Rulang Primary

1.6k Posts 125 Posters 561.1k Views 1 Watching
      RRMummy

GSK:

[quote=\"RRMummy\"]
      Just to prepare you also, don't put any hopes in finding out any of such info during the 2-days of registration. Office will not disclose the current breakdrown situation as seen in some other schools. Uhmmm... and no boards that you can bio also...

Sorry kaypoh here, some schs do disclose. Last yr at PH, the sch admin willingly told me over the phone the number of applicants at P2B broken down by distance, at the end of each of the 2 days.

I know that there are people with more than one P2B priority place (eg PV plus church member). So this info will help greatly in calculating the risk-benefit analysis.

Hi markfch
      Yes I heard that too but hopefully Rulang will too.
      Thanks for yr info.
      gsk[/quote]Hi markfch!! Long time no chat.

Yup, I hear you but that is exactly what I'm trying to say. When I was registering for DD last year, there was no board and the school refuse to release any such info on current status as to how many in which distance category. So it was really agonizing...

I hope that they will be more willing to share this year.

• G Offline
        GSK

Hi Silverhorse

Yes, someone told me tis yr PVs is 50. I doubt tat RC volunteer’s has the priority, as they are all falls under phase 2B.

Happy for u tat yr child gets in. U r so lucky.

As a parent, do u tink if an average child goes in, the child will find stress and difficulty in coping with the work, any advise.

Thanks
        sk

RRMummy

silverhorse:
          I remembered during 2008, the school did not know how many PVs were from the RCs. RC volunteers get 1st priority over Rulang PVs. In 2008, there were 45 PVs from Rulang and 10 from the RCs. I was one of the 15 that were outside of 2km. But thankfully, my DS got in as they had enough space in Phase 2B.

Good luck!
          Hi silverhorse,

Sorry to interrupt, but this is not true. RC volunteers do not have any advantage over PVs and vise versa. It is equal chance for both groups under the Phase 2B. The only priority is due to home distance when demand is more than supply.

But congrats!! You were really lucky! :celebrate:

silverhorse

GSK:
            Hi Silverhorse

Yes, someone told me tis yr PVs is 50. I doubt tat RC volunteer's has the priority, as they are all falls under phase 2B.

Happy for u tat yr child gets in. U r so lucky.

As a parent, do u tink if an average child goes in, the child will find stress and difficulty in coping with the work, any advise.

Thanks
            sk
            Hi SK,
            So far, there are alot of homework given by the teachers ( he's in Pr 3 now), and he's been able to cope, except in March this year, he broke down and complained too much homework. I think the child faces stress from both the parents and the teachers. I guess its our education system in Singapore. I only can encourage and motivate him!

silverhorse

RRMummy:
              silverhorse:

I remembered during 2008, the school did not know how many PVs were from the RCs. RC volunteers get 1st priority over Rulang PVs. In 2008, there were 45 PVs from Rulang and 10 from the RCs. I was one of the 15 that were outside of 2km. But thankfully, my DS got in as they had enough space in Phase 2B.

Good luck!

Hi silverhorse,

Sorry to interrupt, but this is not true. RC volunteers do not have any advantage over PVs and vise versa. It is equal chance for both groups under the Phase 2B. The only priority is due to home distance when demand is more than supply.

But congrats!! You were really lucky! :celebrate:

OK-- I may be wrong then ... sigh, the things we do for our children!

• G Offline
                GSK

Hi Silverhorse

Thanks for yr feedback.
                Very stressful nowadays - being a parent, the child and the teachers.
                Stress after stress.

gsk

RRMummy

silverhorse:
                  Hi SK,

So far, there are alot of homework given by the teachers ( he's in Pr 3 now), and he's been able to cope, except in March this year, he broke down and complained too much homework. I think the child faces stress from both the parents and the teachers. I guess its our education system in Singapore. I only can encourage and motivate him!
                  oh dear, I'm so worried for my DD.

silverhouse, may I know if it is because your child is in the top class?

RRMummy

silverhorse:
                    OK-- I may be wrong then ... sigh, the things we do for our children!

hi silverhorse,

sorry, I hope you are not offended..

I am so stress with the SA1 (yup, they call it bite-size assessment but still 40% from final year results).

I got a big shock when I saw the heuristics questions in their March paper... heuristics in first half year of P1... for sure, in my time we were no where near this kind of expectation...

now mommy also need to learn the new method to be able to coach... :slapshead:

how do you cope now that you have Science too? :scratchhead:

markfch

RRMummy:

Hi markfch!! Long time no chat.

Yup, I hear you but that is exactly what I'm trying to say. When I was registering for DD last year, there was no board and the school refuse to release any such info on current status as to how many in which distance category. So it was really agonizing...

I hope that they will be more willing to share this year.
                      I wonder what's the reason the sch didn't want to publish this info. P1 registration ranks as one of the most stressful tasks a kiasu parent has to overcome. Every bit of information helps.

Btw, how's your dd coping in Rulang? My ds in PH seems to have lots of HCL homework but very little english and even less Maths homework. You know, I used to stay just opposite Rulang but sold my flat to a family who was aiming for the sch. 😉

BeContented

Hi RRMummy,

IMO, the workload is quite heavy esp. weekends and more so when it's a long weekend. As my DD is a transfer case, the feeling is even stronger as we were so relaxed in the previous school. In the first 3 months, she cried so many times and once, I even wrote-in to request for extension. (however, when i asked around, the other mommies seems so shock that I did that 😓)

Could be cos' DD in top class, could be P4 workload is heavier, I dun know....still new to Rulang. In any case, DD has began to adapt to it......she realised she needs to work faster and not delay. So some self-discipline involved but it's good I'll say. The only issue I have is .... these days, she feels overwhelmed and does not want to do anymore stuff with me :skeptical: always claim school work enough to kill her. :faint:

One more thing, occassionally they are given higher level worksheets to do ie. P5.........stress. But if your child grow up in that culture/environment, should be able to adapt and trained by then 🙂

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 74 / 163