Letterland

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved English
    140 Posts 26 Posters 73.4k Views 1 Watching
      spring

It's ok. You're only teaching one child. Your own child. So to save cost, the
      first reading flashcard should suffice. Anyway, your DD will turn 3yrs in no
      time at all. If you get a product suitable for 2-yr old now, you would only
      use it a year... or maybe less. Especially since your DD seems to progress
      well. Being in Tumble Tots also help since they do Letterland Phonics in the
      centre too. Yes, for bigger groups gotta cater differently.
      Most prob i will order e flashcard with tumble tots soon. πŸ˜„

Mebbe a year or slightly more than a year.

She very kun-niang... very xiao-jie... so i thought boot camp with Tumble
      Tots would toughen her up a bit and make her more of an all rounder. She
      is great with fine motor skills at a very young age. I suppose the early intro
      to Montessori's soft skills played a big part with that and she has very gd
      attention span. She can be oblivious to everything else, like people talking
      in the background, or someone watching tv and stuff like that..... but she
      wud just place all her attention on me when i'm teaching her.

But her gross motor, tsk.. tsk.. cannot make it. πŸ˜›

Those cannot hop on one leg kind. Scared to climb... (etc)
      My dd also very xiao-jie kind. Her gross motor also....hmm...haha...
      Also not confident to do some gross motor activities like jumping...hmm.. dun tink she can hope on one leg yet. But her fine motor skill is much better, she enjoys doing them also like threading, cutting,doodling. I used to make her pick some green beans also. In fact, she likes picking small lil things like those v small dried leave scattered on the playground. :stupid: But i make sure she washes her hands when she reach home. Hmm.. do you mind sharing what are e things u did with your dds on their fine motor skills? N also, i find tat my dd is nt very interested in tracing letters, is it normal for her age or is it bcos her fine motor skill is nt gd enuff? To update, shes 27mths. But i tried finger tracing on flashcard, she quite like it.

She first attended weekly, then upgrade to twice a week... followed by 3 times a week... then when she finally asked the magic question we knew she was ready. What question, you may ask? Well, on the days she didn't need to go to school ie. Tues and Thurs, she'd ask...\"Mummy, how come i don't need to go to school today?\"

So, since she started showing she was keen and looking forward to
      go to school daily, we moved her up for daily lessons at the centre.
      Oh... for e branch tat my dd is in, they only has either once a week or daily. But it shd be uniform across all centrs rite? :? I wish they has this kind of shedule which my dd can slowly progress up.

You definitely can, spring! At the rate your DD is learning, let's move up to her pace. In Montessori we believe in teaching children the right concepts at the right time. Cos it's when they're most interested to learn about a certain subject, it's the best time for them to learn and they will pick up a lot in that span of time. It's termed as the Sensitive Periods. During this period, sometimes it takes the children almost the least effort to learn as that is the period when they absorb that topic/area best. So, i'm thinking your DDs sensitive period is NOW! So... jia-you mummy spring! :celebrate:
      Thank you! I will do my best! But actually i already got alot of info from you on hands like montessori sandpaper presentation + letterland presentation, dunno if i will hav time to do all of them πŸ˜“
      Fantastic! 😎

You're on the right track, sweetie!
      Thanks! I hope i am... πŸ˜„

Im very very easy on the housework. Hubs oso doesn't mind the own time own target kinda housework routine. Plus, he's such a doll. :hugs: He usually helps me quite a lot around the house. The bulk of the job would be the never-ending clothings.... :roll: ..... and definitely time to teach/coach the kiddies with school work & some of my own set of revision.Seems like late nights are the only quiet time of the day for this year and the next. That oso if hubs doesn't make noise with me sleeping late KSPing. πŸ˜›
      Tink you are e few of e mummies tat i know who can handle household chores and still teaches kids so well. :salute:
      Ya.... i understand e laundry part....
      My hubby is trained to do alot of things. Last time he dunno how to bathe or feed my dd, but now he is trained all rounded! πŸ˜„ But theres stil room for improvement, like his bedtime story telling, tink my dd find it boring when he read, sometimes read halfway ask mummy to read instead... but i insist my hubby to continue with it. πŸ˜›
      I made it my first priority today; to put up the brief guide on introducing Letterland for you in my post above. Hope it provides clearer picture for you on how to work with your DD in the days to come with the early stages in the scheme. Paiseh, took so long to update you on that. Well, more work for you to do now, spring! Jia-you!
      You dun hav to apologies la, u hav tuaght me alot. Moreover, everyone has their own commitment. Thanks for all your time. :hugs:
      Ya... u really had given me alot of work to do... πŸ˜“

Btw, for letterland presentation, must i show her e letter C first also or u r just showing an example?

spring:
        Most prob i will order e flashcard with tumble tots soon. πŸ˜„

Okie! πŸ˜„

spring:
        In fact, she likes picking small lil things like those v small dried leave scattered on the playground. :stupid: But i make sure she washes her hands when she reach home.
        Both of mine could even see ants jogging! :laugh:

They can also pick up dust that i must've missed sweeping up..
        But that's when they were younger and have great attention to
        small/tiny stuff... especially those that move. Luckily, they decided
        they were smart enough not to put the moving ones in their mouth
        like what they did with the non-moving ones. Hahaa! :lol:
        spring:
        Hmm.. do you mind sharing what are e things u did with your dds on their fine motor skills?
        Have ya seen my http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3607&postdays=0&postorder=asc&highlight=chopsticks&start=0 sharing?

