H1N1
Hahaha... That would be a better way of looking at this situation. Actually, DS2 and myself would be in the high-risk category should DS1 gets the flu. DS2 becos of his age and me... I think my \"cell-life\" is running out... sub-standard life liao :stupid: :oops:
Then just take this as an opportunity for family bonding (at the same time play a part in containing the virus *touchwood*).ZacK:
Actually I'm on leave on wed and thur... So just need to check if I am allowed at work on Fri, Mon and Tue, actually dun mind utilising my leave to take some rest... |
My bro is having fever, flu and sore throat and is ordered for home observation for 3days - i told him to bunk in with his future wife cos my parents are under high-risk category - better to be safe.
insider:
Hi insider,Zack,
You mean your child is still in preschool? My understanding of any case in a preschool is to close the whole centre (maybe if the centre is located in a large premises with separate classrooms like those of a primary school, then only a class needs to be closed).
If your child is in a landed property kind of preschool and only one class needs to be closed, then I will have to clarify MOH's stand again (I am not aware of any change of their stand, if there is any so far. Anyway, this garment people don't really know how to give clear instructions...)
Yeap DS1 is still in preschool... The school's set-up is as described in your first example... All the kids have separate classrooms and in fact the entrance to his class is via their own door and not via the school's main entrance where the rest of the classrooms are located. -
insider:
Oops after my last reply.. I went to recharge my battery to sustain my \"cell-life\"... Cant be helped lar cos mums and dads have to settle everything make sure the kids zzzz before we have some time to ourselves mah :oops: ... And we wonder why our \"cell life\" is running out exponentially :stupid:ZacK:
[becos of his age and me... I think my \"cell-life\" is running out... sub-standard life liao :stupid: :oops:
At this hour and we are still talking sure will further 'sub-standard' our life... hahaha.... -
Here's one for everyone to start the week
Hahaha... Certainly everyone in Singapore can identify.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=latKpg4HvwE -
The Ministry of Health (MOH) said a 13-year-old boy, who was admitted to National University Hospital’s Paediatric ICU on Sunday, died on Wednesday morning. He had epilepsy and the cause of death was due to prolonged seizures, with H1N1 as a contributing factor.
So sad. Wonder which school was he from.
How is the situation in your kid’s school? I understand from my kids that many of their school mates are down with flu. I wish MOE or their schools will officially declare a one week break. -
My DD down with flu for the past week and when I brought her to the PD yesterday, he said that it might be \"The Flu\". I was scared like shit :shock: and he did a swab test immediately which costs $40 and took 5 minutes. Luckily it is not Influenza A, otherwise I cannot imagine what I have to do especially I have a 3 mth old DS.
So, don't hesistate to go straight to get the test done as soon as the symptoms appear. The earlier the better... -
shaynamommy:
I disagree. A positive or negative test does nothing to prognosticate the outcome of the illness. One is as likely to develop complications of influenza (such as pnuemonia) with other strains of flu as one would have with H1N1, and a positive test does nothing to influence the treatment regimen a doctor may give, which will be based on severity of sympotoms and not strain of virus, as is hospital referral.
So, don't hesistate to go straight to get the test done as soon as the symptoms appear. The earlier the better...
I say save your $40 bucks, although I doubt many folk will actually heed this advice! -
3Boys, I guess a doctor will not recommend the test if they do not have some basis for it. The PD has also told me that the results of the test would not affect the course of treatment as well but like what you say, many of us would still go for it.
My logic is that if it is normal influenza, why would the doctors then prescribe Tamiflu or Relenza? If we don’t take the test, how would we know that Tamiflu is not required or conversely, why should we take Tamiflu and risk drug resistant issues later if it is not required.
In any case, I have written the post to let all kiasu parents know that there is this option available. It’s really your choice but when it comes to health matters, I would prefer to be safe than sorry, since I understand that the medications works best if administered within the first 2 days… -
shaynamommy:
shaynamommy,3Boys, I guess a doctor will not recommend the test if they do not have some basis for it. The PD has also told me that the results of the test would not affect the course of treatment as well but like what you say, many of us would still go for it.
My logic is that if it is normal influenza, why would the doctors then prescribe Tamiflu or Relenza? If we don't take the test, how would we know that Tamiflu is not required or conversely, why should we take Tamiflu and risk drug resistant issues later if it is not required.
thank you for sharing. I do feel that it is important to be clear about the rationale for testing, as it should not be, as you had indicated, 'go straight to get the test done...'
The MOH has issued guidelines on management of Influenza like Illness (ILI) on its website for health care professionals. H1N1 should really be treated like any other flu virus. For non-complicated cases, throat swab is not indicated. If you were at the polyclinic, and even if there was a strong suspicion of H1N1 due to contact history, and the patient were only mildly symptomatic, no swab will be done. This is best practices relevant to the current state of transmission and epidemicity of the disease, which takes into consideration the costs of testing, and relevance of outcome in influencing treatment.
As for private PD, willing buyer, willing seller, I guess :lol: . I'm sure he must have given you the option not to do the test, and I'm guessing he didn't push hard for it to be done? Most parents will understandably feel the urge to do the best for their children, and the urge is always to do something rather than do nothing. In this case, doing something (swab) is the same as doing nothing (go home and rest).
Cheers -
shaynamommy:
My son had runny nose (not serious as he has sensitive nose) and a slight cough three days ago and was otherwise, well. He was asked to get a certification from the doctor to prove that he is fit for school. He got the letter plus lots of medicine: Antibiotics, Antihistamine, Steriods and Kitotifen for the lungs. Shortly after he took the first dose of medicine, he was so 'weak' and drowsy that he has to rest at home for the next two days! I wonder if I did the right thing by bringing him to the doctor. As our body has natural healing ability for minor illnesses, medication may not be necc. He could also end up catching another virus by visiting the clinic!My DD down with flu for the past week and when I brought her to the PD yesterday, he said that it might be \"The Flu\". I was scared like shit :shock: and he did a swab test immediately which costs $40 and took 5 minutes. Luckily it is not Influenza A, otherwise I cannot imagine what I have to do especially I have a 3 mth old DS.
So, don't hesistate to go straight to get the test done as soon as the symptoms appear. The earlier the better...
===
I was given Tamiflu a few years ago for my flu. After the 2nd dose, I felt so sick and the doctor advised me to stop taking the pill and revert to normal flu medicine. This is after I have forked out $30 out of my own pocket for the few pills as it was not under my company's medical coverage. To those who rush to stock up Tamiflu, I would like to share with you that it may not be suitable for everyone.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.