Teach Less, Learn More
could you share some of the techniques in creating a positive environment for the child to be self motivated ?
I'm still fine-tuning the positive environment for my girls to motivate themselves
to learn... hee... :oops:... and i'm also learning lotsa tips from you guys here to
further develop what they already have in them. :hugs: -
cantbearit2:
Daughter is in IJ TP 10 min drive away. We registered her there bcos son's school is too academic driven and the daddy & mummy here is finding it hard to cope. The other reason is of course for the affiliation.
I was actually hoping DD can get into an affiliated sch but we have no connections watsoever lor....janet_lee88:
Hi cantbearit2,
I wonder how long this affiliation thing will stay...sure hope and pray hard
the COP won't go to a level as good as not having any...then I will cry
This school is not supposed to be very academic but teachers are pretty ON. I can't rest on my laurels even though I thought I could.
IJ TP was 1 consideration but dun stand a chance cos dun live within 2 km lor.
If yur DD is gd in arts or music, prob can still use it to go into IJ TP's music or art elective prog.
Too early and no point worrying either...just enjoy the IJ TP for the dedicated teachers in the meantime. -
buds wrote :[quote]The best Principal i've met to date. Hands down. [/quote]
buds, your girls were truly blessed to be in such a sch with such gd P & T. Hope you'll have the same \"luck\" in their current sch... :celebrate: -
Not necessarily near condo
Premium? Hehee.. because near condo issit?
No, seriously. The existence of top psle scorers in neighbourhood schools
require the encouragement and observation of the school's teaching staff...
to develop the children's best potentials and also push the children to
excellence...
to the Principal herself on how she supports his or her teaching pool with either
resources or advice plus motivation... to the support the children are getting
from home on top of the kind of environment the child him or herself sets for
study days/times.. Some may or may not have outsourced some help but essentially
the child is motivated by the factors that surrounds the study concept for herself
and no one else. They have it in themselves the need (and of course also
the \"want\") to do well.
In addition to what you have mentioned, a very important point is parents who are willing to send their kids to tuition centers, even though the kids are already scoring 90+ marks for every subject. I always see the photo of the girl from my kids' primary school, who scored above 275, hanging prominently outside a tuition center in Jurong Point. She obviously had additional help outside of school.
I am more concerned that my kids enjoy the learning process. Learning should never be confined to textbooks or model compositions or assessment books. My P1 boy dislikes assessment books, but he is so happy and motivated to learn a wide range of general knowledge by reading his children's encyclopedia, and he really enjoys reading wonderful children's literature in both English and Chinese. He is exhilarated whenever he successfully builds complicated machines using KNEX on his own. This is what learning should be about, and this is much more interesting than the excruciatingly boring textbooks and assessment books. Everyday when I return home I pray that he does not have homework from school, so that he can spend his time reading good books and playing, which are essential for a happy childhood.
You are very fortunate to encounter a such a wonderful principal. One year ago, I remember hearing my kids' principal saying to all the parents that \"We should let kids do less assessment books, and let them read more story books\". However, this year I heard mommies complaining to her about too much homework. The principal is a very nice lady, but looks like she is too nice and does not have enough control over her teachers. -
tamarind:
:!: Scoring 90 over for all subjects still need to have tuition? I do not call this kiasu.. there is no word that fits this perfectly, not even super kiasu. The poor child. :heartbroken:
In addition to what you have mentioned, a very important point is parents who are willing to send their kids to tuition centers, even though the kids are already scoring 90+ marks for every subject. I always see the photo of the girl from my kids' primary school, who scored above 275, hanging prominently outside a tuition center in Jurong Point. She obviously had additional help outside of school. -
ppnqq:
Scoring above 90 is like WOW. Why still need tuition ?
:!: Scoring 90 over for all subjects still need to have tuition? I do not call this kiasu.. there is no word that fits this perfectly, not even super kiasu. The poor child. :heartbroken:tamarind:
In addition to what you have mentioned, a very important point is parents who are willing to send their kids to tuition centers, even though the kids are already scoring 90+ marks for every subject. I always see the photo of the girl from my kids' primary school, who scored above 275, hanging prominently outside a tuition center in Jurong Point. She obviously had additional help outside of school. -
buds...so enviable.....please PM me yr P's contact, maybe I should talk to her about a transfer.... bwaaaaaaaaaah.... :lol:
ppnqq:
I have no issue if this child needs a stretch for her ability and parents can and willing to afford. I only have issue if a child spends her/his time in centre A, B, C........ for the same subject. That deprives the child of time for unstructured stuff which may not be ideal in the long run.
:!: Scoring 90 over for all subjects still need to have tuition? I do not call this kiasu.. there is no word that fits this perfectly, not even super kiasu. The poor child. :heartbroken:tamarind:
I have no issue if this child needs a stretch for her ability and parents can and willing to afford. I only have issue if a child spends her/his time in centre A, B, C........ for the same subject. That derpives the child of time for unstructured stuff which may not be ideal in the long run.[/quote]We go for CL compo. and EL compo. class as these two are not so easy to do at home. At home dd will take more than the require time frame and also a lot of distraction.
:!: Scoring 90 over for all subjects still need to have tuition? I do not call this kiasu.. there is no word that fits this perfectly, not even super kiasu. The poor child. :heartbroken:ppnqq:
[quote=\"tamarind\"]
HI Brenda,
Same hereβ¦donβt have expertise to teach compo. So registered son for EL creative writing. CL tutor coaches son more in OE compre, compo and oral.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.