Aristocare

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved GEP
    337 Posts 65 Posters 113.1k Views 1 Watching
    • O Offline
      Otah

But then hor there are kids who attended the preparatory course but still could not get thru the gep selection. And kelvin ong’s trick is to pre select the students. Tthses students could have been giffted even without the preparation course. Must have some faith that the selectionround is quite accurate to pick those who are gifted in language, math n GA . To encourage these kids to continue their sec in sbge sch which are all converted to independent sch earlier days the fees is so expensive so those who got in will be given subsidy. But they are not stupid also . Recent year only those who do will in gep ie >80% get to go ri and hci thru dsa n be awarded. And to do well ingep must really depend on their pen n paper result liao. Those who did not make it to the4 top sch later can still work hard and get in psle results which is not easy for them imagine these kids in the gep course have not been focusing on mainstream syllabus andfoundation training… Perhaps in view of all these conditions andto ensure its success ,they have to encourage the gifted kids to sign up gep programme. If without dsa and only depend on psle then one may just want to play safe and stick to mainstream elseafraid end up cant reach their shore- toptop sch.

• O Offline
        Otah

In my kids sch the two high ability classes take in44 students and that help them reduce the headcount in the other mainstream classes which i am seeing some progress in class size arrangement . The gep classes are very diff . Very vocal and noisy i heard. Some of them really need more attention. And they are doing lot more things which are non mainstream related . Their assigment are diff too eg. such as more presentation work in class…etc. how to run a class of 40 pupil like that.

weatherbee

I think all tuition teachers should have a license or something. Just like if you want to be a driving instructor, real estate agent or insurance agent, u will need to go through tests and obtain license. Don’t know why tuition teachers don’t need license.

Imami

weatherbee:
            I think all tuition teachers should have a license or something. Just like if you want to be a driving instructor, real estate agent or insurance agent, u will need to go through tests and obtain license. Don't know why tuition teachers don't need license.

Good idea and it is about time that this suggestion is looked into seriously and implemented! But having said that, will we be driving out the good tutors who can teach?

Snow Crystal

Otah:

Perhaps in view of all these conditions andto ensure its success ,they have to encourage the gifted kids to sign up gep programme. If without dsa and only depend on psle then one may just want to play safe and stick to mainstream elseafraid end up cant reach their shore- toptop sch.
              Haha I applaud your direct points - some of us can understand what you mean but it's somehow a taboo to say it so direct perhaps because it's a sensitive subject...:censored: 😉

IMHO, GEP should be a program which the top1% kids enter to enjoy and benefit because they are super fast learners and can absorb more higher level things. Like what some of the GEP parents shared, the kids were bored with normal work.

No one is doubting the need for a GEP program, neither that some kids who are very independent and can do their own projects are really getting real benefits from the program. All's well if your kid is such a kid but there are others whose kids can't cope with the program :imdrowning:

Many of us with friends who are GEP parents have heard that it is a fact that some parents are helping or even doing :yikes: the projects for their kids to mainly ensure that not only the kids do not fall into the 20% category with no CO but hopefully be the top xx% to get into that dream IP :xedfingers: I do not chide them, I emphatize with them - send kids to a prestigious program but realise kids clueless on how to go about their assignments and projects yet the stake is high - DSA for GEP is largely based on academics - P5 results and P6 Mid year GEP results are so important. So some of the poor busy parents have to roll up their sleeves to help - use up their time, energy and efforts which can better be used to relax or rest.

Also, another fact is that parents send their kids to preparatory classes to get into GEP, one (and definitely not only one) even paying $15K (up to date only) :yikes: to buy a hope... A ticket, a golden ticket which is priceless... These parents found out about the link between GEP and 80% high chance of entering top IP via DSA :idea:

Before we point fingers at these parents, let us think why do they do all these...are they really too free or too loaded :scratchhead: Hope MOE understands...

Again just my own opinion, no offense and don't flame :pokeeye: 😓 :nailbite: (personally hate to step on time bombs, have asked myself to control and don't post on such sensitive topics but occasionally can't control must voice out ... 😉)

• Z Offline
                Zeng

tuition_czar:
                Anyone read the Sunday Times today? Looks like the spotlight is painfully trained on GEP private tuition of late, especially this self proclaimed \"doctor\" who strives to \"heal the academic ailments of students\". The columnist (in my opinion) rightfully questioned the tutor's ridiculous policy of only accepting kids who meet a certain minimum grade requirement.

