Post GE 2011 Discussion
http://www.yzzk.com/cfm/Content_Archive.cfm?Channel=ae&Path=3470526402/20ae1a.cfm
From the Chinese Asia magazine. -
raysusan:
http://www.temasekreview.com/2011/05/21/pm-lee-appoints-panel-to-review-ministerial-pay/[/quote]I hope the result will not be like the naming exercise. Wait the result is that the salary scale is correct :rotflmao: :stupid: . Or that the salary will be reduced but will include other variables, which in the end will not make that much a difference. It will just hide a portion of salary within some complicated calculation.[quote]PM Lee appoints panel to ‘review’ ministerial pay
May 21st, 2011 | Author: Temasek Review
Yielding to mounting public pressure, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has appointed a panel headed by NKF Chairman Gerald Ee to ‘review’ ministerial pay.
The announcement was made after the new cabinet was sworn in a hour ago at the Istana by President S R Nathan.
In his speech at the swearing-in o fthe new cabinet, PM Lee said:
“One important area for review is political salaries. We will always need committed and capable ministers. Politics is not a job or a career promotion. It is a calling to serve the larger good of Singapore.
“But ministers should also be paid properly in order that Singapore can have honest, competent leadership over the long term. I know that Singaporeans have genuine concerns over the present salaries.
“Hence I am appointing a committee to review the basis and level of political salaries. The committee will be chaired by Mr Gerard Ee, Chairman of Changi General Hospital and Chairman of NKF.”
With the retirement of nine ministers including the two former ministers Lee Kuan Yew and Goh Chok Tong, the number of ministers in the new cabinet has dropped to 15 from the previous 21.
The obscene pay of PAP ministers has been a sore point of contention among many Singaporeans though Goh Chok Tong proclaimed during the election that the ‘majority’ of Singaporeans have ‘no issue’ with it.
The pegging of ministerial salaries to the top earners from the private sector was introduced by PAP strongman Lee Kuan Yew in the 1990s to enable the PAP to recruit the ‘best talents’ into the government.
PM Lee is paid more than $3 million dollars annually, or more than 5 times that of U.S. President Barack Obama.
The surprising announcement came in the aftermath of the 2011 general election which saw the PAP’s share of votes dropping to a record low since Singapore’s independence in 1965.
The opposition also won an unprecedented 6 seats and a GRC for the first time in the history of Singapore.
While some netizens applaud the move, others are more circumspect. Kelvin Ong remarked sarcastically: “Maybe after the review will increase?”
It remains to be seen if PM Lee is really serious about reforming the PAP or merely putting up a ‘wayang’ to placate disgruntled Singaporeans.
Since they are reviewing the salary, might as well review the pension scheme -
The spectre of having to manage multiple political threads made us decide that it is better to continue to keep all things Singapore politics in this one thread. We have combined all the political threads into this one thread and we will keep this thread online indefinitely.
I guess there's a need to create awareness. As we know, 154 is very bias and certainty there are many things which are intentionally or unintentionally keep from public.
So cyberspace is the only means where pple get their source of information. It's important for the online community to create awareness, of issues which may not be available via MSM, to non-internet users. So that they can better judge who is the best candidates/parties to be elected as our leaders come the next GE. -
Since they are reviewing the salary, might as well review the pension scheme
True, the committee better review everything that links to the ministerial pay. Pension, CPF, salary, bonus, perks etc...etc...
Before this, I actually have no issues at all with the ministerial pay. Always thought like what LKY say, he was a \"kept man\" with his lawyer wife and brother earning more then him. I always thought this was just not right as well!
But then after reading today's Straits Times, it seems that by trying to correct the problem, they went the other way instead! Pegging to top 6-8 industry earners with their fat bonuses! :yikes: using tax payers' money!
