All About Abacus Training

Scheduled Pinned Locked Moved Mathematics
    360 Posts 166 Posters 437.0k Views

Judy:
      hi dragonball, what janetfong has shared is true.

I first introduced my son to abacus when he was 4, but i realised that he wasn't keen... cos the class is a sit-down environment thus at such young age, it was difficult to keep him sitting still for 1.5 hrs.

But of course all children is different... πŸ˜‰
      Yes and no. Beware of the side effects of using food. My 2.5 year old girl is one cheeky rascal. Mommy is at the top of her hierarchy of love and I'm right at the bottom. So I try to change the situation by tempting her with candies everytime I want her to learn something. Here's the conversation during last evening's dinner:

Me: OK.. swallow your food and I'll give you a lollypop later.
      Her: No response.
      Me: I thought you liked lollypops?
      Her: (Nodding vigorously) Yes, I like lollypops.
      Me: OK.. then swallow your food.
      Her: No response.
      Me: Do you like daddy?
      Her: I like lollypop.
      Me: No, daddy, do you love daddy?
      Her: I love lollypop very very much.
      Me: But daddy give you lollypops, so don't you like daddy?
      Her: Daddy is lollypop... I lick daddy... slurp slurp.

janetfong

hahahaha

Heng all my angles dont looks like a chocolate bars. :lol:

dragonball

janetfong:
          hi dragonball

For me, im using chocolates n sweet to teach him to count. Aft teaching, i will reward him wif the candies. But hor,yr son only 3.5 years old u put in abacus classes isnt it too young? So when u intend to send him back to abacus classes again? Is it 1 time lesson per wk or wat? Did u do abacus hmwks wif him everyday?

I scare too stressful for them lei. Scare might turned him off.

Btw where u stay? πŸ˜„
          I got some worksheet for him to work, so the carrot I put in front of him is his chance to play the xbox. He can only play xbox if he finish some of the worksheet. I suppose you need some bargaining chips at hand to negotiate with them. I haven't send my son to abacus course, got rejected by the school because he cannot write 1,2,3. So now I am getting him to write the numbers, hehehe, progressing, so enrolling him when the next term starts.

I think you need to make things they need to do interesting to them so that it does not look like a pain to them. I usually get my kid to count cars and animals that he is actually interested in.

Talking about stress, I suppose as long as the kid don't think you are forcing them, it should not be stressful to them. Maybe they will think this is just natural :lol:

I stayed in Choa Chu Kang

dragonball

Judy:
            hi dragonball, what janetfong has shared is true.

I first introduced my son to abacus when he was 4, but i realised that he wasn't keen... cos the class is a sit-down environment thus at such young age, it was difficult to keep him sitting still for 1.5 hrs.

But of course all children is different... πŸ˜‰
            Quite true, kids are active. My kid is actually also in the Shichida Method lesson since 1.5 years old, the parent needs to be in the class as well, and as time goes by they can stay through the 1.5 hours lesson.

If there is abacus class that allows parents in as well, they will be good.

janetfong

i hate to stay in for classes. 😞 as specially wif children. When i listen to kids noise for sometime, i feel nausea. :mrgreen:

I feel tat kids need to be tempt to learn things, specially new stuffs. But each kid r different ba. Etc my elder son, he dont like chocolate or sweet. So no matter how hard i tempt him wif sweet stuff, it dont wks. So i offer outing or movie. N it wks for him. πŸ˜„ As for my younger son, he got sweet tooth. Anything tat r sweet, will wks for him.

I dont like to use worksheet to teach them maths. I prefer use daily thing to teach them maths. Etc i give him 4 sweets then i ask him to give 2 to his brother. Then i will ask him how many sweets left n etc.

Talking abt stress, i feel sometime they need some push to show their real 'power'. Sometimes stress can wks but not always ba. Stressing them oso help to prepare them when they gtg to prmary sch too. Wat to do.. we r living in sg. πŸ˜‰

janetfong:
                i hate to stay in for classes. 😞 as specially wif children. When i listen to kids noise for sometime, i feel nausea. :mrgreen:

Speaking of which, it is the act of making parents sit in class that turns them into kiasu parents.

It happened to me when I had to sit in music class with my 4 year old boy in Yamaha. Before that, I had always treated enrichment classes as nice-to-have for children. So for the first time, I was exposed to other children, and most of them appear to already have some background in music. So while my son struggled, most of the others breezed through the lessons. It was then I realized that the world has changed - if I do not give my son a chance to build up his foundation through enrichment classes before primary school, he is going to suffer when he is compared with his peers in primary school. I don't think we had much of a choice.

janetfong

Hanor chief, nowadays kids r more stress compare to our childhood days.

N they r more n more clever n smart. I rmb there was 1 day, when my elder son came back from sch, he told he to visit a website which was recommanded by his peers. :shock: He was only 4 yrs old then.

It seems tat most parents today hv explosed the kids wif more \" high tech\" n \"high class\" stuffs. Etc computer, X-box, piano, fencing, golfing n so on.

IF my sons gtg to be liked wat i am when im in my childhood days, im afraid tat them will be struggling when they r wif their peers.

So sometimes, i really think tat if my financially cant afford to hv more kids, is beta to hv 1 or most 2 ba. So i can concentrate n invest on the 1 or 2. 😞 😞

A lot of people, especially those without kids, think that we are torturing our children with all these enrichment classes. Even the PM himself stated the case of a student who basically spend ALL his time after school with tuition, music and swimming lessons, and who had to eat his lunch in the car when being driven from one class to another.

So if we do it, we get condemned as kiasu parents. If we don’t do it and if everyone else do it, our children get marginalized in their adulthood.
                    Catch-22. Maybe the best way is to ask our children if they enjoy their enrichment classes and just let them do those they love. It’s not work if they like doing it.

janetfong

Ya lor πŸ™‚ Tats y i will ask them whether they like it or not, if not then i will withdraw them out. I feel tat is important tat they like these enrichment classes. If not, is a chores to them. πŸ˜‰

Judy:
                        Hey all, I am new to this and i am excited when i read all the contributions from you guys!

I am not the in-person for forum but i do feel that i need to share.

My son and my niece is with CMA since July 07. They teach using abacus using 2 hands.

Hm... frankly I cannot tell if it's beneficial to the children, still monitoring. But my son actually scored highest in his K2 maths exam. Though it's exam but think the teacher provide minimal guide when they do the papers.

Anyone has any recommendation on how to test my son? In order to determine if this course in beneficial?
                        Yuh hor Judy, since your son is in K2 this year, does it mean next week is his first day in Primary school? Which school he going har? Exciting right?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 3 / 36

iworkI
                        iwork