I definitely have A LOT MORE! :!:
        But i suppose gotta save that for another thread for me to start on. πŸ˜“
        spring:
        N also, i find tat my dd is nt very interested in tracing letters, is it normal for her age or is it bcos her fine motor skill is nt gd enuff? To update, shes 27mths. But i tried finger tracing on flashcard, she quite like it.
        Normal for her age yes. Mine totally refused and beyond coaxing.
        But i just show them how i did anyway... even if they don't do at
        least they see how we do it. Eventually both did it anyhow, just
        on their own when they felt they were ready. πŸ˜‰
        spring:
        Oh... for e branch tat my dd is in, they only has either once a week or daily. But it shd be uniform across all centrs rite? :? I wish they has this kind of shedule which my dd can slowly progress up.
        Not sure about that darling.. Cause the time my DD1 was with Tumble
        Tots, still old management. Now i heard new management... :shock:
        Even all the Tumble Tots centres now renovated to like very corporate
        kinda image. I personally preferred it carpeted as compared to the neu
        laminated flooring..
        spring:
        Thank you! I will do my best!
        Better DO your best hor. :politebleah:

I did more than best to give YOU the best. Hehee.. :hugs:
        I like being of help to ONZ parents like yourself. Makes me happy. πŸ˜„
        spring:
        But actually i already got alot of info from you on hands like montessori sandpaper presentation + letterland presentation, dunno if i will hav time to do all of them πŸ˜“
        See lah... no work ask for work, right? :laugh:

Now have work to do oredi, πŸ˜“ πŸ˜“ πŸ˜“... :lol:
        Fantastic! 😎 You're on the right track, sweetie!
        spring:
        Thanks! I hope i am... πŸ˜„
        Good luck. And i'm always here.. πŸ˜‰
        spring:
        Tink you are e few of e mummies tat i know who can handle household chores and still teaches kids so well. :salute:
        Imagine... i used to do all that and WORK full time too! :faint:

And on top of it all..... add cooking to the loooong list as well! :faint: :faint:

My colleagues used to wonder how i did it too.. :lol: ... My
        answer was simply that i suppose i could do with very little
        sleep and yet work the whole clock like a bunny... ya know?
        The DURACELL battery bunny? πŸ˜‰
        spring:
        Ya.... i understand e laundry part.... My hubby is trained to do alot of things. Last time he dunno how to bathe or feed my dd, but now he is trained all rounded! πŸ˜„ But theres stil room for improvement, like his bedtime story telling, tink my dd find it boring when he read, sometimes read halfway ask mummy to read instead... but i insist my hubby to continue with it. πŸ˜›
        Buds_hubs more hands on after DD1.. and now automatic. Even more best!
        He's a doll really.. to help out with the stuff at the house. πŸ’‹
        I made it my first priority today; to put up the brief guide on introducing Letterland for you in my post above. Hope it provides clearer picture for you on how to work with your DD in the days to come with the early stages in the scheme. Paiseh, took so long to update you on that. Well, more work for you to do now, spring! Jia-you!
        spring:
        You dun hav to apologies la, u hav tuaght me alot. Moreover, everyone has their own commitment. Thanks for all your time. :hugs: Ya... u really had given me alot of work to do... πŸ˜“
        I had a feeling you liked work.. 😐
        So now..... work you sure DO have.. Hehee.. :lol:

Fun work, i hope. :celebrate:
        spring:
        Btw, for letterland presentation, must i show her e letter C first also or u r just showing an example?
        I won't be sure if your DD's centre follows the Letterland presentation
        order or do they do it in alphabetical order.. so i think better to get the
        actual line up that the centre is using so you and your DD can be on top
        of pace and revision in line with them.

But just like Montessori, the Letterland Phonics has their own set of single
        letter sounds cluster they use in their programme as well.. and /c/ starts it
        if i do remember it correctly.. πŸ™

MintyMin

Hey there buds…

Been reading tis thread n found letterland interesting… wat do u suggest i shld do for my 5yr old… since he still can’t get his ABCs right if i question him in sequence… I tink i shldnt b doing phonics for him yet since his ABCs r not well memorised… But he’s areadi in K1… am i too late in reinforcing him memory on all this Letterland alphabets? At current i’ve yet to get any Letterland products… though i’ve enquired tat they haf a store tat sells only Letterland products at Tampines 1… Popular no longer sells them.

