In-law problems?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Relationships
    5.3k Posts 331 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

Wah lao hquek! :!:

Got brownie points some more! :faint:

Andaiz

Wah lao hquek! :!:

Got brownie points some more! :faint:

Ya! That and sympathy votes. leh :stupid: :stupid:

Vivitan,

Looks like our MILs can get Grammy, Oscar and Golden Horse awards.
          Mine acts like demure and helpless old lady esp in front of my hubby (her fav son). Behind his back, her TRUE colours show.
          I just ignore her completely. Or else she will spoil my day :x Already spoiled my mood by having to see her.

Andaiz

Vivitan,

Looks like our MILs can get Grammy, Oscar and Golden Horse awards.
            Mine acts like demure and helpless old lady esp in front of my hubby (her fav son). Behind his back, her TRUE colours show.
            I just ignore her completely. Or else she will spoil my day :x Already spoiled my mood by having to see her.
            CNY coming, janet_lee88...more drama coming! :roll:

auntieM

Aiyoh, sure get nightmare soon of lion dance performance with MIL leading as the big red 'lion' :!:

Dong Dong Qiang...Tong Tong QQQQQ..qiang :shock:

Yes, will the stars of the night please stand on the stage please ?

Thank goodness I do not have to stay around on the 1st day of CNY. I just show my pretty face in the morning, say Happy New Year, give red packet, eat a little to make hubby happy, and then bye bye.
                πŸ˜‰

I won't stay long enough to see drama.

Andaiz

auntieM:
                  Aiyoh, sure get nightmare soon of lion dance performance with MIL leading as the big red 'lion' :!:

Dong Dong Qiang...Tong Tong QQQQQ..qiang :shock:
                  It's year of the Tiger sista....all the closet tiger's fangs will chiii chiang.....come out! :roll:

Good for you, janet_lee88. It's a Sunday, we'd have to rush coz IL's got lots of activities on Sunday morning. Then MIL will present her \"tong shui\" (which was cooked the night before) for all and sundry....DH's would inevitably have lots of gingko and liao (and he doesn't even eat them, only drinks the soup) and mine??!? looks more like dishwater 😐 :roll: 😒...plain...so I drink a bit, then eat up all his gingko loh! πŸ˜‰

• 3 Offline
                    3Boys

Had an interesting conversation with my mum today about her relationships with her DILs (my DW and SIL). It was quite illuminating actually. Thankfully my mum and MIL are both reasonable types, and they give of their time and effort to help run the households and monitor the brats whilst the adults (me, DW, bro and SIL) are out working.

But.....they expect that they be given respect and have their opinions heard. They expect to be treated with courtesy and not endure dirty looks or snide comments, and they expect the recognition that the time they spend is out of their goodwill and not be taken for granted or advantage of. Certainly if either of them got wind that I was airing dirty laundry in a public forum, I will be summarily disowned!!

I suppose in any situation, there MAY be 2 sides to a coin. Not all DILs are angels either, but MILs of our generation are not typically in a position to set up a discussion board and b**** about their DILs. I'm sure that would be a lively thread! Mebbe you ladies, when you graduate to being MILs, you can do something on KSGP? πŸ˜‰

Not passing judgement here, I'm sure many of you have genuine grouses, and you are certainly entitled to let off steam in a open forum, as I am now doing.....

I guess a few things make me a little uncomfortable about this thread.

1) I could not countenenace myself, bro, SIL or DW speaking to/of mum/MIL in mocking tones, ridiculing their behaviours, let alone post publicly repeated blow-by-blow accounts. They have their idiosyncrasies, but they are from a different generation and have imbibed a different value system. I think they need to be cut some slack on that count. I have to say my personal observation from 2 households is that the DILs behave worse towards their respective MILs then the son-ILs to theirs.

2) Who defends the voiceless? Pack mentality kicks in quickly when there is an easy target like an MIL. Torn to shreds in a forum? All harmless fun yes....?

Sorry for the tedious read. If you are having serious problems, my sympathies are with you and I hope you have a way forward. Otherwise, may I politely suggest, if you have not already noted, a little more reflection and a little less pridefulness can go a long way in resolving some of these issues?

Andaiz,

Hubby wants to reach mummy dearest place early. No choice lah, have to go early but he will see my extremely bored face. His mother will cook vegetarian for lunch every year…I will just eat a little. I do not like to eat vegetarian food.

... 2) Who defends the voiceless? Pack mentality kicks in quickly when there is an easy target like an MIL. Torn to shreds in a forum? All harmless fun yes....? ...

Assuming that KiasuParents.com survive another 10 to 20 years, there will MILs aplenty to defend themselves here :siam: .

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 4 / 529