Alternative use for tuition

93 Posts 19 Posters 18.0k Views 1 Watching
      Chenonceau

Mychildren:
      Chen,

Ok, understand, not everyone can take & swallow what u said in that book. Won't ask now.
      No no no... nothing to do with what is IN the book. Message in the book goes down very well. It's just that this thread should not turn into one that markets my book. I do have another platform for that outside KSP... it's kinda :offtopic: to chat about the book here. If I lack self-discipline in this regard, Chief will discipline me. If he does that, I will die of shame.

See... I never had tuition when I was little... so I greatly believe in self-discipline. Teeheeheeheeeeeeeee!

Mychildren

Mychildren:

This is true (those in blue). Chen, did your book mention anything about this too? Then, I'll be interested to get hold of one too. šŸ˜‰

Sweet... I dun dare answer questions about my book here. People might get mad at me. How about you pop by here - http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=36240&p=848087#p848087?

Will pop later, I promised.
        But now I need to go else my children will miss me.
        Bye friends! Nice talking to all.
        In fact, I've learnt something already from beanbear & chen. šŸ˜‰

Chenonceau

beanbear:

Yes, yes my dear. Your book certainly inspired me to self reflect and made more conscious choices. Still struggling to be more joyful & encouraging. By the way, my favourite thing I'm using right now is Structured choice from your book. Works great with adults too!!
          Small word of caution here - http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?p=850088#p850088

Lilac66

I was reading the write-up on tuition in the ST today. There were 2 sec level students who are doing well in their studies but opt for tuition so that they will be disciplined to study.

The article does not state if both had tuition when they were in primary school.

I was scared. I immediately worked with dd1 to get her set a schedule to learn her spelling and tingxie and let her take responsibility. I think to start small and gradually move on to bigger stuff like her many mini tests.

I am with you on this SAHM_TAN. My first reaction when I read that these 2 Sec 2 students need tutors to discipline them to study was same as yours. If by their teens, children have so little self-discipline that they cannot carry out one of their primary responsibilities without CLOSE supervision... it is worrisome. These Sec 2 students are probably NOT destined for top management positions. When you come out to work and will only do your primary job because someone is watching you, no one will promote you.

In the short term, you get the good grades. In the long-term, life will play you out because you lack an important life skill.

Even though it was tough in the last 2 years because DS' teachers taught simple stuff and tested really hard, I didn't bother to teach him or even learn his stuff. I opened the way to resources and taught him to self-learn and self-discipline. When DD was in IP, the self-directed independent study skills helped her surpass many who scored 10 points higher than her in PSLE.

Don't shortchange your kids long-term character development for short-term grades. I don't think it is worth it.

Chen, I definitely concur. But Sumiko Tan's article today didn't help the cause leh.She commented she was grateful she had tuition for 2 subjects for which if she had failed them, she wouldn't have made it to the U, and thus would not have arrived where she she is now. She's a senior editor at SPH I believe. Like that hor, how many more people will wean the children off tuition har? :roll:

Now my DS has Chinese tuition as I do not know the right strategies to help in compo and compre. But I definitely wish that in sec school , self indep learning will take over.

SAHM_TAN

Mychildren:

[quote=\"janet_lee88\"]My hubby taught son Science since P3. Son didn't fail science but stayed in the 60 mark range :frustrated: After SA2 in P5, we surrendered and brought in tutor. It's not as simple as what his teacher said 'to just give keywords' but more like how to answer open ended questions in a systematic way.

School teachers cannot assume all students in the class have tuition and just whizz through the subject. A friend was asked by her son's teachers why his English & Science homework were not corrected and taught by tutors. This is :siao: and ridiculous !!!

Yes to those in blue, it is ridiculous!!!

It's 100% true. Incident just happened.
              So, MOE should seriously look into this. If my friend had informed the principal, will that P defend the teacher or investigate?[/quote]Did your fren reported to P or MOE? If she kept quiet and only shared among frens who don't work in MOE, MOE will not know about such incidents.

Chenonceau

Lilac:

Chen, I definitely concur. But Sumiko Tan's article didn't help the cause leh.She commented she was grateful she had tuition for 2 subjects for which if she had failed them, she wouldn't have made it to the U, and thus would not have arrived where she she is now. She's a senior editor at SPH I believe. Like that hor, how many more people will wean the children off tuition har? :roll:
                It's ok lah... you cannot control what people think because we all live different lives. As long as exams test reasonable content and teachers teach enough... then parents like you and me have freedom to choose to allow our kiddies to learn to manage without tuition. Others who want challenge and all that can still go for external classes.

The external stuff won't be tested. This is if MOE keeps its promise.

Lilac66

Lilac:

Chen, I definitely concur. But Sumiko Tan's article didn't help the cause leh.She commented she was grateful she had tuition for 2 subjects for which if she had failed them, she wouldn't have made it to the U, and thus would not have arrived where she she is now. She's a senior editor at SPH I believe. Like that hor, how many more people will wean the children off tuition har? :roll:

It's ok lah... you cannot control what people think because we all live different lives. As long as exams test reasonable content and teachers teach enough... then parents like you and me have freedom to choose to allow our kiddies to learn to manage without tuition. Others who want challenge and all that can still go for external classes.

Actually I've been hands-off for so long until I realise my DS is still scoring quite badly for Chinese compo. So since beginning of the yr (P5), he's been spending quite a whole chunk of his time doing Chinese with me , but this mum may not be as good as she thinks, so finally to lighten her load as well as DS's, 2 mths ago,we decided to outsource also even though I'm against the idea of tuition. :oops:

Chenonceau

Lilac66:

[quote=\"Lilac\"]

Actually I've been hands-off for so long until I realise my DS is still scoring quite badly for Chinese compo. So since beginning of the yr (P5), he's been spending quite a whole chunk of his time doing Chinese with me , but this mum may not be as good as she thinks, so
                    finally to lighten her load as well as DS's, 2 mths ago,we decided to outsource also even though I'm against the idea of tuition. :oops:[/quote]System changes too late for you. So do what you have to do.

Lilac66

System changes too late for you. So do what you have to do.
                      Yep, but it's better late than never for sure.

Mychildren

Lilac66:

[quote=\"Lilac\"]

Actually I've been hands-off for so long until I realise my DS is still scoring quite badly for Chinese compo. So since beginning of the yr (P5), he's been spending quite a whole chunk of his time doing Chinese with me , but this mum may not be as good as she thinks, so finally to lighten her load as well as DS's, 2 mths ago,we decided to outsource also even though I'm against the idea of tuition. :oops:[/quote]lilac,
                        No need to :oops: . If u feel there's a need, then go for it.
                        I not against the idea of tuition but as for me & my kids, we try to opt out of it unless it is necessary.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 5 / 10