All About Dental
Each time my kids have loose tooth, I'll wait till its very loose (just hanging there on one a small edge) and extract it myself with my fingers with tissue paper. My eldest pre-molar was rather challenging and she was mad with me but when her next loose tooth came, she begged me to remove it for her:)
The interesting bit is...thus far happen twice already, just 1-2 weeks before the kids' Sch dental service appointment, one tooth will be super wobbly - new one will be peeking out....super sianz....$60 down the drain liao ($30 each time). If only tooth can wait.
My dentist actually encouraged us to wait till milk tooth very lose and then we can remove it at home. Of course, if I insist, he'll do it for me at a price but he felt there's no hurry.
Hope this sharing will help you save some $$$
Twice in a row! I wish I were that lucky with toto/4D.
oh no...staying around Geylang area. He's good. Though I had a funny (scary?) experience. During cleaning once, he was busily chatting with the nurse on upcoming holiday (airtickets and all). I didn't dare open my eyes cos I don't want to know if his eyes were on the nurse or me....no damage done in my mouth - just my nerves only.
On a separate note, think he must be pretty experienced to multi-task
Thanks Pecalis…thing is, we could see new one poking out, so we decided not to wait. Dentist told us it’s good to extract out - not sure if it’s good biz. Was just scared to leave anything behind if we should try the DIY method.
DH was medic in army…shall leave these gory stuff to him…whew (good excuse). -
I’m really really scared of dentists…anyone with sharp sharp needly thing going into my mouth scares me. Once I brought my son for cleaning to my regular dentist. I went first, then his turn…sigh…in front of him must act very brave, like this is 家常便饭. woah lau…the things I have to pretend for my kid.
I'm really really scared of dentists....woah lau....the things I have to pretend for my kid.
Alamak, my bad lah ... solli hor :oops:
I got over my fear of dentists in my mid 20s when I had to visit every mth due to braces. But I don't think I can ever overcome the fear of being hospitalized. Happened to me once due to minor surgery. Was knocked out and when awoke, I was crying ... felt as if my life for that briefest time was under the hands of the doc ... Somemore was in KK, DH couldn't be there in the recovery room
it's ok lah....my fear - something I have to conquer.
Alamak, my bad lah ... solli hor :oops:
I got over my fear of dentists in my mid 20s when I had to visit every mth due to braces. But I don't think I can ever overcome the fear of being hospitalized. Happened to me once due to minor surgery. Was knocked out and when awoke, I was crying ... felt as if my life for that briefest time was under the hands of the doc ... Somemore was in KK, DH couldn't be there in the recovery room
Dun liddat say, I don't quite mind KK - at least in the hands of experienced doctors....Sorry, but I dun quite trust newbies. :roll: -
You will, slowly but surely ....
it's ok lah....my fear - something I have to conquer.
Dun liddat say, I don't quite mind KK - at least in the hands of experienced doctors....Sorry, but I dun quite trust newbies. :roll:
maybe even with the help of your kids when they are older
Yeah, I don't trust newbies too. Mine was an experienced one. Unfortunately, he 'clicked' with my DH, not with me :lol: :lol:, so I changed to another gynae/obs at NUH.
Yeah, I agree with your point in the previous post. The things we have to do/pretend for our kids ... just to be a positive role model ...
DD went into P1 this year. Back in Nov, we already noticed one incisor was breaking through the gum, and she sometimes feel pain so will cry
The interesting bit is...thus far happen twice already, just 1-2 weeks before the kids' Sch dental service appointment, one tooth will be super wobbly - new one will be peeking out....super sianz....$60 down the drain liao ($30 each time). If only tooth can wait.
This on/off pain continued till Dec, when the tooth came out abt 1-2 mm already. I asked a dentist friend who told me can wait one, best wait till drop on its own, although can extract if really want to...
So we waited, then 2nd week of school, i called up the school dental clinic to tell the nurse the problem. She then ask me to bring DD down and she got the (by then quite loose) milk tooth out in less than 5 min...
So it's actually possible to call up school dental clinic to make ad hoc appointment if necessary... save the $$ -
atrecord:
I asked a dentist friend who told me can wait one, best wait till drop on its own, although can extract if really want to...
How come the dentist ($30 one) told us better to extract??? :xatrecord:
Wow, thanks! I'll keep that in mind.So it's actually possible to call up school dental clinic to make ad hoc appointment if necessary... save the $$
Does he always talk when working? My dentist would talk through the whole treatment/cleaning whenever i go. I assume that's her way of making patients feel at ease. dun want patients to think that it's such a serious (makes you worry) situation...hquek:
Twice in a row! I wish I were that lucky with toto/4D.
oh no...staying around Geylang area. He's good. Though I had a funny (scary?) experience. During cleaning once, he was busily chatting with the nurse on upcoming holiday (airtickets and all). I didn't dare open my eyes cos I don't want to know if his eyes were on the nurse or me....no damage done in my mouth - just my nerves only.
On a separate note, think he must be pretty experienced to multi-task
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.