Teach Less, Learn More
QuiteKSMum:
Hmmmmmmmmm ....
Think you're right, FUNX, teacher's asst is more to do with the non-teaching aspects of the job. So, your suggestion is a totally new job scope.
Wonder which KS forumner's MP is the Edn Minister, Dr Ng Eng Hen ? Maybe they can pay him a visit in his Meet the People's sessions, esp so when this yr is Election year!

How \"miserly\"? Think less than $1000, if my memory doesn't fail me...
For a Full Day Work? or Half Day = Sch Hours?
More or Less a CLERK, Or Nicely Named, Admin Assistant's Pay ....
Think full day.... (sorry, cannot really remember , many yrs ago...) :?
:offtopic: Like Chenonceau, I'm totally in love with the emotions, at 1st thought v.childish, but the more I use, the more I like...haha... -
Pen88n:
I do not think it is only tapping into this pool of resources. MOE need to look into syllabus coverage as well. If what is covered in school is basic, and students are expected to pick up \"extras\" from outside (tuition, guide / assessment books, parents), then with extra resources will also not address the issue.
I think it is a great idea too! Nowadays, there are many many 'onz' parents, working or stay-at-home parents who personally research and coach kids. I even know some are professionally trained ex-teachers who are very qualified to be in these roles. They should really consider tapping into such resources.IJJ:
[quote=\"Chenonceau\"]
I like!! :love: This is a great idea!!
Yay! No need to petition lah... Collective wisdom and some gentle pressure should help things along. Aaaaah! The power of the internet. :lol:
Hopefully, they dun expect volunteering. Must pay properly.
What is tested should be taught in school; students should not be expected to learn more on their own (which is likely thru' tuition / parents).[/quote]What we thinking of Here is Covering these Non-Taught items that R Being Examined. So Gotta Be Taught at Home and in Tuition Class ....
Since T Always Short of Time to Do So .... -
MummyThreeStreams:
Please buy the science guide book for your P3 child. Science text books will surely not be enough. It is only full of Qs and you can wonder about the answers for the whole day.
Guess I'll be bringing along lots of books! The Internet resources would be useful. I had better get started.
Up till the end of P4 we were walking in the dark plus blind folded - for science revision at home. Then a kind soul told us about the science guide. This helped us see light finally. Back then I had not joined KSP, so I was ignorant.
The online resources like lead.com should also be useful for you. -
insider:
\"teach less learn more\" is an ideal concept of education.cantbearit2:
\"teach less learn more\" is an ideal concept of education but I don't see it is possible to be realised here coz of the amount of content that MOE packed into the primary school syllabus. To achieve the essence of this concept, syllabus definitely needs to be cut so that kids can really use thinking skills to learn in terms of quality (the ability to think / analyse) instead of quantity.
Agree. But only if it stops there. It leads to disaster if it extends to
\"teach less, learn more, test even more\" as rightly pointed out by a parent earlier. This is the sad reality about which we are all cribbing here. -
tisha:
The online resources like lead.com should also be useful for you.
Hi mummies, how often your kid does use this program at home? DD said they use it in school to practice the CL Oral Test and there is 10 exercise. -
insider:
At the Rate that your Mention,There are so many ‘planners’ in MOE, most if not all should be qualified and of course we will question why they can be so ‘senseless’ to test so much.
I put myself in the planners’ shoes for a switch of roles.
There are textbooks – these are the supposedly standard that kids should attain by the end of a level (be it P1 or P2 etc). MOE does not have the intention that parents will send their kids for tuition or enrichment and teachers should be able to cover the content comfortably, adequately, and meaningfully.
Children who can master all concepts listed in the textbooks are considered reach ‘age appropriate’ stage meant for the general average kids, meaning based on this amount of content, the bell curve should be there that some will pass with flying colours and some will fail and the average makes up the bulk.
But parents send for tuition and enrichment, etc.
So the bell curve skewed very much to the right with a large proportion of the cohort attaining the 90s and the 100.
In order to ‘rectify’ the bell curve back to its ‘original shape’ (coz kids are so ‘smart’), deeper concepts within the content will have to be added. Such added concepts are never the intention of MOE coz the time allowed for teaching are only meant to cover what are mentioned in the textbooks.
Teachers ended with hot potatoes in their hands coz many children have already pre-mastered the concepts meant to be covered and lessons become boring and majority get 90s or 100. BUT the concepts still need to be taught for those who have no external support. They are torn.
In conclusion, exam papers will definitely cover more than what are shown in the textbooks or covered by teachers. Teachers’ job is to cover the textbooks and additional deeper concepts that are not meant to be covered may be covered during ‘remedial’ classes or parents have to coach or send for tuition/enrichment.
We already have entered a vicious cycle and the original culprits were the more affluent parents. I don’t see how can MOE rectify the situation coz they cannot do magic to multiply so that there are 48 hours in a day nor they can ‘control’ parents’ hearts…
Soon Our Kids Will Start studying Sec Sch Stuff (At least the Lower Sec Blocks) in the Fore-See-able Future!
No Wonder My Gal's Sc T Last Year Scribbled So Much Sec Sch Stuff, Incomprehensible to My Gal's Class, to Fill Up 2 FULL Exercise Books of Hers .... For Which We Were Advised by Her P6 Senior Friends to Ignore ....
Don't Know Spent So Much Time Copy for the Whole Year For What?! -
Brenda10:
Hi Brenda10tisha:
The online resources like lead.com should also be useful for you.
Hi mummies, how often your kid does use this program at home? DD said they use it in school to practice the CL Oral Test and there is 10 exercise.
My DS also uses it for his CL Oral Test and CL exercises (done both in school and at home). During this time when the SA1 is near, I saw him doing it more often especially as homework for weekend. -
tisha:
There is a science guide book? Phew! I always had problems with answering my P3 son's science questions.MummyThreeStreams:
Please buy the science guide book for your P3 child. Science text books will surely not be enough. It is only full of Qs and you can wonder about the answers for the whole day.
Is there any particular good science guide book you'd recommend? :?:
[quote=\"jfangs\"]
Hi Jfangs,
We have quite a few recommendations at the other forums, you may like to take a look at the links:
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=19568
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=6640
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.