Rulang Primary
ADave:
With all due respect, whoever thinks that Rulang is less pressurizing is in for a big shock. At least not according to what my friends told me. Hopefully you went to NH @ P2A2 and not waste the chance. Lots of parents wish to have the same privilege as you.
We wanted to put him in Nan Hua Pri as my hubby is an alumni but the only setback is mandarin as mother tongue and the pressure to excel to maintain standards. So our 2nd choice is Rulang and 3rd choice is West Grove.
On 2nd thoughts, you know your kid best. So I can understand your concern. -
Hi! I have a child in P1 this year in RL. Another child of mine who is P5 has been in RL waiting list for the last couple of years. He has been doin very well in his current school. In fact he was the top student in his level for 2010. Recently I received a call fr RL sayg that he is being offered a place in RL but average class. I am in a dilemma now. With his PSLE next year, Will the change do any good to him. I dun want to put him in a worse off situation. Other than adapting to the new system I am also worried as to how his peers might react to his entry and how this will affect him. Can I have some advise plzzzzzzzzzzzz.
hshs:
Hi! I have a child in P1 this year in RL. Another child of mine who is P5 has been in RL waiting list for the last couple of years. He has been doin very well in his current school. In fact he was the top student in his level for 2010. Recently I received a call fr RL sayg that he is being offered a place in RL but average class. I am in a dilemma now. With his PSLE next year, Will the change do any good to him. I dun want to put him in a worse off situation. Other than adapting to the new system I am also worried as to how his peers might react to his entry and how this will affect him. Can I have some advise plzzzzzzzzzzzz.
I think you know your child the best.
There are cases when kids transferred into Rulang when they are in p6! -
hi. oh well yes i do read up abt Rulang's expectations too and I guess the standard is pretty high. Few of my cousins were an alumni from Rulang and spoken fondly of this school thus one of the reason it became our 2nd choice.
With all due respect, whoever thinks that Rulang is less pressurizing is in for a big shock. At least not according to what my friends told me. Hopefully you went to NH @ P2A2 and not waste the chance. Lots of parents wish to have the same privilege as you.ADave:
We wanted to put him in Nan Hua Pri as my hubby is an alumni but the only setback is mandarin as mother tongue and the pressure to excel to maintain standards. So our 2nd choice is Rulang and 3rd choice is West Grove.
On 2nd thoughts, you know your kid best. So I can understand your concern.
Believe me, I wanted so much to put him in Nan Hua. I am lucky to be given the privilege. However like I said, the only setback is taking chinese as 2nd language. We are Malay family with no expertise in that language except conversational. My son is taking chinese lessons from Berries @ Orchard and so far feedback from teacher is pretty good eventhough he can be quite active. But when i spoke to him, he gave negative vibes abt learning mandarin. So I am in dilemma. As much as i want the best for him, I dun wish to force him into something he dun want to do
Is it too young for a 4yo to tell us what they want?
ADave:
Now I understand your situation better. Agree, that's big dilemma you have there. The other issue I see in your case is that even if you qualify for P2B in your 2nd & 3rd choices, you will not have the almost 100% chance of success - unlike in NH - since their enrolment is also competitive in their own way.
hi. oh well yes i do read up abt Rulang's expectations too and I guess the standard is pretty high. Few of my cousins were an alumni from Rulang and spoken fondly of this school thus one of the reason it became our 2nd choice.
Believe me, I wanted so much to put him in Nan Hua. I am lucky to be given the privilege. However like I said, the only setback is taking chinese as 2nd language. We are Malay family with no expertise in that language except conversational. My son is taking chinese lessons from Berries @ Orchard and so far feedback from teacher is pretty good eventhough he can be quite active. But when i spoke to him, he gave negative vibes abt learning mandarin. So I am in dilemma. As much as i want the best for him, I dun wish to force him into something he dun want to do
Agree also that it pointless to force our own kids to do something that they hate. It'll only bring frustration for both parties, with little chance of success.
Guess only you can make the correct choice for your ds. The good thing is that your ds is only 4, you still have time. I just wish to share what I'll do if I were in your shoes; I hope I don't appear to be imposing my view in any way.
This is what I'll do. I'll go library and get loads of interesting chinese storybooks and make sure I (in your case will be your spouse) read to him everyday; and I mean loads of books. Most kids will love to hear their parents read to them. I'll do it consistently for 2 yrs and at the end of it, I'll seek his opinion again. For languages, I believe familiarity does not breed contempt, only favour.
