Secondary School Selection 2012

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Secondary Schools - Selection
    770 Posts 168 Posters 192.9k Views 1 Watching
      linden2000

slmkhoo:

That's my understanding of the allocation system too. What I did with my daughter last year was to select 2 'hopeful' schools, 2 'reasonable chance' schools, and another 2 'sure' schools. This way, we got to choose all the 6 schools and not have the possibility that she got sent to a school we didn't select because all the choices aimed too high.
      Thanks for the suggestion. Never thought of it this way before.

linden2000:
        slmkhoo:

That's my understanding of the allocation system too. What I did with my daughter last year was to select 2 'hopeful' schools, 2 'reasonable chance' schools, and another 2 'sure' schools. This way, we got to choose all the 6 schools and not have the possibility that she got sent to a school we didn't select because all the choices aimed too high.

Thanks for the suggestion. Never thought of it this way before.

Honestly I am still worried...bcos the allocation of schools is done in MOE. For eg, son tries for SJI with 242, first choice school. But will my son get in if there is another another boy with 242 ? Who will get in? Sorry if this question is repeated.

• NebbermindN Offline
          Nebbermind

Honestly I am still worried...bcos the allocation of schools is done in MOE. For eg, son tries for SJI with 242, first choice school. But will my son get in if there is another another boy with 242 ? Who will get in? Sorry if this question is repeated.
          Why worry for something which is beyond your control, ie, the eventual COP?

As for your qn, yes, repeated many times...think maybe even 1 or 2 pages ago. The actual T-score has several decimal places...so see which one higher lor if it's the last slot. But I think they may just let u squeeze in.

Why worry for something which is beyond your control, ie, the eventual COP?

As for your qn, yes, repeated many times...think maybe even 1 or 2 pages ago. The actual T-score has several decimal places...so see which one higher lor if it's the last slot. But I think they may just let u squeeze in.

Thanks...so got such thing as decimal places.

verykiasumummy

i didnt know the t-score has decimals!! nobody has ever mention that to me… not even when the same group of parents chatting with me at my dd’s sch said that before…

this is a new thing that i learn today…

Simon KP

Is IB suitable for kids who are not outspoken and quiet? Do they have to do lots of presentation? How is the IB different from IP?

verykiasumummy:
                  i didnt know the t-score has decimals!! nobody has ever mention that to me.. not even when the same group of parents chatting with me at my dd's sch said that before...

this is a new thing that i learn today...
                  Is this something like car locking system (beep beep)?
                  Asked hubby how can car lock be secure when there is another similar model and brand...does this frequency thing apply to t score too?

• NebbermindN Offline
                    Nebbermind

verykiasumummy:

i didnt know the t-score has decimals!! nobody has ever mention that to me.. not even when the same group of parents chatting with me at my dd's sch said that before...

Asked hubby how can car lock be secure when there is another similar model and brand...does this frequency thing apply to t score too?

VERY THE CHIM!!! :scratchhead:

verykiasumummy

verykiasumummy:

whether it is secure or foolproof, it will never be revealed...

reminds me of the popular speech and drama centre that looks at students' \"address\" to determine how long to wait in the waiting list...

who will know the truth if we are not even sure how they do it?? no transparency...

mummy so kiasu

anneshirleygilbert:
                        Hi everyone,

I have a question as I'm not familiar with the system here. Would she stand a good chance of getting her second choice if she doesn't get her first choice? I mean, would all the first choice applicants get preference over those who put the same school as their second choice? even if her score is higher than those who had chosen that school as their first choice.
                        Maybe you have miss the page that is right in front of the content page on \"How is your child posted?\" It is merit before choice. If your child does not get her first choice school due to its places have been taken up by applicants, who have higher T score, she will be placed into her second choice which still has vacancies, even ahead of applicants who chose it as their first choice. The posting exercise starts with applicant, who has the highest T score.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 38 / 77