Sec 1 2012

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Academic Support
    405 Posts 45 Posters 92.8k Views 1 Watching
      ngbrdad

Wow just realized that St Nic’s principal now is 苏惠兰.

She was from 84 batch at HCJC. President of student council.
      Top O level student in 1983.

kitcat

ngbrdad:
        Wow just realized that St Nic's principal now is 苏惠兰.

She was from 84 batch at HCJC. President of student council.
        Top O level student in 1983.
        From the photo from the newspapers, she looks pretty and graceful...

less kiasu liao

kitcat:
          less kiasu liao:

[quote=\"kitcat\"]

very impressive, despite the environment arround, you and your friends could still follow your hearts and persist on your interests ... :salute:

[/quote]Don't you wish the school system would still allow our children such space and freedom? Secondary school should be the best years of their lives leh...

Bbee

ickybananas:
            less kiasu liao:

Hi, Im speaking in regards of the IP curriculum in RV, so im not very sure if other schools have another way of teaching. In RV, our Year 1 Maths is basically \"Integrated\" and can jump from the Year 1 content in the MOE textbook to the Year 2 content when learning the same topic. Similarly, Year 2 content can also jump to Year 3 sometimes.

When moving on the Year 3, where most schools have the choice of taking E Maths or Additional Maths (A Maths), RV combined the two maths together. Students don't normally know which kind of maths they are taking actually cause it's totally combined. Therefore, I think it will be hard to find tuition teachers as they will not know what content were being covered in school in school as the Year 3s and 4s just learn Maths as a whole. Besides, finding teaching materials can also be quite hard for them as RV uses their own notes (you can almost don't buy the textbooks) and occasionally make some reference to only a few assessment books for a certain topic.

i think other subjects are still relatively easy to find tuition though, such as the languages subjects. 🙂 hope this helps!

Yes, ickybananas, your explanation is very detailed and clear and most helpful. Many thanks and all the best in your studies 😄

• phankaoP Offline
              phankao

less kiasu liao:
              kitcat:

very impressive, despite the environment arround, you and your friends could still follow your hearts and persist on your interests ... :salute:

Don't you wish the school system would still allow our children such space and freedom? Secondary school should be the best years of their lives leh...

Despite the competitiveness and restrictions of CCA and long school hours, my kids have really been enjoying their Secondary school/JC life, including CCA. I guess it's also about being flexible and adapting.

jtoh

less kiasu liao:

😂 Besides sports, I was active in a most unusual CCA-Chinese Society. Even in those days, those involved were a really rare breed of RGS girls who, till today, speak in Mandarin when we meet. We had great fun putting up plays, and even short Chinese operas. I know of a girl who went on to become both a EL and CL teacher. One girl is now a director of Chinese films, while another is involved in translation work. But, you are correct, the Raffles families are really 'angmoh'. I remember how bad the RI boys in JC were in Mandarin that I was asked by my teacher to read the Chinese \"ke wen\" almost everyday because there was no one else to call!
                The RGS girls I knew back in my time were either very potato (competent in Mandarin and Western in outlook) or very Chinese (excellent in Chinese, can spout Chinese proverbs etc). 😄

MummySTay

DD's teachers have started dishing out homework.

How about the rest of yours? 😄

ngbrdad

MummySTay:
                    DD's teachers have started dishing out homework.

How about the rest of yours? 😄
                    My DS says nothing but from what I gather from ACSI thread there are homework/schoolwork assigned.
                    However DS is the type that always says no homework one and he says he finished it in school.

TwaTau

DS say his is the only class that were given homework, to read up on Ancient numerical system, for maths.

MummySTay

TwaTau:
                        DS say his is the only class that were given homework, to read up on Ancient numerical system, for maths.

I think DD is doing something similar as well.
                        For her, not just reading, but doing. 😄

I thought RI had their investiture tonight. How was it?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 41 / 41

cucumberry127C
                        cucumberry127
                        sharonkhooS
                        sharonkhoo