: My SIL also told me her daughter escapes to the toilet whenever the old one calls...apparently that one doesn't ask anything else but that question. At least if she asks 'how is school? Or have you eaten? The kids won't be pissed.Desserts:
Hi, new to this thread. Wish I had discovered this earlier!
Only managed to read thru some of the front and back pages, would like to read everything, will slowly do so
but I can relate to some of the stories told. I had similar experiences with mine too, except that I usually kena 2x, from MIL AND Grandma IL 
When I tried to nurse my DSs years ago, both MIL & GMIL STRONGLY discouraged saying my milk is not nutritious blah blah blah...
And while most of your MILs prefer boys to girls, mine prefers girls to boys, cos she lost hers as an infant. Or maybe it's bcos she prefers the elder BIL's wifey so perfers their offspring (girl) more.
I can handle if they attack me, but I absolutely cannot stand it when they choose to attack my DSs even when they were very young. They (MIL & younger BIL) would call them names (stupid, skinny, big head etc) and criticize them as and when they could. I used to be perplexed why this happened, but realized later that it was bcos MIL was JEALOUS of us/DSs compared to the elder BIL's family!
She will to this day, always compare my DSs with their female cousin. Whatever my DSs get (e.g. computer games, travel etc) she would try to find ways to let her precious grand-daughter has it too. BIL's family is not doing so well, but it's not our fault! (BIL is a smoker and alcoholic who doesn't want to work!)
Yet MIL thinks we are spoiling our kids and even commented why should we spend so much on their tuition, piano, swimming etc. She also suggested that we should stop DS piano lessons though he is already in G7 -_-|||
When DS1 were registered in a popular Pri Sch (my alma mater), she nagged at me for almost a year to get his cousin registered in the same school by citing reasons as they are siblings etc etc. This is abit too OFF right...
Haha ok more stories to tell actually, but will do so slowly ya... still have GMIL! -
MIL enough headache...still have grand MIL as well :faint:
If I have to visit his 姑妈, I will suffer grand mother-in-law nonsense too. That old one thinks she is the grand matriarch. Marina Barrage big enough to fly kite. -
popireis:
I pity you popireis!Hi, new to this thread. Wish I had discovered this earlier!
Only managed to read thru some of the front and back pages, would like to read everything, will slowly do so
but I can relate to some of the stories told. I had similar experiences with mine too, except that I usually kena 2x, from MIL AND Grandma IL 
When I tried to nurse my DSs years ago, both MIL & GMIL STRONGLY discouraged saying my milk is not nutritious blah blah blah...
And while most of your MILs prefer boys to girls, mine prefers girls to boys, cos she lost hers as an infant. Or maybe it's bcos she prefers the elder BIL's wifey so perfers their offspring (girl) more.
I can handle if they attack me, but I absolutely cannot stand it when they choose to attack my DSs even when they were very young. They (MIL & younger BIL) would call them names (stupid, skinny, big head etc) and criticize them as and when they could. I used to be perplexed why this happened, but realized later that it was bcos MIL was JEALOUS of us/DSs compared to the elder BIL's family!
She will to this day, always compare my DSs with their female cousin. Whatever my DSs get (e.g. computer games, travel etc) she would try to find ways to let her precious grand-daughter has it too. BIL's family is not doing so well, but it's not our fault! (BIL is a smoker and alcoholic who doesn't want to work!)
Yet MIL thinks we are spoiling our kids and even commented why should we spend so much on their tuition, piano, swimming etc. She also suggested that we should stop DS piano lessons though he is already in G7 -_-|||
When DS1 were registered in a popular Pri Sch (my alma mater), she nagged at me for almost a year to get his cousin registered in the same school by citing reasons as they are siblings etc etc. This is abit too OFF right...
Haha ok more stories to tell actually, but will do so slowly ya... still have GMIL! -
Not forgetting the \"aunties\" and \"uncles\" in-laws! :slapshead:MIL enough headache...still have grand MIL as well :faint:
If I have to visit his 姑妈, I will suffer grand mother-in-law nonsense too. That old one thinks she is the grand matriarch. Marina Barrage big enough to fly kite.
Sometimes the aunties will joint forces with the MIL & GMIL.
I can only try to turn a deaf ear unless it gets overboard.
That's why I oso HATE CNY visiting to their places...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.