Catholic High (Primary)

1.9k Posts 150 Posters 663.0k Views 3 Watching
      meiah

jheng:
      lchunleo:

hi all,

can i check what is the pace like in the school compared to other school? is it fast pace? what is the typically day like? do anyone stayed at buangkok area (sengkang) have kid going to catholic high primary? is it very far and inconvenient? i dun own a car btw..thanks, it will help in my assessment for the school for my kid..

Hi lchunleo,

P1 & P2 is usually honeymoon years for the kids, heard there is no exam till term 4 in P2, however there is regular assessment. Kids are fast learner and adapts to enviornment faster then adult, do not be overly concern especially if they join a school from P1,they will make friends in no time. My boy used to stay in Hougang St.91 with my parents, the school bus will pick him up at 0615am and there's already a boy living in tampine on the bus. No big deal for kids as they can sleep on the bus 🙂

CHS is a good school and teacher are very responsible and concern about the progress of their students. You should not give up your 100% confirm place in CHS. CHS has an affiliated sec school & going IP soon, this is a big advantage for CHS primary boys, as they will usually have lower cut-off points for their boys to go CHS sec school compared to boys from other schools.

As Cherrygal mentioned, many will kill to get in hence consider carefully. In China people is willing to travel 2-3 hours one way on public transport to study into a good school, in Japan people travel 3-4 hours one way on the public transport to go to work, Spore is so small, put your boy on school bus. If it really gets too tough to manage then transfer him to a nearby school at a later date P3/P4.

Just my 2 cents...

For my ds1, honeymoon from p1 to p6! Went to sch half blur half the time. Little tuition. Happy life there. But supplementary classes at p5 and 6 very heavy. Now in the sec section. Ds2 also still thinks it's honeymoon! Go to sch totally blur! Now P4. Hee! Will see how it goes for him.
      We don't stay far but still they reach sch at 6.15am.

jheng

meiah:
        jheng:

[quote=\"lchunleo\"]hi all,

can i check what is the pace like in the school compared to other school? is it fast pace? what is the typically day like? do anyone stayed at buangkok area (sengkang) have kid going to catholic high primary? is it very far and inconvenient? i dun own a car btw..thanks, it will help in my assessment for the school for my kid..

Hi lchunleo,

P1 & P2 is usually honeymoon years for the kids, heard there is no exam till term 4 in P2, however there is regular assessment. Kids are fast learner and adapts to enviornment faster then adult, do not be overly concern especially if they join a school from P1,they will make friends in no time. My boy used to stay in Hougang St.91 with my parents, the school bus will pick him up at 0615am and there's already a boy living in tampine on the bus. No big deal for kids as they can sleep on the bus 🙂

CHS is a good school and teacher are very responsible and concern about the progress of their students. You should not give up your 100% confirm place in CHS. CHS has an affiliated sec school & going IP soon, this is a big advantage for CHS primary boys, as they will usually have lower cut-off points for their boys to go CHS sec school compared to boys from other schools.

As Cherrygal mentioned, many will kill to get in hence consider carefully. In China people is willing to travel 2-3 hours one way on public transport to study into a good school, in Japan people travel 3-4 hours one way on the public transport to go to work, Spore is so small, put your boy on school bus. If it really gets too tough to manage then transfer him to a nearby school at a later date P3/P4.

Just my 2 cents...

For my ds1, honeymoon from p1 to p6! Went to sch half blur half the time. Little tuition. Happy life there. But supplementary classes at p5 and 6 very heavy. Now in the sec section. Ds2 also still thinks it's honeymoon! Go to sch totally blur! Now P4. Hee! Will see how it goes for him.
        We don't stay far but still they reach sch at 6.15am.[/quote] :goodpost:
        Hi meiah, How come your boys arrive school so early? Do they take breakfast in school?

Figaro

Hi lchunleo

One good reason to consider the school is its focus on teaching values and culture. This week is Bilingual Week at school, and there was a \"xiang sheng\" session in the morning assembly. In this morning's assembly in the parade square, the Chinese HoD spoke about the \"sticker lady\", and asked the boys to give their views whether the sticker lady was right or wrong. There was no shortage of hands, and the boys who volunteered spoke in Mandarin. The school frequently talks about current affairs and uses world or Singapore events to teach the kids.

lchunleo:
          hi all,

Figaro

Hi jheng

For the IP school I think there's no affiliation to primary school. Entry by merit only, right?
            [quote]
            Hi lchunleo,

Just my 2 cents...[/quote]

chinJ1

Any comparison between Catholic High and Tao Nan? Which one has better teaching methods? My two eldest are at Catholic High but I find their teachers so so. I am thinking of putting my youngest at Tao Nan though it is a bit far for me.

alan000

In CHS, the lower primary years (P1 to P3) are not demanding. There was no need at all for DS to stay back after school. On some school days, the lower primary students are not called back at all e.g. Sports Day, Swimming Carnival, etc.

That being said, any CHS parent can tell you that it is precisely due to this "lack of need to stay back after school in CHS" that we have to undertake to ensure that their kids spent quality time at tuition centres/tuition/enrichment programmes. Sigh…How else are our kids going to do those tough papers if we as parents don’t invest in the extras? (I am sure you have seen them or bought them.)

Kudos to all the hardworking parents at CHS!

jheng

Figaro:
                  Hi jheng

For the IP school I think there's no affiliation to primary school. Entry by merit only, right?
                  [quote]
                  Hi lchunleo,

Just my 2 cents...
                  [/quote]I think so too....! I meant sec school affiliation...apologise for the confusion!!

meiah

Hi jheng,

That’s because I have to get to work very early, so they get a lift from me in the morning. Have asked the sch bus before, pickup time is 6am, reach sch 6.45am. If I send ds2 go, also leave at 6am, so no diff. Save the bus fare. As for ds1, he’s just lazy to take public transport, so he rather go earlier. Breakfast? Nah. I very much suspect that they resume sleeping at school!

meiah

alan000:
                      In CHS, the lower primary years (P1 to P3) are not demanding. There was no need at all for DS to stay back after school. On some school days, the lower primary students are not called back at all e.g. Sports Day, Swimming Carnival, etc.

That being said, any CHS parent can tell you that it is precisely due to this \"lack of need to stay back after school in CHS\" that we have to undertake to ensure that their kids spent quality time at tuition centres/tuition/enrichment programmes. Sigh...How else are our kids going to do those tough papers if we as parents don't invest in the extras? (I am sure you have seen them or bought them.)

Kudos to all the hardworking parents at CHS!
                      Alamak! Paiseh leh. I think I'm the odd one out. Just let my 2 ds blur blur go to sch!

• phankaoP Offline
                        phankao

meiah:
                        Hi jheng,

That's because I have to get to work very early, so they get a lift from me in the morning. Have asked the sch bus before, pickup time is 6am, reach sch 6.45am. If I send ds2 go, also leave at 6am, so no diff. Save the bus fare. As for ds1, he's just lazy to take public transport, so he rather go earlier. Breakfast? Nah. I very much suspect that they resume sleeping at school!
                        I thought they play soccer? haha

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 104 / 192

Monstermummy79M
                        Monstermummy79
                        rinsiderR
                        rinsider