All About Abacus Training
There is a 3D abacus course located at Blk 340 Choa Chu Kang Loop opposite Lot1. The course is only available on Saturday and course S$100 per term. My niece and nephew is having their abacus course there and doing quite well. The teacher actually got lots of award.
Wat is a 3D abacus? I heard abt the 3G abacus. (Is abt 10 beads on the abacus.)Are they the same as 3D or wat? I gt ask my son current teacher abt 3G abacus. She told me tat currently my son is learning the 5 beads, if he suddenly change to 10 beads, he will be confuse.
Erm.. nicklesshead= chiefkiasu? :lol: btw chief, i decided to stick to the same teacher. Intinally i tot she only hv the sunday classes. =( But last sat, i told her tat sunday classes my son cant make it, so i ask she whether she gt other classes available at the moment. Tk God
She hv 1 more classes on sat but my son hv to join a new class while the class conduct on sun will be continous from where they stop currently. (means the sun classes is 5 lessons ahead compare to the sat classes)
So aft consideration, i decided to take the sat classes. bo pian :roll:
Anyway. tks chief for yr info
Hi dragon,
How old did yr niece n nephew started the classes? I not v sure when shld i intro them abacus. My elder son started abacus when he was abt 4+. (teached until i vomit bl00d) Next year CYN, my younger son will be 4 too. But he still cant count well. :roll: Too early too stress for them n me. hahaha. Too late they will look like \" uncles n aunties\" in the classes :lol:
So wat shld i do other then start drilling him wif counting n numbers? -
I think dragonball meant 3G Abacus... probably watched too many 3D anime lately
Yeah... decided to rename myself to ChiefKiasu for better fengshui... nobody seems to know who Headless Nick in Harry Potter is, anyway, and the other name sounds a bit too kinky.
Glad you managed to work things out with the abacus tutor... maybe you want to let us know her name and contact so that we can find out where else she teach, since you seem to rate her so highly.
I did try my son for about 3 months at the Mountbatten CC on Saturdays when he was in Pri 1. He was able to grasp all the fundamental training without any difficulty, and got bored with the repetitive routines quickly. I also wasn't impressed with the trainer, who was from China and appear to think that what she was teaching was such a trade secret that she refuses to demonstrate what she would be teaching in the higher level classes. So we didn't push my son to continue to the next stage. But honestly, I don't see any difference in his mathematical prowess, before and after the 3 months. Then again, maybe it was too short for any effect to take place. Or maybe he was already too old when he started (as the Shichida purists would have us believe). -
hahaha chief u so cute :lol::lol:
My son abacus teacher is currently teaching in Chua Chu Kang CC. She oso go to centre to teach too. Im not sure of her full name as we only call her Miss Tan. N i dont hv her contact no. too wor. pai seh :oops:
I only know those students which went to her centre 1 r those who wan to continous after the completion of the basic in the CC.
Miss Tan is a v nice teacher. Normally the last 15~10mins of the classes, she will teach, demonstrate n go thru wif the parents of wat she taught tat day.
IF u really interested, can try calling the CCK CC to chk wif tat teacher.
Btw chief, 3 mth is too short to see the result ba. N from wat i know from the teacher. the standard in the CC to the centre is lower. U can let yr son try the centre 1. Shld be more challenaging for him.
:lol: -
Maybe you can get Ms Tan to post her contact in this forum as I'm sure a lot of us parents are thinking of getting abacus training for their kids.
In the meantime,
Merry Christmas and a Happy 2008 to you and everyone else who is out there! -
janetfong:
I think my nephew started abacus at 5 years old. Have been doing quite well, probably the teachers make a difference. When he is doing the abacus exercise, he do it mentally, no abacus used. I have the same problem with my son 3.5 years old, doesn't count very well, originally I tried to enroll to an abacus class somewhere near my house, but got rejected because he cannot write numbers.Hi dragon,
How old did yr niece n nephew started the classes? I not v sure when shld i intro them abacus. My elder son started abacus when he was abt 4+. (teached until i vomit bl00d) Next year CYN, my younger son will be 4 too. But he still cant count well. :roll: Too early too stress for them n me. hahaha. Too late they will look like \" uncles n aunties\" in the classes :lol:
So wat shld i do other then start drilling him wif counting n numbers?
So now I am getting him to practice writing numbers. Think one way to get them interested in learning numbers is to let him count cartoons or cars or something that he likes. Need to get them interested. So every day, I spend like 10 min doing that
Need patience, sometime I also vomit blood*sigh* -
I started my both my children since they are 1 year old on Richard Scaryβs Best Counting Video. Teaches them to count from 1 to 20. They love it and my son was able to count by 2 years old.
hi dragonball
For me, im using chocolates n sweet to teach him to count. Aft teaching, i will reward him wif the candies. But hor,yr son only 3.5 years old u put in abacus classes isnt it too young? So when u intend to send him back to abacus classes again? Is it 1 time lesson per wk or wat? Did u do abacus hmwks wif him everyday?
I scare too stressful for them lei. Scare might turned him off.
Btw where u stay?
hi dragonball, what janetfong has shared is true.
I first introduced my son to abacus when he was 4, but i realised that he wasn't keen... cos the class is a sit-down environment thus at such young age, it was difficult to keep him sitting still for 1.5 hrs.
But of course all children is different...
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.