In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      SAHM Chew

AdonciaTang:
      popireis:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]

新年要快乐 right? Forget about visiting those troublemakers.
      Depressing and frustrating to see them. Hubby's paternal uncles and aunties and even my own father's side...i don't give a damn. One whole life either comparing or else fan the flames. They are so fake and the so-called concern makes hair stand.

@Desserts, haha talking abt \"boomerang effect\", the old onesss dislike DILs who cannot cook, do housework etc, so I was the lone target in the past. Who knows, the 2 younger DILs she got years later are much worse than me, they dun even bother to visit, only once during CNY. And never talked to the oldies.

Hwr, once I stopped being the \"easy\" target, they shifted the \"attention\" to my DSs :censored:

So what we do now during CNY visits is to each bring along a game (Ipad, Smart phones, DS, PSP whatever), so that we minimize the interactions with the \"san gu liu po\" 😛

Smart! At least we can get our kids and ourselves engrossed with the game rather then listening to what they have to say. I will always ask my kids to play their games and don listen too much. Last year I was playing one of the game too with my two DS, and one of the aunt commented that i am so rude and did not respect that there are people around me and i shouldn't be playing my game, she even said in front of everyone that I am an adult, should know how to behave but dono whay still like a kid. ... I feel like slamming the psp in my hand into her mouth. (p.s. sorry if i sounded a bit rough but i seriously felt like that. so pissed!)[/quote]I just bought another iPad mini to standby :rotflmao:

If the old one sees the kids on ipad, she will be furious when she is ignored...then she will ask hubby how much it is and then hint for MORE pocket money :mad: Gosh, I know what is on her mind the moment she wriggles her tail. I DISLIKE CNY !!! The thought of having to put up with her drama drives ME nuts.

fifiyeo

fifiyeo:

Had to see ILs this weekend. I am feeling so pissed right now :censored: :censored: :censored: :censored: :censored: :censored: !!!!

Again that MIL had to sting me with some of her 5 cents worth of sarcastic remarks regarding education. 2 months and still not ending.

PSLE 2012 is history.
          Why is your old one so free?

Problem is the old ones are very free lor!
          Janet, this PSLE thing will never be history. Just another new listing in their records. ILs' book of records is super thick, endless issues to bring up especially if they think you are stupid or below them, they will never give you respect. Aiya, really spoil my day.

auntieM

If the old one sees the kids on ipad, she will be furious when she is ignored...then she will ask hubby how much it is and then hint for MORE pocket money :mad: Gosh, I know what is on her mind the moment she wriggles her tail. I DISLIKE CNY !!! The thought of having to put up with her drama drives ME nuts.

:hugs: .. ...the Oscar season is near for us!
            :frustrated:

AdonciaTang

auntieM:

:hugs: .. ...the Oscar season is near for us!
              :frustrated:

LOL.

SarChar

I married a man with 5 brothers and 7 sisters. So I actually have 12 SILs and 1 MIL. CNY and Xmas are big gathering events plus MIL birthdays and Mother’s Day. Other than that, we do not meet every weekend because it means a dinner for 50 people.

When I first dated DH, my mum was very concerned about his big family.

But after reading your stories, I realise I have been lucky that we have each other to depend on…someone to pay for MIL kitchen renovation $14K, we paid the fridge $1K+, someone else got her another new TV…

Even a specialist visit at hospital had 3 sons and 2 daughters cramped in the room with my MIL. The doc was really amazed. But he didnt know there were 3 other sons and 5 daughters who didnt make it.

I learn early not to take offence of what my SILs said. Most are educated SAHM. When I had my 2nd daughter, a SIL asked me why another girl in the family…I went home and cried…It was much later that I realised that there was a straight 6 babies all girls born 1 after another. I was just a bit more sensitive.

Actually we all (everyone I hope) look forward to CNY. With 22 children between us, it is an event we look forward to every year!

AdonciaTang

I look forward to CNY too. I actually love it. But I just cant stand my SIL who loves to pour oil to the fire. During CNY, she will make sure everyone saw her daughter and praise her. But the moment someone says to my son, "wah, so tall and good looking now ah", she gets jealous immediately. I wish there is someone to knock some senses into her.

AdonciaTang:
                    I look forward to CNY too. I actually love it. But I just cant stand my SIL who loves to pour oil to the fire. During CNY, she will make sure everyone saw her daughter and praise her. But the moment someone says to my son, \"wah, so tall and good looking now ah\", she gets jealous immediately. I wish there is someone to knock some senses into her.

:siao:
                    I look forward to the fun and noise at MY grandmother's place. It is only once a year we get together...cousins and relatives.
                    Son just complained having to see paternal grandmother and answer her numerous '我是谁' questions again. Told him to full charge his mobile phone :censored:

SarChar

AdonciaTang:
                      I look forward to CNY too. I actually love it. But I just cant stand my SIL who loves to pour oil to the fire. During CNY, she will make sure everyone saw her daughter and praise her. But the moment someone says to my son, \"wah, so tall and good looking now ah\", she gets jealous immediately. I wish there is someone to knock some senses into her.

It is not difficult to know why people are jealous when you have prettier/more handsome looking children.

Once someone (not my SILs) told me DD2 at her 1 yr old party, looked like my MIL! Such a thoughtless remark, My MIL was almost 70 yrs old then!

Another person saw DD1 when she was a few months said \" when a baby is pretty as shie is now, more likely she will not be pretty when she is older.... \"

Hello, excuse me...do i know you well? :mad:

Desserts

FIFi, same here, psle won’t be history for the out laws. It will be a topic of discussion, and comparison with the San gu Liu po s children. Sianz…

If we don’t visit the San gu liu pors during CNy, it’ll be another fight with mil.
                        All the short trips are so ex now, we should have booked earlier

Sarchar, wow, your dh s family is so large, your mil nice?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 471 / 529

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog