Sec 1 2012
Brenda10:
Hi Brenda,
Hi MummySTay,
You're right that could be a scare tactic.
Anyway, the lesson is officially started tomorrow and DD has to bring along Sec One and Sec Two Text Books/Work Books together!
Have also told her to learn to manage herself as mummy can't help much in Secondary and also mummy has her own task to handle!
Haha, 心有余而力不足,mummy also 自身难保!!! :evil:
You are not alone.
A number of parents already have difficulty helping their own children with P5 or 6 work, let alone secondary subjects. My brain is also rusty...dun know if oiling will work.
firefly38:
I know you too. The strawberry guy! :evil:
Yes, WE know!!! You are the famous (or infamous?) 'hairy' boy from 'How To Grow Taller' thread.. And you are from CHS, right?Ichigokun:
Reporting today! :rahrah:
But I'm not a mom nor dad. Imma sec one student
Hi everyone :rahrah:
I'm here to report ...
Hi everyone
I am here to report. My DS is in Sec 1.
Can anyone please advise the curriculum diffference between Higher Chinese and Chinese in Secondary School? Is there any info from MOE website that I can access (I tried to google but can’t find any relevant info.)?
Many thanks in advance. -
Brenda10:
Bbee:
[quote=\"Brenda10\"]Hi, Brenda10 reporting....... :boogie:
Hi Brenda10, welcome back to the Forum!
If I recalled correctly, you have just started a new job?
How's everything?
Hi Bbee.
Thank you.
Have lot of things to learn and lucky I have full battery after 3 years of rest!
BTW, ,my boss is a nice person and all my colleagues are helpful and can tolerance me for being so blur and slow lah!
[/quote]That's a good start! All the best
jtoh wrote
Hi less kiasu liao, How come you didn’t enrol your dd in MGS or RGS given that your sons and hubby are all from ACS and you are from RGS?[/quote]
Hahaha…Hard to explain, but after DS1,2 and 3, we wanted a more balanced life for myself and DD. My DD is the laid back sort. She came back at P3 with the GEP Test form and said, "This is the GEP Test form, and I am not going." We took it really easy all through primary school, enjoyed each other’s company, cooking, listening to audio stories…skipped all dsa, and did without any tuition except for HCL. After raising 3 potato sons, I consciously wanted and mounded her to be more chi-na, and DD took to CL really well.
That’s how DD ended up in DHS, and so far, I am really pleased and impressed by what I see of the school. -
less kiasu liao:
jtoh wrote
Hi less kiasu liao, How come you didn't enrol your dd in MGS or RGS given that your sons and hubby are all from ACS and you are from RGS?
Hahaha......Hard to explain, but after DS1,2 and 3, we wanted a more balanced life for myself and DD. My DD is the laid back sort. She came back at P3 with the GEP Test form and said, \"This is the GEP Test form, and I am not going.\" We took it really easy all through primary school, enjoyed each other's company, cooking, listening to audio stories........skipped all dsa, and did without any tuition except for HCL. After raising 3 potato sons, I consciously wanted and mounded her to be more chi-na, and DD took to CL really well.
That's how DD ended up in DHS, and so far, I am really pleased and impressed by what I see of the school.[/quote]
which one do you feel is better, potato or chi-na? -
Hi kitcat. Again, it's hard to explain.
Being potatoes served my DSs well in the education system definitely, and provided them with the means to popular courses in the unis. But I often felt that the incredible depth and beauty of the Chinese language was inaccessible to them both because they could not understand it with their CL level and because they could not feel for it. It is as if they percieve the world only half as much as I did.
Perhaps I am old fashion, but with DD, I felt less pressure to make sure she had a \"good\" and \"profitable\" career. I felt happiness for a woman came from a different source, such as having and nurturing a happy family and I was less concern to make her \"clever\". I felt joy when she learned and understood Chinese sayings, idioms and in the way she pronounced the Chinese words so accurately..........
Sorry if I sound like I am sprouting rubbish! -
Tisha falling in. DS in SJI.
Glad to know many parents want their sec1s to be independent. Me too, me too.
Hope our kids do well in sec school and have a memorable journey with lasting friendship :rahrah: -
less kiasu liao:
Nice to read ur sharing. Rarely on ksp do we hear such laid-back,relaxed sharingHi kitcat. Again, it's hard to explain.
Being potatoes served my DSs well in the education system definitely, and provided them with the means to popular courses in the unis. But I often felt that the incredible depth and beauty of the Chinese language was inaccessible to them both because they could not understand it with their CL level and because they could not feel for it. It is as if they percieve the world only half as much as I did.
Perhaps I am old fashion, but with DD, I felt less pressure to make sure she had a \"good\" and \"profitable\" career. I felt happiness for a woman came from a different source, such as having and nurturing a happy family and I was less concern to make her \"clever\". I felt joy when she learned and understood Chinese sayings, idioms and in the way she pronounced the Chinese words so accurately..........
Sorry if I sound like I am sprouting rubbish!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.