RI or HCI

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    333 Posts 62 Posters 288.9k Views 1 Watching
    • thsheng99T Offline
      thsheng99

However, I feel this thread is rather skewed towards RI in that most of those who are actively posting are in support of RI, which is fine, but if information is given is often just in favour of RI without mentioning in the same event or competition the other schools' achievers, then all the readers may just assume wrongly that HCI has none.
      Actually, I don't think that this thread is skewed towards RI. If you have read the the previous pages, you would have notice that there were many voraferious postings lauding the achievements of HCI as well.

I certainly welcome postings from both schools in regards to their achievements since I am looking for a good school for my boy but I suspect the lack of HCI posting activities in recent weeks is their \"poorer\" showing at the various Olympaid competition and scholarships as compared to RI.

Kabby

thsheng99:

However, I feel this thread is rather skewed towards RI in that most of those who are actively posting are in support of RI, which is fine, but if information is given is often just in favour of RI without mentioning in the same event or competition the other schools' achievers, then all the readers may just assume wrongly that HCI has none.

Actually, I don't think that this thread is skewed towards RI. If you have read the the previous pages, you would have notice that there were many voraferious postings lauding the achievements of HCI as well.

I certainly welcome postings from both schools in regards to their achievements since I am looking for a good school for my boy but I suspect the lack of HCI posting activities in recent weeks is their \"poorer\" showing at the various Olympaid competition and scholarships as compared to RI.

it could be because there are less people from HCI in this thread/ forum too? πŸ˜‚

this thread was meant to gauge preferences between the two schools at DSA stage if both offers are received, and nothing else

the thread on HCI is much more active (119 pages now) than the thread on RI (100 pages) at the section on secondary schools / parents networking section

• thsheng99T Offline
            thsheng99

it could be because there are less people from HCI in this thread/ forum too? πŸ˜‚

Highly unlikely....look at the number of parents in the HCI Parents Networking thread...its more than RI's.

Paddy Field

stetan:

Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) Scholarships

3 of this year's 5 SAF Overseas Scholarship recipients are graduates of RI.

Second Lieutenant Geeva S/O Gopal Krishnan
              Officer Cadet (OCT) Chia Boon Liang Matthias
              Midshipman (MID) Thia Shan Zhi
              http://www.ri.edu.sg/main/rafflesnewsdetail/?id=650

International Physics Olympiad
              Year 6 RI students Li Kewei (11S06I), Lin Jiahuang (11S06J), Lin Sen and Kang Zi Yang (both 11S06K), together with NUS High student Tan Zong Xuan, made history when they all swiped Gold awards at the 2011 International Physics Olympiad (IPhO). This marks the first time Singapore has come in first in an international Math or Science Olympiad
              http://www.ri.edu.sg/main/rafflesnewsdetail/?id=632

International Biology Olympiad
              Jin Chentian (11S03E) scooped a gold medal in the 22nd International Biology Olympiad held in Taipei. He was part of the Singapore team that ranked 3rd in a field of 229 students from 58 countries.

International Chemistry Olympiad
              Further west, the Singapore team that participated in the International Chemistry Olympiad in Ankara, Turkey from 9 to 18 July attained 17th place in a field of 273 students from 70 countries. Of the four Singapore representatives, three are Rafflesian - Chew Hong En, Guo Xiuzhen and Lim Yuan Zhi Martin (all from 11S06I). They all received silver medals.

Thanks for the info. The Rafflesians did very well indeed.

However, there are HCI students who earned medals too. As well as other schools' students for that matter. This thread refers to just RI and HCI so we should not leave the HCI students out.

For example, in the International Biology Olympiad, this is taken from the MOE website:
              \"The Gold medallists are Javan Lee Tze Han of Hwa Chong Institution; Hong Xinyuan of NUS High School of Mathematics and Science; and Jin Chentian of Raffles Institution. The Silver medallist is Michael Sia Zhen Wei of Anglo-Chinese School (Independent).\"

I have been quietly reading this thread for sometime. I laud the achievements of Rafflesians. However, I feel this thread is rather skewed towards RI in that most of those who are actively posting are in support of RI, which is fine, but if information is given is often just in favour of RI without mentioning in the same event or competition the other schools' achievers, then all the readers may just assume wrongly that HCI has none.

