Sec 1 2012

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    405 Posts 45 Posters 92.8k Views 1 Watching
      TwaTau

TwaTau:

DS say his is the only class that were given homework, to read up on Ancient numerical system, for maths.

That sounds like primary school GEP.

He was on it for 5 minutes, after that, back to his routine, computer game

Funx3

Hi .... Hi ....

I'm Really Late ....
        in Finding My Way here -hor!
        ๐Ÿ˜“ ๐Ÿ˜“

Funx3

kitcat:
          less kiasu liao:

Hi kitcat. Again, it's hard to explain.

Being potatoes served my DSs well in the education system definitely, and provided them with the means to popular courses in the unis. But I often felt that the incredible depth and beauty of the Chinese language was inaccessible to them both because they could not understand it with their CL level and because they could not feel for it. It is as if they percieve the world only half as much as I did.
          Perhaps I am old fashion, but with DD, I felt less pressure to make sure she had a \"good\" and \"profitable\" career. I felt happiness for a woman came from a different source, such as having and nurturing a happy family and I was less concern to make her \"clever\". I felt joy when she learned and understood Chinese sayings, idioms and in the way she pronounced the Chinese words so accurately..........

๐Ÿ˜‚ Sorry if I sound like I am sprouting rubbish!

thanks for sharing... I am bit surprised as I remember you are Rafflesian too, and all the time I had a impression that the Raffles families are very 'ang mao', now I have a different view. ๐Ÿ˜„

Know What?
          My Gal told Me ....
          She Miss Hearing .... Chinese in Sch Already!
          RGS is So .... Ang-Mo Speaking, in her own Words ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜†

Funx3

less kiasu liao:
            kitcat:

thanks for sharing... I am bit surprised as I remember you are Rafflesian too, and all the time I had a impression that the Raffles families are very 'ang mao', now I have a different view. ๐Ÿ˜„[/quote

๐Ÿ˜‚ Besides sports, I was active in a most unusual CCA-Chinese Society. Even in those days, those involved were a really rare breed of RGS girls who, till today, speak in Mandarin when we meet. We had great fun putting up plays, and even short Chinese operas. I know of a girl who went on to become both a EL and CL teacher. One girl is now a director of Chinese films, while another is involved in translation work. But, you are correct, the Raffles families are really 'angmoh'. I remember how bad the RI boys in JC were in Mandarin that I was asked by my teacher to read the Chinese \"ke wen\" almost everyday because there was no one else to call!

Is there a Chinese Society in RGS?
            But Now that U mentioned it ....
            My Gal did Say she Peeped into a Room that is so Out of Place in RGS ....
            Coz this is the Only Room with Chinese Writing, Notice, etc ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜†

Funx3

MummySTay:
              DD's teachers have started dishing out homework.

How about the rest of yours? ๐Ÿ˜„
              Yeah, Mine is Complaining ....
              Sooooooooooooo Many HW!
              ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

Choco05

MummySTay:

DD's teachers have started dishing out homework.

How about the rest of yours? ๐Ÿ˜„

Yeah, Mine is Complaining ....
                Sooooooooooooo Many HW!
                ๐Ÿ˜‰ ๐Ÿ˜‰

Better than me:( Week 2 of Sec 2 and i wanna die already. Rest too much during holidays ๐Ÿ˜“ ๐Ÿ˜“

Jiayou Sec 1s, you will know you are very lucky soon. :rahrah:

iFirefly

ngbrdad:
                  Wow just realized that St Nic's principal now is ่‹ๆƒ ๅ…ฐ.

She was from 84 batch at HCJC. President of student council.
                  Top O level student in 1983.
                  Wow, ngbrdad, you must have been one of her secret admirers in HCJC then ๐Ÿ˜‰ ... As she looks really pretty and demure, even now (she was interviewed in ๏ผ‚ๆ—ฉๅฎ‰ๆ‚จๅฅฝ๏ผ‚ this morning). ๐Ÿ˜‚

kitcat

[quote="less kiasu liao"

Donโ€™t you wish the school system would still allow our children such space and freedom? Secondary school should be the best years of their lives lehโ€ฆ[/quote]

yes, I do wish that, and I hope ds not to be too far away from the good chinese valuesโ€ฆ

jtoh

TwaTau:

[quote=\"TwaTau\"]DS say his is the only class that were given homework, to read up on Ancient numerical system, for maths.

That sounds like primary school GEP.

He was on it for 5 minutes, after that, back to his routine, computer game[/quote]Can finish homework in 5 mins is good. ๐Ÿ™‚

jtoh

Is there a Chinese Society in RGS?
                        But Now that U mentioned it ....
                        My Gal did Say she Peeped into a Room that is so Out of Place in RGS ....
                        Coz this is the Only Room with Chinese Writing, Notice, etc ๐Ÿ˜† ๐Ÿ˜†
                        There is Chinese Drama and Scriptwriting. Don't worry, all the announcements by the Chinese Dept will be purely in Chinese. You will have a wonderful time reading those announcements while the potato ones like me see stars. :rotflmao:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

With your input, this post could be even better ๐Ÿ’—

• 1 / 41