[Serangoon] Primary Schools

528 Posts 146 Posters 251.4k Views 1 Watching
      Littlefire

[quote]Littlefire, I wrote in to 4 schools for PV application and finally only get selected in one. That's why I always encourage PV-to-bes to write in to a few schools at the same time as back-up plans.[/quote]
      guess i was too focus in trying to get a place in Rosyth cos its the nearest to my place.

Littlefire

Can anyone advise me how to go abt the grassroots directions?

even thou i am very near the school but i have checked and realised we are on different GRC.

Littlefire:
          Can anyone advise me how to go abt the grassroots directions?

even thou i am very near the school but i have checked and realised we are on different GRC.
          Plenty of info can be found http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=420. By the way, you can easily find this yourself by using the http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/search.php function. Thank you.

Littlefire

hi ChiefKiasu,

Thanks, i had read this thread already. maybe i wasnt clear. i was trying to ask if anyone with smiliar situation, ie. school not in the same GRC as resident address but went thru the GRL directions could give me some advice. :oops:

RRMummy

Littlefire:
              hi ChiefKiasu,

Thanks, i had read this thread already. maybe i wasnt clear. i was trying to ask if anyone with smiliar situation, ie. school not in the same GRC as resident address but went thru the GRL directions could give me some advice. :oops:
              err... Littlefire, I think I read somewhere in the threads that that is NOT possible...

Majella

mama Ping:
                Cartier, thanks of your valuable advise, I agreed too, that is why I prefer YangZheng.

Mermaid, My ex-collegues stays in Serangoon Ave 2 told me that Zhong Hua is a very very good school. She asked me should put Zhong Hua as first choice for my girl, but for my opinion is , firstly Zhong Hua is very far from my house, and secondly, I afraid my girl cannot catch & follw up in a OK school. I heard my neighbour said, YangZheng is very easy to enrol in as not much parents will take it as first choice, may be to the parents' mind Zhang Zheng is 邻里学校. Last Year's enrolment still got 100+ vacancy after phase 2A2.
                Hi there, My girl to born in 2003 and am seriously considering OLGC because of the character formation. Feel its better than to push them academically

Majella

mama Ping:
                  Hi, mermaid, sorry, wat is PV? my gal oso born in 2003, I will register her in CHIJ OLN on 13 Jul 2009 (under phase 2A2), although I am not prefer CHIJ OLN as CHIJ schools more emphasis in moral, the academic teaching is a little bit slow compare with others school and I realize that CHIJ schools - their language subject is quite strong & good but Maths & Science is a bit weak if compare to Yangzheng or Paya Lebar Methodist Pri School.

Hi Mama Ping, I agree with you that CHIJ schools focus on moral devpt which is so necessary in the current society. Hence choosing CHIJ OLGC over PLMS for my girl born in 2003. have u any idea abt CEDAR

Majella

mama Ping:
                    [Moderator's note: Topics split and merged.]

I stay in Serangoon Central, I am doubt to registered my gal to CHIJ OLN or Yangzheng Primary School. for me more preferred YangZheng, but my husband always quarred over this because he strongly preferred girls school. I am really very doubt as the date of registration is coming soon, I can't decide as I dun have any friend's kids study in this two school before, any friends can help to give some advise please.

Thank you very much and deeply appreciated.
                    Hi Mama Ping

Wrote to you earlier too. I stay in Serangoon Central too. Why did you not consider CHIJ (OLGC) and go to CHIJ OLN. Is OLN better than OLGC in Serangoon Garden. I feel CHIJ is better than Yangzheng

mama Ping

Hi, Majela,

CHIJ OLN actually quite far from my house (I stay in Serangoon Central), I choose CHIJ OLN instead of CHIJ OLGC because my girl can register under phase 2A2 (13/7 & 14/7) in CHIJ OLN as she got step-sister has studied there.

mama Ping

Dear Parents,

School Vacancies by Phases — Phase 2A2
                        (as at 13 July 2009)

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/vacancies/

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 53