Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 439.3k Views 1 Watching

Computer Addict:
      I am in Sec 2 IP now and I only get an average of 5.5 hours of sleep from school at an average time of 8pm (all the traffic jams) and I only have CCA once a week. I don't even have any tuition.

you sleep 5.5 hours of sleep, bec you're addicted to play computer games ?
      monitor your school work closely.

Mychildren

Die liao, I soon become a computer addict like this guy/gal.

Cannot resist coming here & my DH beside me asking why you write so much?
        He must think how come my wife so bossy..... Don't know how to answer.....
        :siao:

phtthp,
        You're here? I always c u reminding people about Aris... matter. You good hearted! πŸ˜‰

c ksi too, Sorry that I teased u often, feel guilty now. :imsorry:

Computer Addict

I sleep like maybe 4h during exam periods…

Not because I play too much computer or handphone games (I limit myself to 3h per weekend and 30min on weekdays) but because I am in student council. My school also ends at between 3-4pm everyday so I naturally have less time to do homework and thus my sleeping hours decrease.
          But the one thing I cannot understand is why my school gives me 2.5h of lunch break on fridays but yet dismisses me at 3pm.

Mychildren:
            Die liao, I soon become a computer addict like this guy/gal.

Cannot resist coming here & my DH beside me asking why you write so much?
            He must think how come my wife so bossy..... Don't know how to answer.....
            :siao:

phtthp,
            You're here? I always c u reminding people about Aris... matter. You good hearted! πŸ˜‰

c ksi too, Sorry that I teased u often, feel guilty now. :imsorry:
            You tease me meh? How come I don't know? Kekeke so no worries.. :hugs:

Melodies

Hi Computer Addict,

On why your school gives you 2.5h of lunch break on fridays but yet dismisses me at 3pm, I think they wanted you to socialize with other students and the school may also able to plan some special activities for the students during this period. I know one school has 1 hr recess on 1 day per week for these purposes. Personally, I think it is a good scheme but I am not sure it is still useful for you since you have many activities already. Alternatively, you may want to make full use of this 2.5hrs to do your homework instead? Good luck with your study and do take care of your sleeping and health. :hugs:

Computer Addict:
              I sleep like maybe 4h during exam periods...
              Not because I play too much computer or handphone games (I limit myself to 3h per weekend and 30min on weekdays) but because I am in student council. My school also ends at between 3-4pm everyday so I naturally have less time to do homework and thus my sleeping hours decrease.
              But the one thing I cannot understand is why my school gives me 2.5h of lunch break on fridays but yet dismisses me at 3pm.

• 2 Offline
                2ppaamm

2ppaamm:

[quote=\"ruohoo97\"]
                Put me on waiting list! Okay?

OK!

can guarantee entry to the Ivies ?[/quote]Actually for your son, yes... but a bit late leh, and you will have to give up something you are already doing so well in. There's no way I can guarantee someone from such a good school can get into Ivy, but I can guarantee someone I nurture from the start can. But no guarantee which Ivy lah... πŸ˜‚

A bit late because, I need at least 1.5 years to 2 years to do this, and that is if the child has time. Even if I start now, your child will be 16. 16 is a bad year to send a BOY to uni, because you need 4 years in American uni, which means he will finish at 19. The government will call you back for NS at about 18, and they will not give face one... so your kid might end up not finishing his degree and have to go to army. Unless... unless he puts himself on an accelerated mode in the uni, do very well so that he can accelerate to finish his degree in 3 years (very possible), but it would mean he will have to work very hard. Sometimes, not all kids are so motivated and so keen. They might want to enjoy themselves and 'smell the flowers'.

So there... for you to think about when planning your DS's uni path... stick with wherever you are, and make sure you get a GPA of at least 3.9 or 4.0 out of 4.0 (or equivalent) and ace that 'A' levels, I think no other way already... πŸ˜„

• 2 Offline
                  2ppaamm

Computer Addict:
                  I am in Sec 2 IP now and I only get an average of 5.5 hours of sleep everyday. And it isn't even exam period now. I return home from school at an average time of 8pm (all the traffic jams) and I only have CCA once a week. I don't even have any tuition.

:faint:
                  O no... exactly like my daughter told me... maybe try and ask your parents to talk to the school? If you sleep so little, it will impede your growth, and at Sec 2, it is exactly when you still have a chance to grow.

If it makes you feel better, my daughter says the same thing about her ex-classmates, and for some reason, the school sees a need to keep them till 8pm these days and for the next few months, till O levels comes. Hang in there... and sleep in between everything, maybe when you have those breaks? There is no point socializing if you are sacrificing your sleep for that, at least I believe in that... One trick my children seem to have is to sleep whenever and wherever, on the bus, on the train, in the car...just making the best out of the situation.

Dnls_mum

Computer Addict:
                    I sleep like maybe 4h during exam periods...

Then it is your choice dearie. You chose student council. Your school did not make you do it. A lot of time, student council time spent is also up to individual.

In life, we have to make choices and live with it. You made all the uncles and aunties here thought your school work is what made you stay late. So now all want to get out of Singapore becos they thot your school workload is inhuman! And their kids will suffer like u. :stompfeet: :rotflmao:

Seriously, if you finish at 3 for school it means you spend many hours doing something else if you only reach home at 8. Time management and prioritizing is the key. I know your school has short days on certain days becos of 3rd Lang. Do you do third Lang? Otherwise, what do you do with that extra time?

My kids always use long lunch breaks to do discussion project or homework. There is a day that you start at 8.45. So that morning can also be used for project or homework or catching up on sleep, unless you also use that for your student council πŸ™‚

simple2005

Melodies:
                      I thought it is quite common nowadays. No? Back to back tuition classes everyday and some are conducted at home. Am I putting my girl in the wrong school? πŸ˜“ Am I living in a different era as u? :?

simple2005:

[quote=\"Melodies\"]6 tuition is outdated now, some of them have 10 tuition (one for every language subject, two compo and two orals, 2 sciences and 2 maths with 1 based on syllabus and another for GEP ).

Estimated cost is $2.5K exuding music, dance, swimming, tennis, golf, taekwondo:yikes:

πŸ˜“ Frankly, I've never even heard of something to that extent... :siao:

[/quote]10 tuition sounds really extreme to me. And not counting those extra sports/arts classes. Hope not everyone goes to that extent. :nailbite:

Mychildren

I knew of one fellow (working adult) who went for sleep disorder course in IMH, where this fellow saw many who were still students attending this too. Scary, right? :yikes:

Don't say I anyhow said hor! I did not put this fellow name to protect this fellow hor, gender also never put here hor!

:nunchuk:
                        Parents don't make your child study till like that hor :siao: !
                        Kids don't study till :siao: !
                        Go & breathe some fresh air & has some hobbies to disstress, getting top also no use, if becomes :siao: .
                        Do something before things get worse hor........ :?:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 137 / 154