Rulang Primary
cwc:
But I do believe, there will be some events that only MOE HAs will be invited to .... unless I am wrong. Frankly, still trying to verify. You have insights? Do share if you have :please:
I have no clue as being in the top 3 classes are identified as High Ability.
However, there are some prog that are meant for these classes and these prog are not solely related to studies.
For eg, I think the E2K (yes, though on Science but not following closely to PSLE Science) is offered to these classes. -
RRMummy:
Last yr's P1 registration was for 2004 kids - supposedly the yr of record low births - and in the yr of record low births, would you believe that we have record number of schs going for balloting?ADave:
oh yes, this balloting process has becoming more and more tougher! how do we check rate of birth for child born in 2007?
You mean this?
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/singapore-birth-rate-vs-available-primary-one-places
If anything, this proves that it is a fallacy to associate low births with low registration rates for popular schs. Popular schs will always be Hot with a capital 'H'.
Sorry actually I don't belong in this thread, kaypoh kaypoh here only so I think I better return to my own thread. :oops: -
cwc:
Well unless the teacher I happen to ask gave me the wrong info (or politically correct answer?) ........cos' I specifically asked her about the MOE HAs and School HAs.starlight1968sg:
[quote=\"cwc\"]While she is coping, I realised there are sooooo many HAs in the school and there is no differentiation between the MOE identified vs school HAs (ie. all top 3 classes are considered HAs), so competition is really stiff.....
Really?
Eg. DS gets to attend W3 cluster MO training....but DD heard nothing of it tho she is also identified.
But I do believe, there will be some events that only MOE HAs will be invited to .... unless I am wrong. Frankly, still trying to verify. You have insights? Do share if you have :please:[/quote]RL belongs to W5 cluster if I am not wrong and cluster events might differ. Also if RL has enuf students to run an enrichment prog themselve they dun have to join the cluster events. This may not be the same for schools under W3 cluster. -
hshs:
Yes, different clusters may have different events and it's true RL has enuf students to run own programs. But seems like the program is catered to the top 3 classes....that's why I think they dun differentiate. Pros and cons....more students get the opportunities also means more competition, less chances
RL belongs to W5 cluster if I am not wrong and cluster events might differ. Also if RL has enuf students to run an enrichment prog themselve they dun have to join the cluster events. This may not be the same for schools under W3 cluster.cwc:
Well unless the teacher I happen to ask gave me the wrong info (or politically correct answer?) ........cos' I specifically asked her about the MOE HAs and School HAs.
Eg. DS gets to attend W3 cluster MO training....but DD heard nothing of it tho she is also identified.
But I do believe, there will be some events that only MOE HAs will be invited to .... unless I am wrong. Frankly, still trying to verify. You have insights? Do share if you have :please:
starlight1968sg:
Really?cwc:
While she is coping, I realised there are sooooo many HAs in the school and there is no differentiation between the MOE identified vs school HAs (ie. all top 3 classes are considered HAs), so competition is really stiff.....
That is what DD's FT told me too.. -
Last yr's P1 registration was for 2004 kids - supposedly the yr of record low births - and in the yr of record low births, would you believe that we have record number of schs going for balloting?RRMummy:
[quote=\"ADave\"]
oh yes, this balloting process has becoming more and more tougher! how do we check rate of birth for child born in 2007?
You mean this?
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/singapore-birth-rate-vs-available-primary-one-places
If anything, this proves that it is a fallacy to associate low births with low registration rates for popular schs. Popular schs will always be Hot with a capital 'H'.
Sorry actually I don't belong in this thread, kaypoh kaypoh here only so I think I better return to my own thread. :oops:[/quote]I totally agree with markfch! And from the looks of it, the reduction of intakes in the Hot schools is making the crunch pretty unbearable... :gloomy:markfch:
Alamak markfch, don't go leh.. you are always welcome to chat and share here..Sorry actually I don't belong in this thread, kaypoh kaypoh here only so I think I better return to my own thread. :oops:
cwc:
But seems like the program is catered to the top 3 classes....that's why I think they dun differentiate. Pros and cons....more students get the opportunities also means more competition, less chances

Yes, DD's FT also said that the exposure for the Top 3 classes will definitely be more.. they will all be stretched more... but of course with that, comes the extra stress... -
starlight1968sg:
I always tell my DS, the top 3 classes are good and competitive, but those others are equally good, because Rulang is a very good school.
Like other schools, the \"selection\" or sorting starts only after p2. There are top 3 classes in p3, p4, p5 and p6. The rest of the classes would be \"mixed\".hshs:
Hi starlight 1968,
So how did the kids cope aft the trf? You have any idea how their class allocation is done in RL? Cos Some schools go strictly by the level position i.e. 1st forty go to 1st class nex 40 go 2nd class & so on. whereas sum schools mix the students of hi-MA & low-MA in average class.
In p5 and p6, the top 3 classes are R, U and L. The kids from other classes also perform ok LAH!
My son isn't in the top 3 classes, and I find that his workload is still heavy daily... -
With the remaining vacancies for Phase 2B = 19 (or maybe less?), do you think there will be balloting even within 1 KM? What were the previous yearsโ numbers registered for Phase 2B within 1KM?
mommyNg:
With the remaining vacancies for Phase 2B = 19 (or maybe less?), do you think there will be balloting even within 1 KM? What were the previous years' numbers registered for Phase 2B within 1KM?
The possibility is there.. but hard to say..
Sorry, no idea.. maybe you can check with the Teacher in-charge...
Good luck mommyNg! :xedfingers:
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.