Post GE 2011 Discussion

1.3k Posts 85 Posters 254.4k Views 1 Watching
    • 3 Offline
      30plus

I would believe WP as an external factor to push for change is more effective than internal efforts. His departure may not be bad as well. He can do something else that is interesting and it is a good test to the gov on critical events.

[quote=\"tankee\"]George Yeo broke his promise

Foreign Minister George Yeo said on Tuesday he will not be contesting Aljunied GRC at the next general election.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1127882/1/.html

anyway he is 57yr old, by next GE, he would be 62!

This is a sad day for Singapore. We have just lost a person who dares to change status quo, and who wants greater openness and engagement with the citizens.

Yes. Very sad.[/quote]looking at the brighter side of thing, this is a good thing to happen to PAP so that they will not blunder in a bigger way in the future...can you imagine if PM Lee got voted out if they continue to be deaf to the cries from the lao bai xin ? that will be sad for SG.

George Yeo can always contribute to nation building in many other ways, with or without a political office. My take is that since he does not hold a political office (for the time being at least), he could be even more effective !

concern2

jessicawongcs:
          Daddy 😧

[quote=\"jessicawongcs\"]
          opps then the GRL parent cant get the letter for the child to go pri 1 registration? :?

U have to ask PA liao... PA not under jurisdiction of WP...

wasted...[/quote]Heard from a PA friend that it is inclusive. Not sure though, cos the eligibility says \"For a child whose parent is endorsed as an active community leader.\"

Are there volunteers in Town councils?

My PA friend very confusing also, said PA not under PAP, it is community work, but grassroots of WP is politically linked. I think she is the confused one leh.

Trapwithin

I just came into office … and saw this …

Busy for the last 2 weeks, yesterday I slept early …

ponyo

I try to look at the loss of George Yeo at a different angle. yes, we have lost a gentleman and a good Foreign Affairs minister but on the other hand, since he really wants to change the party for the good of Singapore, it may be easier for him to do that from outside than from within the party. He can at last, let his voice/views be heard without bothering about party whip. Just like Ngiam Tong Dow. He can offer his alternative views, critiques on policies. He can still contribute even after stepping down.

Daddy D

"…said PA not under PAP…" that’s just a political correct statement… you know I know lah…

concern2

George Yeo broke his promise

Foreign Minister George Yeo said on Tuesday he will not be contesting Aljunied GRC at the next general election.

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1127882/1/.html

anyway he is 57yr old, by next GE, he would be 62!

This is a sad day for Singapore. We have just lost a person who dares to change status quo, and who wants greater openness and engagement with the citizens.

I thought it is a wise move. He's been with the incumbent for very long time, and perhaps he is not in total agreement on the way things are being run. Having spent most of the time travelling and away from his family, I do empathize with him...

Daddy D

give GY time to heal his wound bah… maybe his good friend Jack Neo can help…

I’m sure lotsa opportunities out there for him… esp those GLCs…

Trapwithin:
                      I just came into office ... and saw this .....

Busy for the last 2 weeks, yesterday I slept early ...
                      so you have been busy campaigning ...... wonder you are undercover WP or PAP /// 😉 😉

concern2

[quote]looking at the brighter side of thing, this is a good thing to happen to PAP so that they will not blunder in a bigger way in the future...can you imagine if PM Lee got voted out if they continue to be deaf to the cries from the lao bai xin ? that will be sad for SG.

George Yeo can always contribute to nation building in many other ways, with or without a political office. My take is that since he does not hold a political office (for the time being at least), he could be even more effective ![/quote]Same sentiments!

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 133