Am a bit lost as to where i shld start now for my son… sigh…

plum-cake

celtricia:
            Been reading tis thread n found letterland interesting.. wat do u suggest i shld do for my 5yr old.. since he still can't get his ABCs

you can try 'Once upon a time in letter land' vcd/dvd. long time ago I baught the VHS at forum shopping cent. Its good for 2-6 yrs old. Its like a story introducing letter shapes n sounds, blending sounda to form simple words, alphabetical order. play this every day they will pick up very fast.

MintyMin

plum-cake:
              celtricia:

Been reading tis thread n found letterland interesting.. wat do u suggest i shld do for my 5yr old.. since he still can't get his ABCs

you can try 'Once upon a time in letter land' vcd/dvd. long time ago I baught the VHS at forum shopping cent. Its good for 2-6 yrs old. Its like a story introducing letter shapes n sounds, blending sounda to form simple words, alphabetical order. play this every day they will pick up very fast.

Oh really?! thanks a lot plum-cake.. i tink i really nid to go search for all this letterland help... lolz.. i dun wan to stress him.. yet am stressing myself.. to tell myself b more hardworking to let him learn in a fun way..

spring

Hi bud....

its been along time since i reply to this thread, or been to this forum. Has been extremely fatigue tis few weeks cos im pregnant. πŸ˜„ but all this time i hav been using e letterland method to teach my dd the letters and their sound, n im proud to say tat she has master all of them! πŸ˜‰ Really a big thank you to you buds :thankyou: I had also bought e letterland abc book n has been to her everyday now, n also playing alphabets puzzles wif her to reinforce on e name and sound.

Think e next step i wld like to do wld be e montessori sandpaper presentation, but has yet started to prepare e materials :oops:

Jus to check wif u bud... as i menion above my dd can recognise all letter shapes n link sounds to corresponding letters, must she know how to trace e letters before i can proceed in teaching her e next step of phonics which is ermm... word building rite?

spring:
                  Hi bud....

Hiyya spring darling! πŸ˜‰

spring:
                  its been along time since i reply to this thread, or been to this forum. Has been extremely fatigue tis few weeks cos im pregnant. πŸ˜„
                  :!: Wah-seh! :!: No wonder! I thought you slacking on your promise to
                  teach your DD... or perhaps... :idea: ... too busy to update me cos u
                  are toooo busy teaching your DD! Skali... now pop one more dahling!

:congrats:

You can be busy over two things at the same time leh. Pei-fu! :salute:
                  spring:
                  but all this time i hav been using e letterland method to teach my dd the letters and their sound, n im proud to say tat she has master all of them! πŸ˜‰
                  Ho YEAH!!! :celebrate:
                  spring:
                  really a big thank you to you buds :thankyou:
                  You are very welcome! Thanks for sharing with me your joy! :snuggles:
                  Well done DD! Well done, mummy! :celebrate:
                  spring:
                  I had also bought e letterland abc book n has been to her everyday now, n also playing alphabets puzzles wif her to reinforce on e name and sound.
                  I have a feeling you will be buying more when she starts showing even
                  more progress and more interest. Get pocket ready orh! πŸ˜‰
                  spring:
                  Think e next step i wld like to do wld be e montessori sandpaper presentation, but has yet started to prepare e materials :oops:
                  Oooops! :oops: Me too! I totally forgot to update that thread. Wah-seh..
                  now feel very bad liao. Must reali get back to work now that house hunting
                  more or less settled. :siam:
                  spring:
                  Jus to check wif u bud... as i menion above my dd can recognise all letter shapes n link sounds to corresponding letters, must she know how to trace e letters before i can proceed in teaching her e next step of phonics which is ermm... word building rite?
                  Belly good. I belly happy you know your steps. I feel like a proud mama now.
                  My spring has grown.. :lol: Personally i would prefer them to know the proper
                  way of tracing each letter shape a to z before proceeding to word building...
                  but should you wanna move on please please please promise me you will not
                  stop giving her small tasks or activities to promote tracing ... colouring... dot
                  to dot... etc... Hokay? It's very important. While your DD is on a roll you dun
                  stop encouraging her. Having the ability to write even pre-writing skills is as
                  important as having the ability to read. πŸ˜„

celtricia:
                    Hey there buds..

Been reading tis thread n found letterland interesting.. wat do u suggest i shld do for my 5yr old.. since he still can't get his ABCs right if i question him in sequence.. I tink i shldnt b doing phonics for him yet since his ABCs r not well memorised.. But he's areadi in K1.. am i too late in reinforcing him memory on all this Letterland alphabets? At current i've yet to get any Letterland products.. though i've enquired tat they haf a store tat sells only Letterland products at Tampines 1.. Popular no longer sells them.

