M'sia starts fingerprinting visitors?
http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Malaysia/Story/A1Story20110606-282522.html
\"He said the system was implemented to help reduce illegal activities relating to the borderless world, including drug and human trafficking, money laundering and terrorism.\"
I'm very stupid, I admit. I dunno how this fingerprinting will reduce the problem of money laundering, or drug trafficking, or human trafficking. Anyone care to provide some illumination? -
I think the relevant authorities watch too much CSI liao... just trace the fingerprints from the scene of crimes??http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Malaysia/Story/A1Story20110606-282522.html
\"He said the system was implemented to help reduce illegal activities relating to the borderless world, including drug and human trafficking, money laundering and terrorism.\"
I'm very stupid, I admit. I dunno how this fingerprinting will reduce the problem of money laundering, or drug trafficking, or human trafficking. Anyone care to provide some illumination?
Hope they know how to store their fingerprint database safely... scarli no backup one....
:stupid: :stupid: :stupid: -
Sorry to say that. but if their crime solving system is so advanced, how come there are so many unpaid road taxes, traffic summonses? I recall meeting friend of friend, he had a whole carload full of traffic summonses that he never bothered to pay - although I was curious why he would leave those paper inside the car.
I think the relevant authorities watch too much CSI liao... just trace the fingerprints from the scene of crimes??hquek:
http://www.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne%2BNews/Malaysia/Story/A1Story20110606-282522.html
I'm very stupid, I admit. I dunno how this fingerprinting will reduce the problem of money laundering, or drug trafficking, or human trafficking. Anyone care to provide some illumination?
Hope they know how to store their fingerprint database safely... scarli no backup one....
:stupid: :stupid: :stupid:
Anyway, this reminds me a bit of the cctv surveillance in our mrt station...capture image but no store - end up when pp need to check, there's nothing to see. Not sure if this is still the case, but I had a rough idea of that happening. -
the system will \" go beep beep beeb, terrorist terrorist, beep beep beep.... \"
as if the system can detect who's who. :skeptical: -
Cos' our passports already have thumbprints?
yaya, i find it so funny why is it the index finger print not the thumb :scratchhead:
Index fingerprints (both hands right?) is more for being KIASU?
Saw the news on our customs exploring this retina scan thingy... more powerful!
next time they will take dna - maybe the customs officer will be armed with swabs, or maybe pull hair - faster. kee kee kee
Cos' our passports already have thumbprints?WCW:
yaya, i find it so funny why is it the index finger print not the thumb :scratchhead:
then if got cataract then not accurate lor.. and since young our ID is using thumb..how would they confirm the identity using index Fingerprints ? they so \"clever\" right?
Cos' our passports already have thumbprints?WCW:
I also got dusted last weekend. I’m not so happy about it, because I feel it’s a violation of my personal being, but I have to go along because I like visiting Malaysia, might one day even settle in Malaysia.
It’s a necessary evil I suppose. However, best would be if we could do away with the passport chopping altogether, since we’re already surrendering our built-in passport, our fingerprint. After all, it shouldn’t be hard to set up a database of all fingerprinted visitors and monitor the days left on their visa.
If and when there’s an overstayer, the system will flag him/her and that person will be dealt with accordingly the day he/she passes through customs.
At the same time, any evil-doers that try to cross into Malaysia will also be caught instantly. Of course, the system will take some time to accrue all fingerprints. Perhaps this is the reason we’re still doing the passport chopping too.
Maybe one day… -
umm, regarding overstayer, I thought they are very zealous when it come to checking for that entry chop in the passport?
Anyone reckons if they will jail pp next time for not leaving behind a pair of fingerprints upon entry? -
Thought criminals have illegal ways to cross borders?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.