Club SAHM

3.6k Posts 370 Posters 1.4m Views 1 Watching

Hi ladies,

Welcome to the SAHM thread.

Most of us are busy coaching kids’ in their work…some of us have kids in P6, so this thread is quieter now. Also, some primary schools have tests in Aug.
      Enjoy yourselves before kids go to P1. Don’t mean to frighten you, but it’s definitely more demanding now.

Thenun7

Hi! I am new here too! Have been a Sahm for 2 years now since the birth of my girl. Anyone living in the east with two year olds as well? 🙂

smartmummy

Thenun7:
          Hi! I am new here too! Have been a Sahm for 2 years now since the birth of my girl. Anyone living in the east with two year olds as well? 🙂

we have same age group club also have.Year 2012 also have here.enjoy!!
          http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewforum.php?f=61

Thenun7

Tks!

hokkiengirl

I want to COMPLAIN!!!

I’ve been a sahm for the last two years, and I juggle housework with tutoring the kids. I have no helper. I have three boys, who are darlings, but they run around, scream, get into trouble and generally behave like… normal BOYS. The youngest is 2, so he needs a lot of attention and surveillance. Otherwise, he is liable to get into a lot of mischief.

My husband thinks my job is EASY. He thinks I spend my time going shopping (yeah, I go to Cold Storage to buy cheese with the baby glued to my hip. So glam) and watching DVDs (I do this ‘after work’, k, when the kids are all asleep). Sometimes, on Saturdays, when I ask him to help one child with schoolwork, he will say, ‘Maybe I should be a SAH DAD.’ I fumed and I made nasty comments about the ingratitude of SOME PEOPLE, but deep down, I wondered if he was right and that he would do a better job than I was doing. Some background: dealing with DS1 is no piece of cake. Homework time inevitably erupts into a yelling match where I go into berserker mode. Not my finest moment, I’ll admit.

Then, today, Baby was sick and couldn’t go to church, so Hubby volunteered to stay at home to look after him. I did appreciate it, and I reminded him to ‘please try and hang the clothes’.

When I returned home with the other two, I found:

1) toys all over the floor
              2) dishes from breakfast not washed
              3) table not wiped
              4) clothes not hung

My first response was, ‘WAH LAU’. So that was his definition of being a SAHD. I’m gonna tell him, if he ever uses that line on me again, that we can’t AFFORD to have him stay at home, cos that means that we would have to employ a full-time maid AND invite him mother to help us babysit while he deals with ONE child at a time. Pooi!!! Men! Ok, SOME men! Ok, ok, it’s just MY HUSBAND!!

I will NEVER let him make me feel bad about my imperfect job as a sahm ever again!!!

Angelight

hi Hokkiengirl, hope you felt a little better after letting off steam here. Being a SAHM is not easy at all, the sacrifices we made for our family, no social life, no personal income etc etc...I understand perfectly as I'm also a SAHM.

Maybe you can consider getting a FT maid or part-time cleaning help to reduce your load and free up your time for yourself and your hubby as well? 😉

hokkiengirl

Angelight:
                  hi Hokkiengirl, hope you felt a little better after letting off steam here. Being a SAHM is not easy at all, the sacrifices we made for our family, no social life, no personal income etc etc...I understand perfectly as I'm also a SAHM.

Maybe you can consider getting a FT maid or part-time cleaning help to reduce your load and free up your time for yourself and your hubby as well? 😉
                  Hi, Angelight!

Thanks! Ha ha yup, I did feel better after venting. Maybe it's a woman thing. We just need to let it out to regain equilibrium. Thanks for your suggestion! 🙂

MummyThreeStreams

Hi Hokkiengirl!

I totally fel your frustrations! I have 3 boys too and we are not in Singapore, i.e., no help either. I didn’t have a maid in Singapore but at least I can call on the grandparents for backup so I can go do my own thing. Now, I do EVERYTHING.

Hubby tries his best and doesn’t make comments that it’s easy. When he gets home on weekdays, he will mind the kids while I get dinner ready, and clean up after dinner BUT over the weekends, he’s always the one who gets to nap! I’ll be busy vacuuming, mopping, washing or whatever, then I come to the living room and find him asleep on the sofa! I know he’s tired from the week, and I know I should have arrowed him chores, but I wish he could take the initiative to ask, "what can I do around here." and just do it.

Then today, as I was preparing to vacuum the floor, he tells me to sit and relax and watch Wimbledon with him! I said, if I go on leave, and I know I have a tonne of work that I will have to do when I get back in the office, I won’t be able to relax. But if I know someone will cover for me, I can relax. He got the message, but still he didn’t offer to do the chores!!!

Just some whingeing. At least he knows how tough it is at home. Just need him to take that extra step!

smartmummy

hi hokkiengirl!

men like that la.don’t take his words to ur heart.we know how hard it is.they just make comments only.when my dh starting anything i tell him to off the topic that i doesn’t like.sometimes he reminded me to teach my son,but he can’t teach.yesterday i told him just make sure my son get his work done.he didn’t bother to check then why he torture me like why you haven’t start to teach?

sleepy

Cannot be subtle. If I caught hubby reading newspapers or playing games with his galaxy tab or iphone, I will flash him my :evil: grin and comment 'very free hor, go rinse up the clothes I soaked, mop floor, teach kids Maths'.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 251 / 357

uu88betworldU
                        uu88betworld