Am a bit lost as to where i shld start now for my son.. sigh..
                    Ops, celtricia.. sollie... sollie... i totally didn't notice your post! :salute: :salute:

My apologies. I WILL get back to assisting you hokay..
                    i gotta go fetch DD1 from violin class now. :siam:

PS : Pls dun feel that i purposely ignored you okay dear.. Sollie.

spring

Hey bud,

yupz. I am still giving her activities like coloring, tracing lines n patterns, cutting etc. So it means i can go on to next level rite?

For word building n blending, where can i find the thread? For tis stage, using letterland to teach, will it take longer den montessori? I had also briefly seen tamarind’s blog on teaching phonics to her kids, its amazing too!

celtricia:
                        Hey there buds..

Heyya there, celtricia!

It's all quiet here now and i can finally respond to your post.
                        It is very very late response and my deepest apologies. :oops:
                        celtricia:
                        Been reading tis thread n found letterland interesting..
                        Well... it IS very interesting, especially for young / early learners! πŸ˜„
                        celtricia:
                        wat do u suggest i shld do for my 5yr old.. since he still can't get his ABCs right if i question him in sequence..
                        ABCs are really the basics to cover with children whether or not they are
                        school-going kiddies. When you say your 5-yr old cannot get it right in
                        sequence... does it mean that when you run through the alphabets with
                        him, he cannot fill the gaps... especially if you ask at random say... if you
                        ask... what comes after letter j? Just thought to clarify first prior to
                        responding to that.. paiseh. :oops:
                        celtricia:
                        I tink i shldnt b doing phonics for him yet since his ABCs r not well memorised..
                        It is a 'preferred' aspect in my personal opinion and not that i AM enforcing
                        that all kiddies MUST know all letters to perfection prior to learning phonics..
                        Meaning, it's a plus and it escalates the learning of phonics process definitely.
                        A phonics teacher most times will not have time to cover the differences btwn
                        letter and sound... that said however, there are a number of phonics methods
                        that introduces phonetic sounds by introducing the letters first. For example,
                        \"This is letter 'c'... and 'c' makes the sound /c/.\" Letterland for this matter,
                        also does a quick note on the letter before proceeding to the character it
                        represents and the sound the letter character makes.
                        celtricia:
                        But he's areadi in K1.. am i too late in reinforcing him memory on all this Letterland alphabets?
                        No. Definitely not late. I do believe in late bloomers.. take heart that with
                        his age now, his mind would be more mature to take on learning more
                        concretely and effectively. I say go with it! And jia-you ok! :rahrah:
                        celtricia:
                        At current i've yet to get any Letterland products.. though i've enquired tat they haf a store tat sells only Letterland products at Tampines 1.. Popular no longer sells them.
                        Wow! And where is this wonderful store that sells these yummy products?
                        Do share! :evil:
                        celtricia:
                        Am a bit lost as to where i shld start now for my son.. sigh..
                        You will not be lost while i'm still here for you, celtricia. I will guide you the best
                        i can... do not give up before even officially trying. You CAN do this! πŸ˜‰

Now, focus. Plan out a routine to go over his ABCs... say mebbe 2 days a
                        week.. play letter games.. i spy games.. read ABC books.. sing ABC songs..
                        work with ABC puzzles.. rainbow trace on ABC templates.. paint ABC letters..
                        make ABC letters with play dough... or if you care to... real dough and bake
                        those biscuits nice and crisp.. decorate them with m&m's and eat the letter
                        that your 5-yr old can get right.. πŸ˜„ ..use sticky foam letters on the wall
                        during bath time.. watch DVDs on ABCs... the opportunities are endless!

Dissect the 26 alphabets into smaller bite size portions.. run through a few
                        each time as not to overwhelm your child.. repeat.. reinforce.. re-design your
                        activities.. observe how your child likes to learn.. ie. with pictures, with songs,
                        with puppets, with stories... anything... just observe.. and tap on that interest..

Slowly get yourself some teaching aides to work your way to prepare yourself
                        to the next step of introducing the letter sounds. Read about the method..
                        Research on the items they have.. most times you don't need to get all that
                        is available.. just basic stuff to keep you going for a few months until your
                        next big purchase.. start with small ideas and move on to bigger projects
                        with each success.

Let me know if you need further clarifications or sharings anytime you feel you
                        are stuck or when you need the motivation... the push... to move on..
                        It is sheer pleasure having to share that moment where you made a big
                        impact in your child's journey towards literacy... the satisfaction is beyond
                        words.. :hugs:

Remember, i am here for you if you need me.. i will try to help where i can. πŸ˜„

Take care. :celebrate:

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 8 / 14