Is GEP really necessary?

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    1.5k Posts 104 Posters 439.4k Views 1 Watching
      Melodies

Thanks for the correction about the 1/3 of total independent schools instead of IP schools. Having said that, I heard that IP schools (are there < 10 IP schools? how many IS schools now and is Hwa Chong International school considered one?) are the ultimate targets for most parents and everyone tried their best to get in. also, I heard that it is abt 3% of the PLSE population which is translated to about >260 t-scorer can only get the EESIS. I know My friend’s dd who got 260 but still wasn’t awarded this EESIS. I heard that average t-score for GEPper (among abt 500 GEPpers) is <260 (in the range of 25+). Anyone can throw more lights on this? My question is why deprive those pupils from getting EESIS who have t-score in the range of better than 255 (someone told it it abt 255) for average GEPpers to 26O? Also, why there are more priority given to GEPper than mainstream in IP schools (NOT IS). If score 260 (albeit top 3% scorer), you may not be able to get into some of the good schools like RGS, NYG and RI and HCI. If you don’t think they are deprived, then I don’t know what you call this?

ruohoo97

Mychildren:
        he cannot sit long to do his schoolwork. He cannot be drill but when comes to playthings, he can work for long hours......

Think this boy I need to think of alternative routes for him. Don't think he can survive under the Singapore educational system.... :sick:
        Got to leave it to God at this moment. Gotta sleep :snooze:
        Sounds like my DS4, in other day, I asked him in frustration, \" Can you survive in Singapore educational system (same question hor), all my other kids gave the answer \"No!\" while he replied \"Yes\" !

Sometimes, I am at lost what to do with him, leave to God lah, hoping that one day he will mature.

Mychildren

ruohoo97,

Ok. I understand what you said. Will continue to pray for him and pray together with him. 😄

Mychildren

2ppaamm:
            slmkhoo:

[quote=\"Mychildren\"]To me, all my certificates are useless now as I'm now a homemaker. 😉

I really hope you aren't serious when you say that! I am one of those highly-educated homemakers that people probably think 'wasted' her education. I have been a SAHM for the past 15 yrs. I would almost certainly have tried to return to the workforce, at least part-time, if we had lived in Singapore, but with constant moves overseas and having to help kids adjust, monitor schoolwork, homeschool etc, it's not been possible to do more than the occasional small freelance job. Still, I like to think that I add value to my kids' home environment and overall education, and the things I studied do help. I know they appreciate my being at home for them (although they grumble too). And you may want to re-enter the workforce eventually. I do, when we finally return to Singapore next year.

Needless to say, I have to agree that educated home makers are the most important resources in our society, and I am not exaggerating. I say this not to downplay the importance of working mothers, nor non-educated mothers. But as a mother and considerably highly educated, I think I added more value to my family, my husband, my children and ultimately to the society much more than if I were uneducated.

I admire traveling spouses, there are so many sacrifices to make, so many things to juggle with, and so many things to deal with - the children's education as they move from place to place (I know because I have to deal with this frequently as well), keeping the family together, helping everyone get used to the new culture etc. All these are so important. Hey, even doing groceries is a challenge!

We have downplayed the role of SAHM in the name of advancement, I think to a sad outcome. Many women equate their worth to the pay check, but you know, pay check comes in different forms. It can come in the form of a scholarship, kids who need less tuition (because mother is more educated), and kids who are out of trouble (because mum is always there for them, kids who will be successful in the working world with successful careers and husbands who have better increments because family is taken care of.

I am not a SAHM, but I dare say I spend more time than many moms with my kids and do much more with them and for them. I have never felt any of my education has been wasted because I did not maximize my earning potential. The intangibles derived from the sacrifice is so worth it. The country will not function as well without these educated and super smart moms who choose to stay at home and become role models. We need them more than ever! :grphug: :celebrate:[/quote]I know I am important to my children. At least they don't need to go for tuition yet as a tutor is already at home and don't need to be put in the student care. 😂

Mychildren

Mychildren:

Maybe asking why I'm still awake. My 2nd DS still busy folding different kinds of aeroplanes. He's not as good as his eldest brother in studies because he cannot sit long to do his schoolwork. He cannot be drill but when comes to playthings, he can work for long hours......

Think this boy I need to think of alternative routes for him. Don't think he can survive under the Singapore educational system.... :sick:
              Got to leave it to God at this moment. Gotta sleep :snooze:

U only feel him cant survive coz u placed a time limit on him. Our system is unforgiving to late developers but we need not be that way.

