Club SAHM

3.6k Posts 370 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching
      Canvas

Sigh! So most of us are feeling the same, under appreciated! Some days I really wanted to quit and go back to work but when I saw my DD’s face, I couldn’t bear to leave her at the nanny’s again.

BeContented

Actually sometimes I think SAHM has the stigma of being a notch lower in status :gloomy:

Dunno am I being over sensitive, but despite all the 'flowery' words from relatives/friends etc, the underlying message seems to always boil down to
        - SAHM have much easier life at home (to some extend yes, but it's a sacrifice/trade off we have consciously made). WorkingPeople (WP) gotta work so hard and cannot have good-life at home like us
        - SAHMs' contributions is valued at a lot lesser than WP

A lot of times, gotta try to be Ah-Q & ignore the remarks by others....else I'll probably start feeling inferior and negative.

Guess SAHM here, we need to give more moral support to each other. :please:

cwc:
          Actually sometimes I think SAHM has the stigma of being a notch lower in status :gloomy:

Dunno am I being over sensitive, but despite all the 'flowery' words from relatives/friends etc, the underlying message seems to always boil down to
          - SAHM have much easier life at home (to some extend yes, but it's a sacrifice/trade off we have consciously made). WorkingPeople (WP) gotta work so hard and cannot have good-life at home like us
          - SAHMs' contributions is valued at a lot lesser than WP

A lot of times, gotta try to be Ah-Q & ignore the remarks by others....else I'll probably start feeling inferior and negative.

cwc,
          on the few occasions when i mentioned to total strangers that i am a sahm, i get positive remarks. they still feel that on the whole, kids are better left to the care of their own mothers.
          only on 1 instance when my bro insensitively complained that my degree is a waste. i told him off by saying that my husband can afford to keep me at home, but can he (the bro) do the same for his wife? :torchme:
          after a while, his wife became a sahm.

LOLMum

the worse is when a working mum turns her nose up at a sahm. goodness gracious..... :roll:

tanglin

the worse is when a working mum turns her nose up at a sahm. goodness gracious..... :roll:

working moms think sahms have good life. sahms like me wish that i can spend a few hundreds each time just to bring the family for a musical/performance without having to consider my budget..

sleepy

I know what you mean. Personal encounter with such working mums.

One working mum commented her son still cannot read. So I helpfully share my experience about Kumon. Guess what, she said why so kiasu, stay home to send kids to this class that class. Then she proudly declared that her children never attend any classes. But her dd told me she goes tuition le :rotflmao:

Another working mum asked me when I started staying home when she saw my kids reading chapter books in preschool. Then brush aside & said oh no wonder my kids can read so well. But her facial expression is soooo sour

I stopped discussing about my kids' developments or offering my kind advice to acquaintances since years ago. Lesson learned, keep low profile. Either way it came out 'wrong' since they already cemented their impression of SAHMs

BeContented

sleepy:

I know what you mean. Personal encounter with such working mums.

One working mum commented her son still cannot read. So I helpfully share my experience about Kumon. Guess what, she said why so kiasu, stay home to send kids to this class that class. Then she proudly declared that her children never attend any classes. But her dd told me she goes tuition le :rotflmao:

Another working mum asked me when I started staying home when she saw my kids reading chapter books in preschool. Then brush aside & said oh no wonder my kids can read so well. But her facial expression is soooo sour

I stopped discussing about my kids' developments or offering my kind advice to acquaintances since years ago. Lesson learned, keep low profile. Either way it came out 'wrong' since they already cemented their impression of SAHMs

Kids do well.....cos' we have ALL the time in the world to teach them, we can stay home coach mah.
                  Kids dun do that well, need tuition.....what are we for? Shake legs?
                  Guess as long as we know what we are doing correctly, have to ignore lah.

But sometimes, I find it quite amusing.....I have also chatted with a parent of my kid's classmate. Proudly proclaim why so kiasu need tuition, the child dun have tuition also doing well. But later discovered that for the last 2 years, a relative (ex-teacher) has been going to the house to coach the child. Win liao loh.

Also curious, how many of the SAHMs here used to have SAH-mothers......
                  My mom was a SAHM. Seriously, I remembered looking forward to go home cos' mommy waiting for me at home.....not an empty house. Initially when I became a SAHM, DS (7yo) would occasionally asked me to go back work & earn $ cos' I kept rejecting his request to buy toys/stuff quoting no $ liao. But last year when I tried to update my resume, DS got worried....told me not to work, stay at home with them :love:

LOLMum

my mum was a sahm. there were always people in the house but she was the one i looked for the moment i stepped into the house. :love:

my kids are glad i am a sahm too. both want to be a sahm/f when they have kids. :please:

tanglin

mom was a ftwm. didn't voice out but can sense her disapproval and disappointment when i became a sahm. but mil is a sahm so DH is supportive of my decision. 🙂

sometimes ds asked me to go out to work and let papa stay home. cos i'm always busy with housework while DH always plays with him at home.

cwc:

- SAHMs' contributions is valued at a lot lesser than WP.

We SAHMs need to give each other lots of support. Those working women think they are so full of glamour...they think they have loads of money to buy this and that, as well as hire tutors for every subject. But the bond that SAHMs have with their kids is something money cannot buy.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 198 / 357