Secondary School Selection 2012
[quote=\"smartmummy\"]
Hi Ichigokun!
What r u doing here.go and study.doing hw cum ksp? :
Wait till you become a parent. Be a kiasu student first! :imcool: -
mummy so kiasu:
Hi Mrs Seah, Are you staying in Sengkang area? Nan Chiau must be nearby your place. Nan Chiau is a SAP school, its COP is 236. Might go up this year. Are you referring to top 10 or top 10% in her school? If she is in P5, she still have time to set goal & work towards her dream school. Good Luck![/quote]Yes. I am staying very near Nan Chiau Secondary. Hence, I hoping that my girl can do well enough to go Nan Chiau.MrsSeah:
[quote=\"jedamum\"]hm..when did your kids start knowing which sch they would like to go? peer influence?
My dd class started to talk about it in P4. Her friend and her aim is to go RGS or Dunman High. I told her to aim high is good, but must also be more realistic.
She is neither the Top 10 in her school cohort so going RGS or Dunman she must work double hard in P5 and P6.
Seeing the \"hard work\" she put, if she can go Nan Chiau, I am MORE than happy. :evil: Nan Chiau to her is more realistic.
I am referring to the top 10 of the school cohort (not 10%). :oops: I feel in order to go into RGS & Dunman, the t-score must be the top 1% - 5% of the whole Singapore so in order to be Top 5% in Singapore, she must be at least top 1-3 % in her school right. So around top 10 lor. LOL!!! My own agaration.
I told dh that I don't want to have too much hope because worry I will be very disappointed. I do have another neighbourhood school in mind if she really cannot make it to Nan Chiau. -
Not all SAP schools need to do HCL. They are rich in Chinese culture. You can find CCA such as wu shu, gui zheng, wei qi, chinese culture dance etc. Kiasu parents has SAP website. There is also info given on MOE website.parents,
i need more info on what SAP sch culture is when compared to non-SAP schs. my boy thought that SAP schs carry out subject teaching in chinese language :faint:. dunno how to use the search function which does not throw back searches for 'SAP' word.
thanks in advance!
Hi Mrs Seah, I think your estimation is quite close. My boy is in P6 & he is in Nan Chiau Pri. I am hoping that he could go Catholic High cos RI & Hwa Chong are not so realistic goals. We are also worry that he might not be able to cope & affects his morale. Nan Chiau will be our 2nd choice since it is a SAP school & we are also staying in Sengkang.
Although he is not doing HCL, we choose SAP schools for their Chinese culture & they only offer Express stream. I think Compassvale Sec School is also quite good school comparing to the other Sengkang Sec Schools. Anyway, Jia You! Have to encourage & push at the same time. Only 6 months to go. Good Luck! -
mummy so kiasu:
Good luck to your ds!!! And thank you for the recommendation of Compassvale Secondary. Wow! Their COP is around 215 - 217. I will consider Compassvale if my dd didn't do well enough.Hi Mrs Seah, I think your estimation is quite close. My boy is in P6 & he is in Nan Chiau Pri. I am hoping that he could go Catholic High cos RI & Hwa Chong are not so realistic goals. We are also worry that he might not be able to cope & affects his morale. Nan Chiau will be our 2nd choice since it is a SAP school & we are also studying in Sengkang.
Although he is not doing HCL, we choose SAP schools for their Chinese culture & they only offer Express stream. I think Compassvale Sec School is also quite good school comparing to the other Sengkang Sec Schools. Anyway, Jia You! Have to encourage & push at the same time. Only 6 months to go. Good Luck!
Actually. I am looking into Pei Hwa, quite a number of my colleague kids is there and all turn out quite good. Pei hwa will be my backup plan. -
Does any parents practise bringing your P5 to open house so that they get a feel of what school they should aim for??? Does that sound very ks???
Yes. I will bring my girl for some open house this year.
My colleague told me ALOT of parent do it. She regret she only bring her ds in P6, as some of the school open house fall around the same days hence she missed a few of her shortlisted school.
mummy so kiasu:
My dd is in a SAP primary school. From my girl school, I feel they incorporate lots of CHINESE culture in their lessons. Eg. They will have chinese speech & drama, they learn erhu in their music lesson, they have wushu in their PE lesson, they teaches weiqi in upper primary, have tea appreciation lesson etc etc.. I think that is the only different between SAP & NON-SAP school. Oh ya... and their school song is sing in CHINESE. LOL!!!!
Not all SAP schools need to do HCL. They are rich in Chinese culture. You can find CCA such as wu shu, gui zheng, wei qi, chinese culture dance etc. Kiasu parents has SAP website. There is also info given on MOE website.jedamum:
parents,
i need more info on what SAP sch culture is when compared to non-SAP schs. my boy thought that SAP schs carry out subject teaching in chinese language :faint:. dunno how to use the search function which does not throw back searches for 'SAP' word.
thanks in advance!
underthesea:
My dd wants to go to NYHS. I told her just go to Nan Chiau High can already, it so near and so convenient for her to go school.
You must be staying in Sengkang. So am I. Good Luck! :rahrah: -
MrsSeah:
Maybe both of our kids end up in Nan Chiau High. We might have seen each other in Compass Point. Jia You! All the best to your dd too! :rahrah:
Good luck to your ds!!! And thank you for the recommendation of Compassvale Secondary. Wow! Their COP is around 215 - 217. I willmummy so kiasu:
Hi Mrs Seah, I think your estimation is quite close. My boy is in P6 & he is in Nan Chiau Pri. I am hoping that he could go Catholic High cos RI & Hwa Chong are not so realistic goals. We are also worry that he might not be able to cope & affects his morale. Nan Chiau will be our 2nd choice since it is a SAP school & we are also staying in Sengkang.
Although he is not doing HCL, we choose SAP schools for their Chinese culture & they only offer Express stream. I think Compassvale Sec School is also quite a good school comparing to the other Sengkang Sec Schools. Anyway, Jia You! Have to encourage & push at the same time. Only 6 months to go. Good Luck!
consider Compassvale if my dd didn't do well enough.
Actually. I am looking into Pei Hwa, quite a number of my colleague kids is there and all turn out quite good. Pei hwa will be my backup plan.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.