Club SAHM

3.6k Posts 370 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

As a SAHM, financially it can be quite tight…but we don’t always need to drink an expensive cup of coffee right ? We can still look presentable even if not wearing branded stuff. There is not much ‘ME’ time as compared to working women but somehow we have to find the opportunity to get out and breathe some fresh air. Learning to love ourselves is the greatest gift of all…this is a line from Whitney Houston’s song.

kids_r_innocent

All branded things are materialistic, it will be good if we can have both $$ n be there for our children. However whether how rich or poor we maybe, at the end of the day on the day we close our eyes… It will be the love we have for our family and the person that we have cultivated our kids to be… Alll these will be the fondness memories n achievement for those that we have left behind.

Funx3

cwc,
          on the few occasions when i mentioned to total strangers that i am a sahm, i get positive remarks. they still feel that on the whole, kids are better left to the care of their own mothers.
          only on 1 instance when my bro insensitively complained that my degree is a waste. i told him off by saying that my husband can afford to keep me at home, but can he (the bro) do the same for his wife? :torchme:
          after a while, his wife became a sahm.
          Wah jedamum ....
          U Have Successfully Converted your Bro's Negative Stand to Supportive for sahm! 😂 😂

Or he's subtly Hinting to U tt ....
          He Too Can Afford it? :rotflmao: :rotflmao:

cwc,
            on the few occasions when i mentioned to total strangers that i am a sahm, i get positive remarks. they still feel that on the whole, kids are better left to the care of their own mothers.
            only on 1 instance when my bro insensitively complained that my degree is a waste. i told him off by saying that my husband can afford to keep me at home, but can he (the bro) do the same for his wife? :torchme:
            after a while, his wife became a sahm.

Wah jedamum ....
            U Have Successfully Converted your Bro's Negative Stand to Supportive for sahm! 😂

hahaha 😂
            i dunno la! but can see his wife not SAHM material :shock: :siam: .
            not all mums take well to SAHrole. some make better mums when they go to work. 🙂

LOLMum

duplicate.

LOLMum

cwc:
                sleepy:

I know what you mean. Personal encounter with such working mums.

One working mum commented her son still cannot read. So I helpfully share my experience about Kumon. Guess what, she said why so kiasu, stay home to send kids to this class that class. Then she proudly declared that her children never attend any classes. But her dd told me she goes tuition le :rotflmao:

But sometimes, I find it quite amusing.....I have also chatted with a parent of my kid's classmate. Proudly proclaim why so kiasu need tuition, the child dun have tuition also doing well. But later discovered that for the last 2 years, a relative (ex-teacher) has been going to the house to coach the child. Win liao loh.

:love:

all these unnecessary lies remind me of dh's friend who loudly and firmly told me in front of others that it was unnecessary to send kids to popular branded school upon hearing that my dd was in 1. cos he was from a neighbourhood school and doing well now. he was not going to move house or do pv or whatsoever, a neighbourhood school was good enough for his kids.

i looked at his wife and told dh his friend was talking rubbish. few days later, dh told him his friend's kid was actually attending an expensive and branded preschool in the city and they were up north. most recent news was the friend was looking for lobang to get his kid into top schools (thru connection). 🤷 say one thing and do another and try to make me look bad :roll:

BeContented

Wah jedamum ....
                  U Have Successfully Converted your Bro's Negative Stand to Supportive for sahm! 😂

hahaha 😂
                  i dunno la! but can see his wife not SAHM material :shock: :siam: .
                  not all mums take well to SAHrole. some make better mums when they go to work. 🙂

Agree....some can take to SAHrole singlehandedly while some ok ONLY if got maid & parents, so SAHM is a skill too 😉

I know of someone who's quite materialistic and always praising smart, ambitious, high-flyers women....so he see SAHM no up. When I first became SAHM and his wife wanted to take a short break, he warned her not to quit job, sprout comments like SAHM are useless, no ambition, no contribution...stay at home do nothing etc. Nasty right?? :spank:
                  Fast forward 3 years, now my kids are doing fine while his are getting a little out of hand and not doing well in their academics, so he started getting kancheong. Well, his wife is now taking a short break, for how long dun know, but apparently he didn't push her to find a new job quickly this time round.

cwc:

[quote=\"sleepy\"]

I know what you mean. Personal encounter with such working mums.

One working mum commented her son still cannot read. So I helpfully share my experience about Kumon. Guess what, she said why so kiasu, stay home to send kids to this class that class. Then she proudly declared that her children never attend any classes. But her dd told me she goes tuition le :rotflmao:

But sometimes, I find it quite amusing.....I have also chatted with a parent of my kid's classmate. Proudly proclaim why so kiasu need tuition, the child dun have tuition also doing well. But later discovered that for the last 2 years, a relative (ex-teacher) has been going to the house to coach the child. Win liao loh.

:love:

all these unnecessary lies remind me of dh's friend who loudly and firmly told me in front of others that it was unnecessary to send kids to popular branded school upon hearing that my dd was in 1. cos he was from a neighbourhood school and doing well now. he was not going to move house or do pv or whatsoever, a neighbourhood school was good enough for his kids.

i looked at his wife and told dh his friend was talking rubbish. few days later, dh told him his friend's kid was actually attending an expensive and branded preschool in the city and they were up north. most recent news was the friend was looking for lobang to get his kid into top schools (thru connection). 🤷 say one thing and do another and try to make me look bad :roll:[/quote]sometimes these are not lies, if the 'kiasu' acts happened after that conversation. cos some parents used to think that 'no need la', until they realised that they did not know about the primary school rat race.
                    i have seen these la...very common...one already acting out right within the family...(psst..the one that said i wasted my degree to be sahm :roll: )

LOLMum

😉 dont think the kiasu part came in later lah, cos his kid was already attending the expensive preschool in the city. why need to drive so far daily for 2-3 hours lessons when there were quite a few neighbourhood schools in his area (if and truly he thinks that it was unnecessary to go to branded schools be it nursery, kindy or primary). :evil: wife too free and too much $$$ so spent on petrol :evil: .

really mean of me :evil:

kero

Hi mummies,

I just joined the SAHM club 4 months ago to takecare of my P3 DS due to his activities after sch and late sch bus arrangement.
                        Last time when I want to resign from the workforce, my mum is the one who objected as she was helping me to takecare of my son then and start complaining waste of my education etc.. But she really spoilt my son to the utimate. We cannot tahan and hence decided bite on and JUST DO IT!

Hope that I can learn more from you all here. 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 200 / 357