If he still have reservations about learning chinese, then I'll willingly give up on the priority and go with plan B (assuming I also have worked on one along the way). -
Hi starlight 1968,
So how did the kids cope aft the trf? You have any idea how their class allocation is done in RL? Cos Some schools go strictly by the level position i.e. 1st forty go to 1st class nex 40 go 2nd class & so on. whereas sum schools mix the students of hi-MA & low-MA in average class. -
hshs:
Like other schools, the \"selection\" or sorting starts only after p2. There are top 3 classes in p3, p4, p5 and p6. The rest of the classes would be \"mixed\".Hi starlight 1968,
So how did the kids cope aft the trf? You have any idea how their class allocation is done in RL? Cos Some schools go strictly by the level position i.e. 1st forty go to 1st class nex 40 go 2nd class & so on. whereas sum schools mix the students of hi-MA & low-MA in average class.
In p5 and p6, the top 3 classes are R, U and L. The kids from other classes also perform ok LAH! -
hshs:
Hi hshs,
I can feel your dilemma.. what is the burning reason why you would still like to change school for him at this point? What does he think?
Good thing is you already have a P1 in Rulang so you can gauge the expectation and potential stress level.
I can't say how's the average class in Rulang compared to your boy's current best in his school but we always have the discussion on whether to be a big fish in a small pond or a small fish in a big pond.. If besides academic he has loads of great friends and is actively participating and representing the school in other areas maybe then best leave things as it is. He will have to worry less about adjusting and coping whilst still enjoying....most important decision I think lies in how he really feels.. but that's just me...JMHO
Some sharings here: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=566&hilit=big+fish+small+pond -
:goodpost: ..though I don't know if the reading to them part is possible since she mentioned they can do it at a conversational level.. but ya maybe see if he is keen at self-reading and ultimately I agree with markfch that the your son's feeling closer to registration would help you form a better judgement on which to go for...
Now I understand your situation better. Agree, that's big dilemma you have there. The other issue I see in your case is that even if you qualify for P2B in your 2nd & 3rd choices, you will not have the almost 100% chance of success - unlike in NH - since their enrolment is also competitive in their own way.ADave:
Agree also that it pointless to force our own kids to do something that they hate. It'll only bring frustration for both parties, with little chance of success.
Guess only you can make the correct choice for your ds. The good thing is that your ds is only 4, you still have time. I just wish to share what I'll do if I were in your shoes; I hope I don't appear to be imposing my view in any way.
This is what I'll do. I'll go library and get loads of interesting chinese storybooks and make sure I (in your case will be your spouse) read to him everyday; and I mean loads of books. Most kids will love to hear their parents read to them. I'll do it consistently for 2 yrs and at the end of it, I'll seek his opinion again. For languages, I believe familiarity does not breed contempt, only favour.
If he still have reservations about learning chinese, then I'll willingly give up on the priority and go with plan B (assuming I also have worked on one along the way).
BTW, please note that the competition for Rulang even at Phase 2B level has become really tough... -
RRMummy:
Hi HsHs,hshs:
Hi hshs,
I can feel your dilemma.. what is the burning reason why you would still like to change school for him at this point? What does he think?
Good thing is you already have a P1 in Rulang so you can gauge the expectation and potential stress level.
I can't say how's the average class in Rulang compared to your boy's current best in his school but we always have the discussion on whether to be a big fish in a small pond or a small fish in a big pond.. If besides academic he has loads of great friends and is actively participating and representing the school in other areas maybe then best leave things as it is. He will have to worry less about adjusting and coping whilst still enjoying....most important decision I think lies in how he really feels.. but that's just me...JMHO
Some sharings here: http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/forum/viewtopic.php?f=23&t=566&hilit=big+fish+small+pond
I agree with RRMummy.
It's already term 3 of P5, so need to consider carefully & best is, seek your child's opinion....is he willing? I'm more worried about the child being unhappy and not able to cope emotionally.
My P5 DS is still on waiting list right now.....but I have decided that if he is offered a place now, I will reject cos' it's already term 3 and DS objects too...doesn't want to leave his friends. Transferring means starting from ground 1, so not sure I want to subject him to sooooo much changes at this stage.
DS is also amongst the top in current school and gets to represent school in a number of events .... and it means something to him. Transferring now means he will likely lose all these opportunities unless RL recognises and offered him based on his talents.
Just to share....DS & DD are both HA (high ability) students - identified after the GEP round 2 screening. DS remained in so-so school but gets a lot of opportunities for various activities as there are only a handful of HAs. And importantly, he's enjoying them.
I actually managed to transfer DD to RL this year (P4). While she is coping, I realised there are sooooo many HAs in the school and there is no differentiation between the MOE identified vs school HAs (ie. all top 3 classes are considered HAs), so competition is really stiff..... In comparison, DD's opportunities for exposure are now very limited (almost nil) + she has to prove herself first. Lucky for me, DD is more lax and as she has yet to taste the 'joy of always being selected', the transition is easier for her. It would have been quite different for DS.....
So like what RRMummy says, most important would be your son's feelings. That will impact his transition.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.