All About Active Community Leaders

3.3k Posts 266 Posters 1.1m Views 1 Watching
      tegami

titank:
      Like that meaning must be very hard working in the committee so that can be Executive Member.

Like that then can have account to login get recommendation letter.
      Any RC members starts to apply already? Can share how the process like?
      Once you are appointed as grassroot leader in any committee, you will be given a grassroots connect account. You can use the account to apply for NACLI course. For application of phase 2B, just log on during the execrise period to apply.

Whether you want to be hardworking or not depend on you. There are a lot of RCs who are mostly in the 'sleepy' mode and they just attend monthly meeting to clock their attendence.

As a community leader, you are actually managing a committee. You can be a 'sleeping' community leader or you can use the opportunity to practise leadership and management skill.

tegami

titank:
        Dear Sir,

Can explain what is the abbreviatiions as follow:

RC, WEC, CDEC, SCEC, CSC. YEC, CCC, CCMC, SCM :?

Wow entering thru Grassroot Path seem very complicated.
        If you see the previous forum thread on 25 Feb 2009 10:30 at page 4 and you will see the explanation.

Actually, all the committee serve different functions in the constituency. For joining RC, just go to talk to SCM of the community centre in your constituency. For other committees, you can go to any community centers in Singapore.

voltes5

tegami:

If you see the previous forum thread on 25 Feb 2009 10:30 at page 4 and you will see the explanation.

Actually, all the committee serve different functions in the constituency. For joining RC, just go to talk to SCM of the community centre in your constituency. For other committees, you can go to any community centers in Singapore.
          One CRITICAL thing to note here when you want to go via this route: make sure that whatever the SCM/ACM says MUST be in writing. You do not want to be treated as free labour. Try whatever means to get the agreement in writing. Take it from someone who was cheated.

chie

voltes5:

One CRITICAL thing to note here when you want to go via this route: make sure that whatever the SCM/ACM says MUST be in writing. You do not want to be treated as free labour. Try whatever means to get the agreement in writing. Take it from someone who was cheated.
            Hi voltes5,

If you get into the committee and be an executive member, surely they will update the org chart or this will be minuted right, how can they \"cheat'? Can share a bit more of your experience?

Thanks & Best Regards,
            chie

titank

Wow shocking news?Someone enter into RC & in the end did not promise anything? Like have Phase 2B for school application? Free labour to the RC committee?? 😢

sunset_dae

Im staying in bukit panjang area and the constitutency in charge of my area is holland-bukit timah.

But there are so many RC around, which one is the correct one i should join as a PV?

dreammom

If you have decided to go thr. the RC route, be prepared to contribute and stay active…if not at the end of the day., you will not be "promote" to executive members and thus unable to register under phrase 2B. One of my friend joined the RC a yr ago but was not very active and thus was not promoted, now she has no choice to register under phase 2C.

sunset_dae

wow.. seem not easy leh

i shall apply for PV lst, if not successful then go volunteer in RC

Im at the website of http://one.pa.gov.sg, where can i search the SCM contact no?

voltes5

chie:
                      voltes5:

Hi voltes5,

If you get into the committee and be an executive member, surely they will update the org chart or this will be minuted right, how can they \"cheat'? Can share a bit more of your experience?

Thanks & Best Regards,
                      chie

Sure thing.

When I apply to join grassroots, the SCM asked me why I want to do so. I told SCM that for full disclosure, I need help for Primary 1 registration coz my kid registering in 2009. SCM thanked me for being honest.

Then got offered observer status in CSC. I told SCM that CSC not counted lah and cannot get 2B recommendation. SCM say must start somewhere. Dun worry, SCM knows what I want and can progress me.

Me dumb lor...trusted SCM...and was super active. 100% attendance and volunteer here and there for all chapalang activity.

In May, I asked SCM to help me out for 2B then got shocked when told that first, i am not eligible coz less than a year. Second, CSC not counted.

I call to complain to SCM and got told that I was told these info from start. Big fat lie! I noticed something fishy when i email SCM but only get phone calls as replies. Now i think back and realize that there is deniability in a phone call. Your word against mine.

Complain to MP no use also coz policy is policy. In fairness to MPs, they tried to help but MOE policy is policy.

So I feel cheated. One joke also- SCM pretend to help me write letter to school principal to accept me. This is one big joke as principal cannot anyhow give me placing. I gave letter to principal and he practically said SCM should know this is not allowed. Just making me go in circles.

So beware if u take this route. Now, I am in Phase 2B coz of clan association. Luckily I had back up plan. Join clan...no need to do anything. Just pay annual fee. Also can get 2B.

Now u know why i feel cheated.

sunset_dae

Can anyone advise, Nanhua primary, henry park primary are under Holland bukit timah GRC?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 10 / 330

msmui.tuitionM
                        msmui.tuition