Sec 1 2012
less kiasu liao:
Is there a Chinese Society in RGS?kitcat:
thanks for sharing... I am bit surprised as I remember you are Rafflesian too, and all the time I had a impression that the Raffles families are very 'ang mao', now I have a different view.
[/quote
Besides sports, I was active in a most unusual CCA-Chinese Society. Even in those days, those involved were a really rare breed of RGS girls who, till today, speak in Mandarin when we meet. We had great fun putting up plays, and even short Chinese operas. I know of a girl who went on to become both a EL and CL teacher. One girl is now a director of Chinese films, while another is involved in translation work. But, you are correct, the Raffles families are really 'angmoh'. I remember how bad the RI boys in JC were in Mandarin that I was asked by my teacher to read the Chinese \"ke wen\" almost everyday because there was no one else to call!
But Now that U mentioned it ....
My Gal did Say she Peeped into a Room that is so Out of Place in RGS ....
Coz this is the Only Room with Chinese Writing, Notice, etc
MummySTay:
Yeah, Mine is Complaining ....DD's teachers have started dishing out homework.
How about the rest of yours?
Sooooooooooooo Many HW!
Better than me:( Week 2 of Sec 2 and i wanna die already. Rest too much during holidays
Yeah, Mine is Complaining ....MummySTay:
DD's teachers have started dishing out homework.
How about the rest of yours?
Sooooooooooooo Many HW!

Jiayou Sec 1s, you will know you are very lucky soon. :rahrah: -
ngbrdad:
Wow, ngbrdad, you must have been one of her secret admirers in HCJC thenWow just realized that St Nic's principal now is ่ๆ ๅ ฐ.
She was from 84 batch at HCJC. President of student council.
Top O level student in 1983.
... As she looks really pretty and demure, even now (she was interviewed in ๏ผๆฉๅฎๆจๅฅฝ๏ผ this morning).
[quote="less kiasu liao"
Donโt you wish the school system would still allow our children such space and freedom? Secondary school should be the best years of their lives lehโฆ[/quote]
yes, I do wish that, and I hope ds not to be too far away from the good chinese valuesโฆ -
TwaTau:
He was on it for 5 minutes, after that, back to his routine, computer game[/quote]Can finish homework in 5 mins is good.jtoh:
[quote=\"TwaTau\"]DS say his is the only class that were given homework, to read up on Ancient numerical system, for maths.
That sounds like primary school GEP.
There is Chinese Drama and Scriptwriting. Don't worry, all the announcements by the Chinese Dept will be purely in Chinese. You will have a wonderful time reading those announcements while the potato ones like me see stars. :rotflmao:
Is there a Chinese Society in RGS?
But Now that U mentioned it ....
My Gal did Say she Peeped into a Room that is so Out of Place in RGS ....
Coz this is the Only Room with Chinese Writing, Notice, etc

From the Bishan mountain thread, other kids are working on their homework till late, maybe DS ไธ็ฅๅคฉ้ซๅฐๅ๏ผTwaTau:
Can finish homework in 5 mins is good.
Just wondering :roll: in pri schs, students must score 91marks above for best grade in each subject but in secondary schs they just need to score 75 mark above. Is it becoz of sec schs' students hv too many subjects to cope thus,the schs set their expectation lower?
:faint: :faint: :faint:
Don't worry, all the announcements by the Chinese Dept will be purely in Chinese. You will have a wonderful time reading those announcements while the potato ones like me see stars. :rotflmao:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.