PSLE 2012 - Science

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Primary 6 & PSLE
    263 Posts 75 Posters 121.6k Views 1 Watching
      rains

sammifan:
      rains:

[quote=\"Yapyap\"]My bother, whose sc teacher saw the answers, says that she said the the answer to the frog/tadpole question is that the tadpoles don't compete with the frogs for food, and if predators eat the frog, they cannot eat the tadpoles.

Eh, you want to bluff also cannot bluff until like that lah. Psle marking hasn't started and the teacher got to see the answers ah? I think even principals also cannot see yet leh.

And tadpoles and frogs eat different types of food. How can competition for food be possible?

Tadpoles eat insects and frogs eat algae or plants ah?

Hello how u know ah? Ppl who wrote that are not bluffing. They can compete for food ok?!?!? U think u marker ah? Pls keep words to urself . ANYWAY, PSLE WAS OVER LIKE A WK AGO SO WHATS THERE TO DISCUSS[/quote]Aiya, so incidental that I happen to be the marker lor - that's how I know he's bluffing! Ya lor. Psle over one week already. What's there to discuss? Then you still come and discuss for what?

• NebbermindN Offline
        Nebbermind

rains:

Aiya, so incidental that I happen to be the marker lor - that's how I know he's bluffing! Ya lor. Psle over one week already. What's there to discuss? Then you still come and discuss for what?
        😆 :rotflmao:
        Good one there!

atutor2001

My teacher told me that the answer for the frog question must be, and can only be answered in the following way (just kidding):

They live in different habitats to increase the chance of survival of its kind. During a dry spell, when all water bodies have dried up, the adult frogs burrow underground and continue to survive. The adult lay eggs in shallow ponds because there is less predators and this will increase the chance of survival of their young.

AWSP

MeKiasuLeh:

Science is too diversified a subject and MOE can only set a finite number of questions for students to complete in a fixed time frame. I also do not think MOE wanted to sieve the men from the boys so to speak but it will likely turn out this way if this forum is anything to go by.
            Do we really have so much faith that there could be no error with MOE?
            Have anyone ever wondered if there could be anything wrong with the PSLE T-score? A magic formula that no one knows but can only guessed at the working? Is it based on a normal distribution as it seems to be? What happens if the distribution is skewed to one side?
            Is there some truth that we need to reduce the weightage in our second language as the previous minister of education attempted to do so because the students' standard is too low or is there another reason?
            I have gone out of context.
            Its time to take a closer look at the frog and tadpole question. How is the marking scheme for this question? Is the examiner expecting a unique correct answer and therefore would mark all else wrong? Or is he prepared to accept all answers that are not wrong? Are the teachers communicated as to the expectation of answering open ended questions if the decision is to accept all answers that is not wrong? Are the students prepped such that they can write all reasonable answers? If the setter has intended to only accept a singular unique answer to the question according to whatever concept he imagined to be right, has he erred in not ensuring that only a single unique answer can satisfactorily answer the question?
            My 2 cents worth again 🙂

atutor2001

AWSP:

.... Is the examiner expecting a unique correct answer and therefore would mark all else wrong? Or is he prepared to accept all answers that are not wrong? Are the teachers communicated as to the expectation of answering open ended questions if the decision is to accept all answers that is not wrong? Are the students prepped such that they can write all reasonable answers? If the setter has intended to only accept a singular unique answer to the question according to whatever concept he imagined to be right, has he erred in not ensuring that only a single unique answer can satisfactorily answer the question?
              My 2 cents worth again 🙂
              I have quite good faith in the science marking scheme. They do not expect a unique answer but the main theme should be correct - for the frog question if I am not wrong, the focus should be \"survival of its kind.\"

So as long as students can support this theme with valid points, the answer should be acceptable. They will list the more \"usual points\" for markers' easy reference. If in doubt, markers can consult supervisor.

I believe the following points, together with any other valid points that can support the advantage of living in different habitats for young and adult will be acceptable :

a) do not compete from the same source of food
              b) adults can survive when there is drought
              c) less predators of young in shallow ponds

AWSP

atutor2001:

I have quite good faith in the science marking scheme. They do not expect a unique answer but the main theme should be correct - for the frog question if I am not wrong, the focus should be \"survival of its kind.\"

So as long as students can support this theme with valid points, the answer should be acceptable. They will list the more \"usual points\" for markers' easy reference. If in doubt, markers can consult supervisor.

I believe the following points, together with any other valid points that can support the advantage of living in different habitats for young and adult will be acceptable :

a) do not compete from the same source of food
                b) adults can survive when there is drought
                c) less predators of young in shallow ponds
                Really? your list is already quite long, I can add some more
                d) there are more food in the pond for the young.
                e) tadpole can feed on vegetation and food in the pond when small while frogs can feed on insects and it can increase its chance in finding flies outside of the pond.
                f) the skin of the tadpole needs to be kept wet wherease frogs are mobile enough to ensure its skin is wet.
                I am sure with more ingenuity from students all around, the list can go on and on and we are all correct and not penalised?
                But, what are we testing? There are numerous counter examples for frogs and tadpoles.
                Why is it that adult fish give birth to its young in the pond and not on land? Why does the turtle lay eggs on the beach? Why is it that caterpillar and butterfly are both on land?
                Is it just randomness of nature in the frog's evolution?
                What if we put randonmness of nature in the frog's evolution - will that be right or wrong? Why should we mark it wrong?

atutor2001

AWSP:

But, what are we testing? ....Why does the turtle lay eggs on the beach? Why is it that caterpillar and butterfly are both on land?
                  What if we put randonmness of nature in the frog's evolution - will that be right or wrong? Why should we mark it wrong?
                  You have brought up a very valid point i.e. what is the purpose of this question. Hope the authority does follow this forum and take note of your point.

AWSP

I also refer to last year’s question on being lost in the forest with inedible plants and armed with a plastic bag and cloth etc. I remembered seeing the preferred (or is it the only) answer as tying the plastic bag on the leaf and the water vapour from the stomata that condenses on the plastic bag???

What if I put "collecting morning dew with my cloth". Will that be marked right or wrong?
                    What if I decide to cut the plant, either the root or stem and squeeze out the water content? Or maybe I am more creative, I put it in the plastic bag and collect the condensation? (assuming only inedible and not poisonous)
                    what if I decide to hunt for insects and worms? The question only mentioned about inedible plants and fruits.
                    What are the marker’s expectations?
                    What are the P6 science teachers’ expectations in answering these type of questions? Are the students prepped such that their mind will not go blank from overthinking about what PSLE science wants them to write?
                    Note : that the main thrust of my argument is the last para and not a debate on the answer:)

mummy so kiasu

atutor2001:
                      AWSP:

But, what are we testing? ....Why does the turtle lay eggs on the beach? Why is it that caterpillar and butterfly are both on land?

You have brought up a very valid point i.e. what is the purpose of this question. Hope the authority does follow this forum and take note of your point.

Concern parents should write to MOE instead of just posting on this forum. Can they provide answer key to all the schools? I don't think the authority will follow on this forum.

mummy so kiasu

rains:

Aiya, so incidental that I happen to be the marker lor - that's how I know he's bluffing! Ya lor. Psle over one week already. What's there to discuss? Then you still come and discuss for what?

😆 :rotflmao:
                        Good one there!

Your profile says you are the government & now you say you are the marker. :?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 24 / 27