Club 2007 Kiddo

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Clubs for parents with similar age children
    2.4k Posts 111 Posters 631.7k Views 1 Watching
      micollh

sean wife:

Ya lor….the kiasu me went to Popular to look for Chinese writing books (so so so many of them I want to faint…). But most of the words look so small….most probably they will end up scribbling…so end up never buy any.

I think simple strokes still ok, but to me, words like ‘jiu’ (nine) and ‘si’ (four) do not seem easy for a yet to be 4-year old to write freehand legibly….but anyway I know the teacher means well and she is really a nice and caring teacher to my gals.
      maybe the teacher is teaching on some related poems of chapter with these simpler words.. now my DD cc always have poems for them to recite.. i think sometimes the teacher will ask them to practise to write in the air for some simpler words.. or most repeated words

Castle House

sean wife:
        Morning mummies,

How well should our 07 tots be writing free hand now? I have been thinking that word recognition and concepts learning are more important and easier to teach now, so the only writing which my gals are doing at home now is only for English and Numbers, and even then, I don’t really emphasize a lot or ask them to rewrite if the writings isn’t that legible or neat….really depends on their mood. Never ask them to do any Chinese writing at home, and I think in their school, they are also not writing Chinese (maybe just tracing) yet. However over the weekend, their Chinese enrichment teacher feedback that can let them practice more on writing Chinese words….they were supposed to write the character for ‘nine’ in Chinese. The workbook has a few ‘nine’ characters for them to trace and 2 boxes for them to write by themselves. Apparently my gals say they can’t write it, and the teacher has to write in colour pencils, then my gals trace over it….
        Hi sean wife..

This year.. need to train them to start writing le.. as next year when they are in K1.. will be more..

Castle House

For my girl, she can hold the pen/pencil very well… much better than her older sibling…

So, guiding her to write is much simplier…

I bought her those books for her to trace and write… so that at least she recognise them too by writing… and I think is better… as it will go into their mind…

Tjyt

For my girl, she can hold the pen/pencil very well.. much better than her older sibling...

So, guiding her to write is much simplier..

I bought her those books for her to trace and write.. so that at least she recognise them too by writing... and I think is better... as it will go into their mind..

To-date, my DS1 still write 'floating' words... chinese characters not even started yet... only on strokes... Mayb shld start to teach him write his own chinese name, which will be a torture for him! 😓

Castle House

Ya, Nursery, think the school is teaching them all the strokes… as that is the basic foundation…

Next year, will be the character le…

His name has alot of ‘bi hua’?

micollh

my DD chinese name also a challenge…only her surname is 4 strokes…

Castle House

hehe.. so is parent's fault.. why choose a name with so many stroke.. 😆

micollh

cos nice to hear and meaningful… muahahaha

Castle House

Did you consult a Master when deciding the name?

micollh

my son yes, my daughter did not. cos my dd bday is one day before mooncake festival the next day is 15th, the sifu said she close. but i’m leaving the hospital, first time we din know can make birthcert at ICA. so we chop chop do it at the hospital itself. later then know do the birth cert at hospital even more ex. so my son’s we only make the birthday 2 weeks later and enough time for the sifu to give us names to choose according to his birthdate/time

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 82 / 244