My kids are still young and I don't even know whether they can qualify for either school. It'd be great if they can have the privilege to have a choice. If anyone is going to choose between these 2 premier schools, may I suggest just taking this thread with a pinch of salt.

Do research by visiting both school's websites, talking to students and parents of the school; teachers, if you know any... Visit the Open Houses. Look for the programmes your child has passion for.

Sometimes it's not the number of scholarship holders or top Math olympiad holders you might be interested in. Maybe it is the school culture, the school spirit, a particular sport, or a music group.

Maybe you or your child likes overseas attachments, local job shadows, opportunities similar to these, are they open just to the select few, or does the school give equal chance to all.

Or perhaps your child has an aggregate at the borderline. And you are interested in the programmes and schemes the school has to help students catch up or to support the academically weaker ones -- value addedness...

Or even, maybe you are concerned about the school values. Will they, in pushing the bright students who are the cream of the crop to do their best, also teach them the right values, in sportsmanship, in being humble and meek despite being gifted and talented, in being considerate of their opponents or friends who lose to them, in being leaders who lead with passion and compassion...

I hope we don't just focus on academic excellence alone. πŸ™‚

:goodpost:

In the pursuit of academic excellency, virtues n morals are more important as these will guide the children in life's journey.

Kabby

:thankyou: paddy field and jtoh.

vk2010, I see. I didn't compare no of pages in the RI and HCI threads. I guess if the child has both offers, it is a happy dilemma and what I said above still stands right?

To know more about both schools, it'd be a better more balanced view to visit the schools' Open Houses, the websites, talk to the P, teachers, students, parents... Etc etc.

If the child has more friends going to a particular school and wants to follow, then it's fine too. Then this constant comparison of how many Presidents' scholars etc from each school doesn't matter too, right? πŸ™‚

:thankyou: paddy field and jtoh.

vk2010, I see. I didn't compare no of pages in the RI and HCI threads. I guess if the child has both offers, it is a happy dilemma and what I said above still stands right?

To know more about both schools, it'd be a better more balanced view to visit the schools' Open Houses, the websites, talk to the P, teachers, students, parents... Etc etc.

If the child has more friends going to a particular school and wants to follow, then it's fine too. Then this constant comparison of how many Presidents' scholars etc from each school doesn't matter too, right? πŸ™‚
                  you may not have realised that many parents / kids actually already started to attend sec school open house (especially those well schools) starting from Pri 4 / 5......

as for boasting of number of president scholars, only one school keeps emphasising it at the open house year after year (hint : not RI)

Kabby

vk2010, really? ok, I wasn't aware of that. not in the papers?

ok, i just wanted to say some of my views on choosing schools, in order to have a balanced view. probably cos the last few posts were all about scholarships and the very last one happened to pick out from MOE website's info listing only the RI holders, so I felt it is not nice to omit all the other medal winners?

I'll unsubscribe myself from this topic from now. Cos I am not here to argue or side any school. I can see how strongly some feel about their particular schools here. Don't want to be hantam since I think I am the minority.

THanks for your reply. I'll be off to my other usual threads. πŸ™‚

vk2010, really? ok, I wasn't aware of that. not in the papers?

ok, i just wanted to say some of my views on choosing schools, in order to have a balanced view. probably cos the last few posts were all about scholarships and the very last one happened to pick out from MOE website's info listing only the RI holders, so I felt it is not nice to omit all the other medal winners?

I'll unsubscribe myself from this topic from now. Cos I am not here to argue or side any school. I can see how strongly some feel about their particular schools here. Don't want to be hantam since I think I am the minority.

THanks for your reply. I'll be off to my other usual threads. πŸ™‚
                      no need to unsubscribe

we are here to to share info and opinion and hopefully also gain some useful info

some of us may be more sensitive and hence more defensive

some of us just say our thought and don't care how others perceive it

some may be more assertive and tend to correct others' perceived biases

it is an open forum, as long as no personal attack should be ok

jtoh

Well said, vk2010.

Kabalevsky, your views are very much welcome. Sometimes in this forum our passion makes us lose sight of objectiveness and it’s nice to have an objective voice like yours around.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 16 / 34

rinsiderR
                        rinsider