Then, it seems like a joke when I read that for a few rounds, they could not increase the pay because they were pegged at the \"wrong time\" ie. during economic downturn, wage freeze, SARS, financial crisis etc. when the rest of the countrymen were suffering, their pay formula actually should lead to an increase! :laugh:
What a joke! Could not even do a proper remuneration policy like those corporate head honchos and they want to be paid like one? :?
So only now then I think it IS ridiculous.
Why? When SGD600K per annum is liken to \"peanuts\", I think somewhere is seriously wrong!
Furthermore, bonus pegged to the GDP growth? No wonder those guys have gone \"bonkers\" simulating the economy, to the extent to getting in the casinos, increase housing prices, food prices, foreign workers to increase productivity etc... to boost their KPIs!
Perhaps it is the \"third revelation\" for me here!
:sick:
Right now, I am also protesting about the \"high pay\" because I have this phobia that if this is not being dealt with now, one day we may just hear somebody in their camp telling us to \"EAT CAKE\" when we don't even have \"ROTI\" to eat.
:scared:
That would be the day I wouldn't know what I would be capable of doing to these people.... :nailbite: :spank: -
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/controversy-hits-nicole-seah-over-election-donations-084712826.html
had always wondered how political parties raised funds......wonder are there guidelines? -
daisyt:
amazing .... CSM, HSK, VB ...... all same batch from NJChttp://www.yzzk.com/cfm/Content_Archive.cfm?Channel=ae&Path=3470526402/20ae1a.cfm
From the Chinese Asia magazine.
CSM was #1, HSK was #2...... -
http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20110521-279923.html
[quote]THE Workers' Party (WP) submitted a proposal to merge the town councils of Aljunied GRC and single-seat Hougang last week.
WP chief Low Thia Khiang told the Straits Times that it's easier operationally, and that they hope to achieve 'economies of scale in terms of tender of contracts, in terms of purchases made, in terms of projects, (and) hopefully we can get a better bargain'.
If approved, it will be chaired by WP's chairman Sylvia Lim, with Hougang MP Yaw Shin Leong and Mr Low as the vice-chairmen.
Mr Low also disclosed that some parts of the handover process, has not been smooth. The newly elected MP for Aljunied GRC said that they have been waiting since last week for the town council to provide key information on matters such as the list of service providers and its computer data system.
His team also yet to have a face-to-face meeting with the management of the Aljunied Town Council, which had cancelled a meeting scheduled for last Tuesday, according to Mr Low. His party has since turned to HDB for help.
According to the paper, Mr Jeffrey Chua, the Aljunied Town Council general manager, said he had informed the Hougang Town Council that it needed more time to compile the complete list of service providers. The Hougang Town Council has also been given the names of service providers whose contracts will expire in the next few months, said Mr Chua.
Meanwhile, Mr Low dismissed rumours that the Aljunied Town Council had stopped removing rubbish from HDB blocks in the estate. According to him, the WP found the estates to be well-maintained, after they went on ground inspections in the GRC.[/quote]something fishy ...... :skeptical: -
Interesting ....
amazing .... CSM, HSK, VB ...... all same batch from NJCdaisyt:
http://www.yzzk.com/cfm/Content_Archive.cfm?Channel=ae&Path=3470526402/20ae1a.cfm
From the Chinese Asia magazine.
CSM was #1, HSK was #2......
30+ years ago, they play and study together
30+ years later, they \"shake\" hand in Parliament.
Merging the town councils to achieve economies of scale sound like a good idea. Singapore isn't that big anyway. No wonder they concentrate their efforts on the east and north-east where they can better manage resources - imaging going for Jurong - how to merge & mobilize manpower?
Why passing over the town council takes so long har? Whatever happened to 'efficiency'? Even ministers already changed office liao.. :slapshead: -
The spectre of having to manage multiple political threads made us decide that it is better to continue to keep all things Singapore politics in this one thread. We have combined all the political threads into this one thread and we will keep this thread online indefinitely.
:celebrate: Good lah, no need to search other threads to read up on politics liao
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.