Understand. :salute:

ruohoo97

2ppaamm:

We have downplayed the role of SAHM in the name of advancement, I think to a sad outcome. Many women equate their worth to the pay check, but you know, pay check comes in different forms. It can come in the form of a scholarship, kids who need less tuition (because mother is more educated), and kids who are out of trouble (because mum is always there for them, kids who will be successful in the working world with successful careers and husbands who have better increments because family is taken care of.

The country will not function as well without these educated and super smart moms who choose to stay at home and become role models. We need them more than ever! :grphug: :celebrate:
                In Singapore context, the govt has yet to realize the value of a SAHM. Far too many kids are left with the care of maid. I see this as greatest tragic for the kids. The current situation of enticing more mothers back to workforce, while at the same time without enough supporting system has caused a great stress to families.

I am a SAHM. I often feel myself not a good mother to my five kids. I try hard, but my kids may not appreciate. There are times I am wondering whether they will be better off without me being so Kias :scratchhead: u?

There are schools to prepare a man to become doctors, lawyers or engineers, I wish there be schools to prepare us to be mothers, :idea:

ruohoo97:
                  2ppaamm:

The country will not function as well without these educated and super smart moms who choose to stay at home and become role models. We need them more than ever! :grphug: :celebrate:

In Singapore context, the govt has yet to realize the value of a SAHM. Far too many kids are left with the care of maid. I see this as greatest tragic for the kids. The current situation of enticing more mothers back to workforce, while at the same time without enough supporting system has caused a great stress to families.

I am a SAHM. I often feel myself not a good mother to my five kids. I try hard, but my kids may not appreciate. There are times I am wondering whether they will be better off without me being so Kias :scratchhead: u?

There are schools to prepare a man to become doctors, lawyers or engineers, I wish there be schools to prepare us to be mothers, :idea:

wow! another mother of 5! :salute: :salute:
                  By the time you are done with your kids, you are ready to be the school for motherhood for your children. Personally, I feel that my mother was my best school for motherhood. This informal school is the best, consultation is free too... 😉 Now maybe ksp.com is an alternative...kekeke

beanbear

ruohoo97:
                    2ppaamm:

Motherhood, stay-at-home or go to work, deserves more recognition than is available. Mothers live with a lot of guilt about not doing enough even when we are already doing loads. Dunno whether someone implanted some gene inside us to keep striving to do more and more for our children. Anyway, I notice more mothers suffering from guilt than fathers, at least among my group of friends.

What's driving us to try so hard? I guess it's instinctive for us to want our kids to have as good or better a life than we have. No manual was given to us although it's probably the toughest or one of the toughest jobs in the world. So much to learn and most of the learning comes from making mistakes.

With 4 kids, I get to refine and adjust my parenting along the way based on the mistakes I made with older ones. Just the other day, my DS1 said to me \"So we were experiments to you, right?\" when I was sharing how I'm doing things differently for DS3. I responded, \"I didn't get any manual when I became a parent so I could only experiment!\" Parents are really scientists. We observe, we look for what are the critical variables, what results we are getting if we adjust one of the variables and then observe again....

As for rewards, ahhh, that's goes to the heart of our self-worth. It's always nice to hear words of affirmation from our kids. Without any external form of gratification, and rewards then what will be our source of gratification for this difficult work called parenthood?

Parenting geniuses, gifted kids or mainstream kids or kids with learning difficulties, - can there be a measurement for what is easier? In the same vein, can we really measure what is easier, teaching geniuses, gifted, mainstream or kids with learning difficulties? In the end what do all kids want from their parents? What do all kids want from those who teach them. My understanding of humanity so far is we all want ACCEPTANCE and unconditional LOVE. Kids, regardless of their intelligence or abilities, want acceptance from the significant adults in their lives, unconditional acceptance. Not the kind of acceptance that is dependent on what grades I get, or what school I go to.

Actually I find children accept parents unconditionally, more easily than we do our kids. At least that's my experience. They forgive me more readily when I say sorry and forgive me even when I don't say sorry. They get past my mistakes more readily. I've started to see that these things that they do to me is certainly rewarding and they've given me an education of what it means to be better human being.

Sorry if I've gone off topic. Something just prompted to write. Thanks for reading.

The journeys throughout your motherhood experience prompted you to write. :hugs:

Here's wat mine said abt that toughest job in the world..

http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=795984#p795984

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 60 / 154