Rulang Primary
silverhorse:
OK-- I may be wrong then ... sigh, the things we do for our children!
hi silverhorse,
sorry, I hope you are not offended..
I am so stress with the SA1 (yup, they call it bite-size assessment but still 40% from final year results).
I got a big shock when I saw the heuristics questions in their March paper... heuristics in first half year of P1... for sure, in my time we were no where near this kind of expectation...
now mommy also need to learn the new method to be able to coach... :slapshead:
how do you cope now that you have Science too? :scratchhead: -
RRMummy:
I wonder what's the reason the sch didn't want to publish this info. P1 registration ranks as one of the most stressful tasks a kiasu parent has to overcome. Every bit of information helps.
Hi markfch!! Long time no chat.
Yup, I hear you but that is exactly what I'm trying to say. When I was registering for DD last year, there was no board and the school refuse to release any such info on current status as to how many in which distance category. So it was really agonizing...
I hope that they will be more willing to share this year.
Btw, how's your dd coping in Rulang? My ds in PH seems to have lots of HCL homework but very little english and even less Maths homework. You know, I used to stay just opposite Rulang but sold my flat to a family who was aiming for the sch.
Hi RRMummy,
IMO, the workload is quite heavy esp. weekends and more so when it's a long weekend. As my DD is a transfer case, the feeling is even stronger as we were so relaxed in the previous school. In the first 3 months, she cried so many times and once, I even wrote-in to request for extension. (however, when i asked around, the other mommies seems so shock that I did that
)
Could be cos' DD in top class, could be P4 workload is heavier, I dun know....still new to Rulang. In any case, DD has began to adapt to it......she realised she needs to work faster and not delay. So some self-discipline involved but it's good I'll say. The only issue I have is .... these days, she feels overwhelmed and does not want to do anymore stuff with me :skeptical: always claim school work enough to kill her. :faint:
One more thing, occassionally they are given higher level worksheets to do ie. P5.........stress. But if your child grow up in that culture/environment, should be able to adapt and trained by then
my ds came back from SA1 Maths today and cried. Maths is his strongest subject…!!
He has doubt over his last 3 problem sums…
My heart ache and sank…to think that he could have so many doubts in his favorite subject really crushed him… -
Wondered with so many stress and homework, do you parents still give tuition and enrichment classes for your child?
They said that since the registration is happening in the classrooms and so far away from the office, they do not have the real time info. But even so, they are still not disclosing the info even when I was registering.. so your guess is my guess... :stupid:
I wonder what's the reason the sch didn't want to publish this info. P1 registration ranks as one of the most stressful tasks a kiasu parent has to overcome. Every bit of information helps.
Btw, how's your dd coping in Rulang? My ds in PH seems to have lots of HCL homework but very little english and even less Maths homework. You know, I used to stay just opposite Rulang but sold my flat to a family who was aiming for the sch.
She is coping okay i guess... homework is at times a couple of pages maths and a couple of pages for English, but not to the extent of impossible to finish. Actually for DD, they have less CL homework.. At times no homework as teacher try to get them to finish in school.
It is the exam that I buay tahan!! DD was clearly upset yesterday after her SA1 maths (part 2). :gloomy: She said there were 4 questions she didn't know how to do.. I have since learnt to manage my expectation unlike when I heard abt her marks (before seeing her papers) for CA1 Maths. 37/50??!! How can that be!! I thought they were suppose to score 90+ and she has shown that she can do it with the practises we have at home. I was super shock when I saw the paper!! Challenging boi!! I have no idea why they put in heuristics questions in a March paper for P1!! :scared: The wonderful FT and we at home prepared for handling heuristics this time round but at last no idea what kinda Challenging Questions they came up with...
All in the name of exposure???? Well, some may say, you chose this school so you should know they have very high expectations... all I can say is that I did not imagine the expectation to be this high...it now seems that although she can handle all the questions in the SA1 past years papers still not good enough...
So now I have to learn to manage my expectation. I have never and will not pass the stress to her but try to expose her to different genre of questions... I take on the stress to plan and expose her to the questions gradually...but.. but.. seeing the poor girl so disappointed that there are so many that she doesn't know how to do and harping on it for the whole night... haiz....... so how???? :frustrated:
:imdrowning:
Hahaha... so when you sold your ex-home, you sure had enough \"demands\" eh?!! :evil: -
cwc:
Hi cwc,Hi RRMummy,
IMO, the workload is quite heavy esp. weekends and more so when it's a long weekend. As my DD is a transfer case, the feeling is even stronger as we were so relaxed in the previous school. In the first 3 months, she cried so many times and once, I even wrote-in to request for extension. (however, when i asked around, the other mommies seems so shock that I did that
)
Could be cos' DD in top class, could be P4 workload is heavier, I dun know....still new to Rulang. In any case, DD has began to adapt to it......she realised she needs to work faster and not delay. So some self-discipline involved but it's good I'll say. The only issue I have is .... these days, she feels overwhelmed and does not want to do anymore stuff with me :skeptical: always claim school work enough to kill her. :faint:
One more thing, occassionally they are given higher level worksheets to do ie. P5.........stress. But if your child grow up in that culture/environment, should be able to adapt and trained by then
I can imagine that your DD (and you) will have to readjust as this is such a \"culture shock\". :grphug: Hang in there... I did hear from a few people now that the expectations are really high and hence especially the best class has tonnes of workload.. It will only get more I suppose..
I am sure she would love to do stuff with you, all this adjustments can be really draining. :snuggles: It is great that you are there to support her. I am sure that she gets into the rhythm and then you gals can have some gal time again.
Somehow, I am no longer surprise when you said P4s are given P5 work. They say it is all in the name of exposure.. like how some other parents are sending their kids to enrichment classes and they are doing advance stuff... so like my DH said, we chose this school and with it the culture and all... good and bad I suppose... good as in you can save money on enrichment, bad as in the kids are stretched to their fullest... But some one ever said, if you don't stretch the rubber band, then how we know how far it can be stretched??
Sorry for my ranting... still can't get over the look on my DDs face last night.. -
ttyh:
oh dear... poor boi :snuggles:my ds came back from SA1 Maths today and cried. Maths is his strongest subject....!!
He has doubt over his last 3 problem sums...
My heart ache and sank...to think that he could have so many doubts in his favorite subject really crushed him....
I really don't understand why the school is upping the standard so much... I don't see the rational of setting a paper so difficult that a child who is in a top class and is good in Maths can't cope. How is the rest of the form going to handle?
The dejected looks from the kids is something I find hard to swallow... I know some will say in life everything is not smooth... but.. but... :gloomy:
Hope your DS and my DD cheers up soon... -
Yes, do cheer up....hope the kids will too.
Hee Hee....i am the 'care-free/bo-chap' type. Since I CHOSE to transfer DD, must be prepared for what comes along with the choice. While I also feel sad for the kids' to feel disheartened, believe it's good sometimes. Better to get small bumps now then to become complacent & get dump during PSLE
cwc:
Thanks cwc. TGIF :celebrate:Yes, do cheer up....hope the kids will too.
Hee Hee....i am the 'care-free/bo-chap' type. Since I CHOSE to transfer DD, must be prepared for what comes along with the choice. While I also feel sad for the kids' to feel disheartened, believe it's good sometimes. Better to get small bumps now then to become complacent & get dump during PSLE
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.