shares?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Money Matters
    49 Posts 23 Posters 20.1k Views 1 Watching
      tutormum

firefly38:
      I have been buying/selling YZJ & Cosco on short term basis (not more than 2 months).. Sometimes made $, sometimes lost $.. But I only know how to play these 2 shares only leh...

YZJ better than Cosco. If you follow price pattern, can easy know when to buy and sell. I study study long long and keep shares sometimes for years to buy and sell at right moment (always lose opportunity cos don't dare to chiong but can make some pocket money. Good enough liao) 😓

iFirefly

tutormum:
        firefly38:

I have been buying/selling YZJ & Cosco on short term basis (not more than 2 months).. Sometimes made $, sometimes lost $.. But I only know how to play these 2 shares only leh...

YZJ better than Cosco. If you follow price pattern, can easy know when to buy and sell. I study study long long and keep shares sometimes for years to buy and sell at right moment (always lose opportunity cos don't dare to chiong but can make some pocket money. Good enough liao) 😓

Ya, I also prefer YZJ to Cosco... :hi5:

Last time, i used to hold shares for many years (for sentimental reasons), and I missed selling my Cosco when it was all-time high about $8+ (greedy lor)! I was reluctant to sell coz, everytime I sold a share, it's price would go up :frustrated: ... Then i would chase the share and buy it back but it's price would drop :slapshead: !!!

So now, I try not to be so emotional.. I will just buy a bit, and when the price goes up a bit, I will sell (sometimes can contra). As expected, the price will always go up more after I sell (very tempted to buy back but control). If the price goes down, i will hold it for a while, but may eventually sell to cut loss... :sad:

Cuppamocha

I have been wanting to dabble in shares but it is always the fees that I feel erode any earnings that I might earn when the share price goes up. So to go around it, is to buy more but I don’t have that many extra cash. Maybe the experts can share their views on the fees.

• O Offline
            Oppsgal

Cuppamocha:
            I have been wanting to dabble in shares but it is always the fees that I feel erode any earnings that I might earn when the share price goes up. So to go around it, is to buy more but I don't have that many extra cash. Maybe the experts can share their views on the fees.

Wait for shares' dividends to earn back the brokerage fees.

Cuppamocha

Does it apply to both the initial buying and subsequent selling?

daddy2007

Cuppamocha:

Buying and selling both incur brokerage charges (around $28+ each time if you based on minimum charge).

If you trade frequently, it is your brokerage firm that is the winner.

Do calculate your net profit (after deducting all the charges) if you want to trade a certain stock. Do ensure the profit is significant before you action on it. No point having much anxiety or spending so much time just to earn tens of dollars each time

Cuppamocha

Thanks. My sentiments exactly. So the strategy is either buy and hold or buy many lots (which costs more and not for those with limited funds)

Mdm Koh

daddy2007:
                    Cuppamocha:

Buying and selling both incur brokerage charges (around $28+ each time if you based on minimum charge).

If you trade frequently, it is your brokerage firm that is the winner.

Do calculate your net profit (after deducting all the charges) if you want to trade a certain stock. Do ensure the profit is significant before you action on it. No point having much anxiety or spending so much time just to earn tens of dollars each time

I thought the minimum charge is $50? :? Is the minimum charge different for different brokers?

Joule

min is about 25 sgd ++ per transaction

buy 1 time sell 1 time is 50

some US dealers do offer real cheap e.g. $10 usd

so solution:

buy and sell infrequently

don’t day trade

some stock which are good have good divident

better than CPF

hold many many years u will be ok

Mdm Koh

Joule:
                        min is about 25 sgd ++ per transaction

buy 1 time sell 1 time is 50

some US dealers do offer real cheap e.g. $10 usd

so solution:

buy and sell infrequently

don't day trade

some stock which are good have good divident

better than CPF

hold many many years u will be ok
                        Thanks. You mean the blue chips, right? Any tips on which non-blue-chip stocks give good dividends?
                        MadScientist:
                        Who dares to buy in (big) now?
                        I buy you a drink in 6 months time and you can tell me all about it.

PM me.

Watch March 20 onwards to this coming May... 😉
                        What's happening from then till May? :?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 2 / 5

thebottomsupblogT
                        thebottomsupblog