To migrate or not?
Frankly I think it's your personal values, what you perceive as important. Is having a less stressful life, less materialistic life more for you? Or is the regimental but more efficient and safer life in SG more desirable. i don't think anyone has the answer, only you and your family knows what is more important. No matter what your choice is, there will be trade offs, and when things get tough, remember why you prioritise one over the other and don't look back and regret, if not life will be miserable!
Just to share, I was at the taka B2 CNY fair last weekend. There was this group of PRCs who are not tourist, who was going around looking at the food and suddenly one of them commented very loudly in chinese \"Whoever eats so much pastries for CNY! Look at all these pineapple tarts, so disgusting, whoever eats them during CNY!\" :yikes:
yup, talking about being out of place in other countries. Come 2030, we will feel like a foreigner in our country. Maybe that time, no more pineapple tarts during CNY! :yikes: :yikes: So doesn't matter whether you are in SG or migrated overseas! -
vinegar:
Auckland isn't really an earthquake zone. It's more a volcano zone, but I don't think they're too common. Earthquakes -- Wellington is an earthquake zone. My friends there say they feel little ones all the time, and occasionally a bigger shake, but nothing too alarming. I think you do feel them occasionally in the central North Island, kind of maybe Taupo downwards? I've never felt an earthquake, anyway. It's hard to say. These things are difficult to predict. And also, as nice as it would be to live in the provinces (I would love a lifestyle block in Taranaki or something lol) Auckland is where most of the jobs are, so it's where most immigrants end up, and those who can't get jobs in other parts of NZ gravitate here too. It's become a lot more multicultural since we came here 20 years ago, when there were like four Asian kids in my class. Now it's more like half or more than half the class is Asian, depending on what school you're in. haha.u stay at auckland? Hv u experienced earthquake b4? Is there any city or countryside in NZ which is out of earthquake zone?
NZ is one of our choices to migrate.Coz i find OZ is too commercialise.Surprise to see a lot of developments even in the countryside.Oredi so sick of seeing crane n construction sites in SG,went OZ oso see...esp. now they're building lots of houses at brisbane n melbourne.
we traveled to Christchurch n dunedin 10yrs ago.No sight of PRC. U r right,ever since china opens up & they're getting richer in recent yrs,u can see them everywhere....even in an unknown town in Tassie.They r strong survivor.can survive everywhere.I ever watched how the china PRC becomes wealthy in south africa.Their houses there look like palace. :shock: -
Always21:
I think generally most people are great, but I guess sometimes people can get frustrated when they're walking down the road and can't understand a word anyone is saying. And fair enough. Some places are truly Little Asias, and you could probably play 'count the white person'. I guess in that sense it's unnerving to see your city change and many immigrants arriving in a relatively short space of time. There was an interesting article in the NZ Herald last year about 'should all signage have English words on them?' like in Asian restaurants and stuff, and the consensus was 'no, keep the ethnic writing,' but an overwhelming number of Kiwis commented that they didn't feel welcome in those establishments because there's nary an English word to be seen -- the menus are in Chinese, the restaurant's name is in Chinese, the waiters don't speak English, and I can understand how they could feel resentful about things like that.I encountered that 'hey, speaks english, you are in Australia.'
I was talking to a close friend in the bus, when the lady opposite me stared at me and said that. I don't think that was very nice of her.
That was ten years ago, that is why migrating overseas was a no no. -
Attolia:
There was an interesting article in the NZ Herald last year about 'should all signage have English words on them?' like in Asian restaurants and stuff, and the consensus was 'no, keep the ethnic writing,' but an overwhelming number of Kiwis commented that they didn't feel welcome in those establishments because there's nary an English word to be seen -- the menus are in Chinese, the restaurant's name is in Chinese, the waiters don't speak English, and I can understand how they could feel resentful about things like that.
I bet you at least one or two smart alecs retorted that they should require all signs to have Māori.
Dora1:
Maybe that time, no more pineapple tarts during CNY! :yikes: :yikes: So doesn't matter whether you are in SG or migrated overseas!
Yup, maybe we will all be eating \"jiao zi\" (dumplings) for CNY by then. -
I think it is really sad when my DS said that he will work very hard so that he can help us leave Singapore before it is flooded by 7million people. Almost as if we are a starving 3rd world countrymen and DS tries to get the family out of poverty like that. SIGH.
Attolia:
I think generally most people are great, but I guess sometimes people can get frustrated when they're walking down the road and can't understand a word anyone is saying. And fair enough. Some places are truly Little Asias, and you could probably play 'count the white person'. I guess in that sense it's unnerving to see your city change and many immigrants arriving in a relatively short space of time. There was an interesting article in the NZ Herald last year about 'should all signage have English words on them?' like in Asian restaurants and stuff, and the consensus was 'no, keep the ethnic writing,' but an overwhelming number of Kiwis commented that they didn't feel welcome in those establishments because there's nary an English word to be seen -- the menus are in Chinese, the restaurant's name is in Chinese, the waiters don't speak English, and I can understand how they could feel resentful about things like that.Always21:
I encountered that 'hey, speaks english, you are in Australia.'
I was talking to a close friend in the bus, when the lady opposite me stared at me and said that. I don't think that was very nice of her.
That was ten years ago, that is why migrating overseas was a no no.
It is just that in Singapore, everyone speaks whatever they are comfortable with, you can speak dialect to your parents and turn around and speaks English or Chinese to your friends and no one will bother you. Just small things that can make you feel at home or feel like a stranger.
Yes, our country is changing and I hope our government can understand our worries and take smaller steps in inviting FT in. -
pirate:
Attolia:
There was an interesting article in the NZ Herald last year about 'should all signage have English words on them?' like in Asian restaurants and stuff, and the consensus was 'no, keep the ethnic writing,' but an overwhelming number of Kiwis commented that they didn't feel welcome in those establishments because there's nary an English word to be seen -- the menus are in Chinese, the restaurant's name is in Chinese, the waiters don't speak English, and I can understand how they could feel resentful about things like that.
I bet you at least one or two smart alecs retorted that they should require all signs to have Māori.
Ha. Yup. Imagine how big each sign would be -- Chinese, English and Maori. :yikes: -
We go to botanic garden every wkend.U don’t see lots of singaporean there. Nowadays,there r more Ang Moh(jogging wf dogs), maids feeding their india boyfrds,Phil maids who gather ard n having pinic, Indo maids gather ard n sing malay songs, china PRC who taking pic or throwing biscuits/breads into the lake.
I agree wf what WP said in the parliment y’day…singaporean is slowly losing their identities.
I see maids everywhere,and they always cut my quene,esp. in places like cold storage or ntuc finest…well,i always tell them,if not raise my voice.sianz… -
also saw maids swimming with white,translucent bikini.
I couldnt find a place to sit n rest when strolling wf my son…coz all the seats/benches r occupied by maids n dogs.Yes,they put their dogs on the benches.Some even invite their frds or india bfs into the estate n tak pic. Some hv parties when their owner not ard. Some invite their frds to barbecue even they don’t pay for the maintenance.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.