2012 P1 Registration Exercise for 2013 In-Take

3.0k Posts 515 Posters 859.9k Views 1 Watching

alng:
      pchong:

I believe this is due to the results of schools going into single session and hence, the number of classes have to be reduced. Being said that, govt has also opened up a few new schools this year to cater for the outstanding numbers.

This might be true for some schools this year. But for schools like Rulang and Nan Hua, the total number of vacancies remain the same as last year but less vacancies left now. Rulang \"suffered\" the reduction of one class last year and I was \"one of the victims\". 🙂

If you look at those full schools like Cat High, St Nicks, SCGS and MGS, their vacancies are taken up faster this year.

Cat High and SCGS and St Nick has the effect of future IP/JC catering to the kids from these 3 schools....so the attractiveness of these 3 go up

teddy75

alng:

[quote=\"pinetart\"]

Go for RV as it is nearer and you have higher chance because base on current seats bal at scgs, those > 2km may have risk to get rejected. Personally I think most people choose SCGS or ACS mainly due to prestige and affiliation. Schools that produce top PSLE scores in Singapore are mainly from NYPS, RGPS and most SAP neighborhood schools. Eg. If u go read the notice board at TLL(the learning lab) you cannot find SCGS members in the top psle scorer list.

RV is better than ST Margaret in terms of academic performance so you can consider that as last option.

Please do not just look at top score. While SCGS has not produced a top scorer above 275 in recent years (her top scorers were still above 270) her results in terms of average T score and % of quality passes have been very good and were way better than many neighbourhood SAP schools. For example, SCGS's average T-score of 230+ vs a very popular school at jurong west (the one that produced top scorer) average T-score of 210+.

refer past 2011 PSLE average / mean score:-
        SCGS mean of 233.35 & % Quality passes beat Rulang & River Valley. The academic results showed that SCGS is stronger than these 2 schools.

let's compare by subject, detailed breakdown (refer % Quality passes):-
        English: SCGS (91.2 %) vs Rulang (64.2 %)

Chinese: SCGS (89.3 %) vs Rulang (89.8 %)

Science: SCGS (82 %) vs Rulang (64.5 %)

Maths: SCGS (68.6 %) vs Rulang (61.6 %)

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=29025&start=130

Rulang (page 4)
        http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=29025&start=30

page 2
        http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=29025&start=10

River Valley (page 3):-
        http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=29025&start=20

SCGS beat River Valley flat, in all 4 subjects.
        let's compare by subject, detailed breakdown (% Quality passes):-
        English: SCGS (91.2 %) vs RV (56.2 %): by a huge difference

Chinese: SCGS (89.3 %) vs RV (81.4 %)

Science: SCGS (82 %) vs RV (52.1 %): also huge difference

Maths: SCGS (68.6 %) vs RV (56.8 %): quite huge difference

St Margaret (page 14: scroll right to bottom of webpage)
        http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=48&t=29025&start=130

St Margaret need to improve academically, especially on her Maths.[/quote]Hey GrandMaster phtthp.... your unfortunate choice of words of which school beats which school \"flat\", IMO, has a connotation of sublime elitism to it... did the schools and their students asked to be judged by you in this manner OH \"GrandMaster\" ??? Are you also trying to provide or serve as a MIRROR to the other mentioned school on what it should improve on ? Perhaps you would like to keep it to and for yourself....???
        MIRROR MIRROR On The Wall !!! Tell Us Who's The Fairest Of Them ALL ??? :offtopic: :nunchuk: :nunchuk: :nunchuk:

SarahCrayon

SarahCrayon:

My girl is in the phrase 2c this year and im trying out for St Anthony primary shool.

can anyone advise if the take up rate for 2B will be high and that i have the chance to get my girl in or that i should try bukit view instead?

Thanks

are you within 1km from St Anthony's?
          are you (and/or child?? this requirement i am not sure...do check up k?) a Singaporean?
          St Anthony's has been having balloting for phase 2c within 1km for a couple of years already.
          u may want to bang on the fact that they will be temporarily shifting to Jurong East that they may lose a few supporters who prefers proximity.

Hi...Thanks for the assistance.
          Yes im within 1km from St Anthony's and im a Singaporean..so abit worried that the take up rate from last few years are over subscribed

teddy75

lilfeets:
            Don't flame me but i think we are our worse enemy by creating the stress and the hype. I am guilty of worrying but i also am prepared for the fact that I may or may not get into the first choice of school. No hard feelings.

Let's view the numbers objectively and hang in there. Make back-up plans. Good Luck!
            101% Agree ! ThumsUp ! :goodpost: :hi5:

SarahCrayon:

[quote=\"SarahCrayon\"]My girl is in the phrase 2c this year and im trying out for St Anthony primary shool.

can anyone advise if the take up rate for 2B will be high and that i have the chance to get my girl in or that i should try bukit view instead?

Thanks

are you within 1km from St Anthony's?
              are you (and/or child?? this requirement i am not sure...do check up k?) a Singaporean?
              St Anthony's has been having balloting for phase 2c within 1km for a couple of years already.
              u may want to bang on the fact that they will be temporarily shifting to Jurong East that they may lose a few supporters who prefers proximity.

Hi...Thanks for the assistance.
              Yes im within 1km from St Anthony's and im a Singaporean..so abit worried that the take up rate from last few years are over subscribed[/quote]if you intend to try St Anthony's do have a backup in mind. SGCitizen already stand an added advantage against PRs, so nothing u can do now but to wait and see.
              Do bear in mind that Bukit View as a Back up school for Phase 2c supp is very tricky basing on 2010 past year statistics (balloting for 1-2km).
              good luck!

teddy75

DesertWind:
                alng:

Can you imagine how our kids will think 30-40 years later if we fail to get them into a good primary school now? This is why it is so competitive at P1 registration now.

Can you imagine my boy, 30 years later, blaming me for putting him into an all boys school (atas ACS) and asking me why had I not PVed for him at a highly demanded CO-ED school (c'mon you name it, Ai Tong, Andersen, Henry Park...etc..). SO THAT HIS GIRLS can get into such top schools? :scared:

I will beat the hell out of him! :mad: :rant: :nunchuk:

Ha Ha ! That's a good one... :rotflmao:

Strparent

DesertWind:

Can you imagine my boy, 30 years later, blaming me for putting him into an all boys school (atas ACS) and asking me why had I not PVed for him at a highly demanded CO-ED school . SO THAT HIS GIRLS can get into such top schools? :scared:

I will beat the hell out of him! :mad: :rant: :nunchuk:
                  errr DesertWind ar,
                  I think hor, in 30 years time, you wont be able to beat the hell out of him liao :evil: .
                  at this rate of self-first mentality direction from the newer generations, YOU will be lucky if he dont beat the hell out of you for that reason ! 😉 😉 -kidding-

http://i48.tinypic.com/15cya1h.gif\">

lilfeets

That is why must start conditioning now! Psyco them that everything thing we do is for their best interest :evil: - never mind that they disagree. They must accept that we are the best! :rotflmao:

sunset_dae

up to date Phrase 2A2:

http://www.moe.edu.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/vacancies/

lilfeets

this is yesterday’s data. I think today’s numbers are not in there yet.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 303 / 304

Monstermummy79M
                        Monstermummy79