2012 PSLE Discussions and Strategy
tinkfirst:
You can go for a trip during the PSLE marking dates if you don't have P3 to P5 kids taking SA2 in term 4. Don't have to wait until PSLE result release.Hi!
Sorry I may be posting in the wrong thread. Do you think it is ok to plan for a short trip during the PSLE marking dates ie. 15 - 18 Oct to reward my DD for the 6 years of hardwork?? Or is it better to go after the PSLE release date 22 Nov (tentative).
Kindly direct me to the correct thread. Thanks -
At P4, my son was discouraged to use algebra…however for P6, use whatever you wish.
At P4, my son was discouraged to use algebra...however for P6, use whatever you wish.
If your kid prefers to use the algebra method, make sure he is very good at it. The kids will not get any mark if their answer is wrong when they use algebra method. Whereas, they might get some marks if initial part of their answer is correct when they use other method. -
mummy so kiasu:
I know nothing about Math, but remember this M1, M2 thing mentioned by teacher. Hubby taught son to use algebra in P4...during PTM, teacher said not encouraged. Stick to model approach. Hubby, like many of us here were brought up using algebra approach. Now model approach is taught at P2.janet_lee88:
At P4, my son was discouraged to use algebra...however for P6, use whatever you wish.
If your kid prefer to use the algebra method, make sure he is very good at it. The kids will not get any mark if their answer is wrong when they use algebra method. Whereas, they might get some marks if initial part of their answer is correct when they use other method. -
I know nothing about Math, but remember this M1, M2 thing mentioned by teacher. Hubby taught son to use algebra in P4...during PTM, teacher said not encouraged. Stick to model approach. Hubby, like many of us here were brought up using algebra approach. Now model approach is taught at P2.[/quote]My hubby also taught our boy algebra method. However, I told him to try using the other methods taught by his teachers first. He does not like to draw model. He solved the problems before he drew the model when he was in P3 & P4.mummy so kiasu:
[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]At P4, my son was discouraged to use algebra...however for P6, use whatever you wish.
If your kid prefers to use the algebra method, make sure he is very good at it. The kids will not get any mark if their answer is wrong when they use algebra method. Whereas, they might get some marks if initial part of their answer is correct when they use other method. -
Son was taught model approach late (P4). So it was hard to drill the model into him...plus my hubby insisting on algebra. I :siam:
For daughter, school started model at P2. So she has a head start. If hubby teaches her algebra, she will be confused. But she hates to draw the model boxes.
Just curious, any mummy allow child to skip school once a while now? My son looks tired after school recently. I find it productive if he stays at home, sleeps later and spend the rest of day revising or getting tutors' hw done. -
lets work hard together.Hi isetan,
Thanks for your encouragement.
I heard from friends PSLE is tough...it's only when I am sitting in the boat that I understand TRULY what they mean. The frustrating thing is I feel so pek chek and helpless. When son comes back from school, it's either worksheets or past year paper. Teach the kids how to answer comprehension questions lah...or else vocab, grammar etc. TEACH.
We are in the same boat. Since begin of the year have this breathless feeling liao.
Is PSLE really that tough? -
ER:
sometimes you think about it. It may benefit your child too. Teacher ask children what method their tutors teach from difference children. T will teach the rest. All benefit right? I always tell my DD when you ask your teacher 3 questions, your friends ask 2 questions, U listen to both you get to know 5 questions.janet_lee88:
I have no idea why teacher wants to know, and I do not want to know why...supposing my son has no tutor, I wonder what will happen.
There are many reasons why the teacher could be interested to know. One possibility could be your child was not applying a technique correctly and she is concerned that the tutor is teaching the wrong thing. It could be the child is doing really well and the teacher just want to know the tutor's method to teach the rest. There is nothing wrong with either since like one of the KSP said, it is a lifelong learning process for everyone. -
24hr_mum:
I suspect this year will be tougher.....as past 2 years have been an easy one. Also, a lot of dragon boys and girls this year...what's your take?
lets work hard together.janet_lee88:
Hi isetan,
Thanks for your encouragement.
I heard from friends PSLE is tough...it's only when I am sitting in the boat that I understand TRULY what they mean. The frustrating thing is I feel so pek chek and helpless. When son comes back from school, it's either worksheets or past year paper. Teach the kids how to answer comprehension questions lah...or else vocab, grammar etc. TEACH.
We are in the same boat. Since begin of the year have this breathless feeling liao.
Is PSLE really that tough? -
Don't mind to skip school once in a while if the school has completed the syllabus. However, the kid must be able to do his own revision at home. I prefer my boy to go to school or else he will end up reading novel at home. In other word, depend whether the child is self discipline.Son was taught model approach late (P4). So it was hard to drill the model into him...plus my hubby insisting on algebra. I :siam:
For daughter, school started model at P2. So she has a head start. If hubby teaches her algebra, she will be confused. But she hates to draw the model boxes.
Just curious, any mummy allow child to skip school once a while now? My son looks tired after school recently. I find it productive if he stays at home, sleeps later and spend the rest of day revising or getting tutors' hw done.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.