Review Underway of the Educational System
So did the kids share esp those who attend branded enrichment centers? :rotflmao:
:scared: like that also can ah!?Chenonceau:
DS came home yesterday and told me that his CL Teacher had asked the whole class to hand up the materials provided by their tuition teachers so that she could compile a booklet and give out to the class.
If this does not show that MOE is lacking in educational resources and methods, I dunno what does. -
Mawar:
Only ONE kid shared... everyone else had been told by their enrichment centres not to.
So did the kids share esp those who attend branded enrichment centers? :rotflmao: -
michyms:
Chenoceau, I am horrified by such a request! I hope it's because the CL teacher wants to expose the students and not because she is too lazy to make her own notes :faint:
Actually, I am not too keen to blame the teacher. It is a bit like punishing a child for stealing food. If a child is well fed, he/she will never steal food. It is a child's basic right to have access to sufficient food.
If the system is set up correctly to allow good flow through of high quality materials everywhere in the system (in the same way our blood circulation system brings nutrients to every part of the body) then no teacher would be starving for educational materials to this extent. It is stupid to make EVERY teacher develop his/her own materials. It's like ya gotta teach and write textbooks and assessment books at the same time. No one has the bandwidth to do that.
It is every teacher's basic right to freely access sufficient resources to teach with.
With the advent of internet forum technology, this is easily done by setting up an online sharing forum accessible by teachers and students... any teacher who wants and can, can upload... and any teacher who needs and wants, can download.
Those who write and upload can earn extra income from MOE for each download of their materials. This way, you encourage those who can write, to write... and those who CAN'T write well, can still use stuff to teach with... and parents like me dun have to go around begging parents with kids in better schools for materials. -
Chenonceau, I think there could be other reasons that your feedback hasn't achieved what it deserved. Take a look at this article that one of our PE has written:
WEDNESDAY, OCTOBER 12, 2011
CPF - my views
Many years ago, I was proud of our Central Provident Fund system. It was simple and good for the people. It allowed them to accumulate their savings for old age. Later, it was used to purchase a HDB flat at an affordable price.
The CPF system started to be changed, for the worse, after 1985. Many changes were introduced that had negative impact on the scheme and produced worst outcome for the citizens. Today, I can only say that our CPF scheme is complicated, convoluted, confusing and is not producing the right outcome.
I will be writing on what the changes that I like to see in our CPF scheme, that will make it good for the people, and for the Government.
I want to say something about why things had turned out to be so bad for the CPF. The people who manage the CPF, i.e. the Ministry of Manpower (and its predecessor ministry) and the policy planners (i.e. the scholars) were not practical people. They were planners.
Worse, they were too arrogant to consult the experts in the field. As an actuary and the head of a life insurance company, I could give them some useful ideas - but they were too proud to ask me or to discuss my suggestions (even after I wrote to them). They prefer to find their own solutions - in their ivory tower. These planners later become recruited as ministers in our Government and continue the same approach.
This is the type of system practised in Singapore that has produced convoluted systems, not only in CPF but in health care, immigration and many other areas of our life.
(source: http://tankinlian.blogspot.com/2011/10/cpf-my-views.html) -
Look like he already given his answer on a few occassions - \"More pathways for students\".
Hence, unlikely there will be any changes to the primary school system.
It is a clear answer for those who, for whatever reasons, cannot do well in the PSLE. -
With the compulsory CCAs, community service requirements and emphasis on academics, does it give our children a "holistic education"? What is a holistic education, or are we just chasing an empty dream?
There is an increasing move away from the focus on academic grades, especially in primary school (removal of rankings and naming of top PSLE students), and to character development, to teach responsibility, leadership, moral values and care for the community.
Are we moving away from chasing paper qualifications? -
Edited - deleted as article has earlier been posted elsewhere
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.