Btw, If you do a quick search on Google, it isn't all that difficult to discover who the Sunday Times writer was talking about.
                This was discussed previously in KSP threads:
                http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=72&t=30726&start=60
                http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=29&t=6795&start=10

3rd Sunday in a row ST is highlighting those who are selling Hope for GEP.
                Some forumers here think authorities should ban GEP training but this will be very hard to implement.

A more effective way is for ST or authorities to demystify and educate the public on exactly what these centers offer as part of training. Just checking the credentials of tutors is not enough. Is it worthwhile to pay $500 per session for these worksheets/GA tests etc? Do parents know exactly what services are offered other than faithfully paying the monthly fees and sending their kids puncturely for these lessons?

How is it possible for an untrained person to sell hope at such a high price for so many years? One may be busted but many more may be (or already) joining this very lucrative business bec hope runs eternal in the human heart.

weatherbee

Imami:
                  weatherbee:

I think all tuition teachers should have a license or something. Just like if you want to be a driving instructor, real estate agent or insurance agent, u will need to go through tests and obtain license. Don't know why tuition teachers don't need license.

Good idea and it is about time that this suggestion is looked into seriously and implemented! But having said that, will we be driving out the good tutors who can teach?

If they are good tutors and are serious about teaching, they will go and obtain the license. All MOE teachers also need to go through NIE eventually. Does it then filter out good teachers? I think we seriously need to look at this. Let private tutors go through tests or trainings or something to obtain license to teach and don't allow MOE teachers to moonlight. MOE teachers are using us taxpayers money to go through training and they get paid every month yet still want to earn more from tuition. Last time I had MOE teachers blatantly demand $80/hr but need to keep changing tuition time due to school commitment.

Imami

weatherbee:
                    Imami:

[quote=\"weatherbee\"]I think all tuition teachers should have a license or something. Just like if you want to be a driving instructor, real estate agent or insurance agent, u will need to go through tests and obtain license. Don't know why tuition teachers don't need license.

If they are good tutors and are serious about teaching, they will go and obtain the license. All MOE teachers also need to go through NIE eventually. Does it then filter out good teachers? I think we seriously need to look at this. Let private tutors go through tests or trainings or something to obtain license to teach and don't allow MOE teachers to moonlight. MOE teachers are using us taxpayers money to go through training and they get paid every month yet still want to earn more from tuition. Last time I had MOE teachers blatantly demand $80/hr but need to keep changing tuition time due to school commitment.[/quote]Don’t get me wrong, I support the licensing scheme. But because of that very good tutor I had, I wondered if some very good tutors would be turned away. But yes, 100% support the MOE Teachers cannot moonlight.

• Z Offline
                      Zeng

tuition_czar:
                      I am contemplating setting up an evaluation facility on my site where we will post objective and unbiased detailed reviews of undercover lesson sit-ins with various high profile educators (1-1 tutors and centres), though we will have to scratch our heads with regards to sourcing for willing undercover teacher/parent volunteers.

Any suggestions would be most welcome.
                      Very difficult to do when it involves students.

Maybe a better way is to get ST or some volunteers to interview parents or talk to those who are unhappy about the services and find out more for the benefit of everyone. For a start, the high cost of GEP training. Whats so special about the worksheets or teaching that parents are willing to pay up to $100-300/hr. Are parents buying into the attractive promo, cv etc. Nobody complained of Kelvin Ong speaking poor english, the cramped bedroom, teaching etc until this episode was highlighted in the press.

ks2011

Zeng:

Very difficult to do when it involves students.

Maybe a better way is to get ST or some volunteers to interview parents or talk to those who are unhappy about the services and find out more for the benefit of everyone. For a start, the high cost of GEP training. Whats so special about the worksheets or teaching that parents are willing to pay up to $100-300/hr. Are parents buying into the attractive promo, cv etc. Nobody complained of Kelvin Ong speaking poor english, the cramped bedroom, teaching etc until this episode was highlighted in the press.
                        Because these parents believed that he was teaching GEP classes at ACS.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 31 / 34