Hong Wen
Aiyoh. Can bring la. I know some kids who bring. Just cannot play with it or use it during school time. How else you think the kids contact their parents when they have to stay back? But be prepared hor. Anything brought to school may be lost.
Anyway, auntie say is one thing. i don’t know how much they will listen. Best still is for the school and teachers to handle. Us parents also should not, must not go confront the kids. Else we will be the bully. Hard though it seems, best to leave it with the teachers, yah?
tell your dd to keep herself safe but know well that her family is behind her, the school will support her. Bullies usually say only. If those girls really want to leave a record of bullying, or and be caned by the p…up to them wor. If they dare retaliate after the school punishes them, they just begging to be expelled. I don’t think anyone will dare.
Last note. I don’t know if p reads this forum although I know some psg do. Still, without an email or more information, how to respond? do contact school and let them carry on.
BUT, BUT, still don’t go aggravate them la. One more friend better than one more enemy. -
Yes, agree with you. I better drop an email to the principal now since he is aware of the situation. Easier for him to investigate.
Guess my girl is also trying to be friends with them. Remember her saying she won some sweets from the Chinese new year games during recess. Then she gave them out to her friends and also give to the school bus zai zai. So i ask her did the zai zai say thank you to her? She say, the zai zai take already then after awhile start to bully her again. Hear already dunno to cry or laugh. -
Your gal is very brave. Good for her. Anyway, the best thing to hope for is that the harrassment can stop. I seriously don’t know what these kids must be thinking…she’s only a P1 afterall. What glory is there in bullying?
All the best for the upcoming year. -
A big thank you to all your help and advises. The school is really quick to react. Received a call from the school and it has been settled. My girl just came home happily and tell me that the zai zai say will be her friends next week. Dunno why next week but at least they will be friends. So glad to hear that the school bus saga is over.
hquek, my gal is 不怕死,没见过世面,only the second month in a new environment, seniors 都敢得罪!This is really a good lesson for her. Hope she remember it well.
All the best in the coming year. Now i can put my heart in the 大扫除, no more worries. :rahrah: -
Yeah! So glad for you and her.
The strangest thing is that sometimes friendships are borne of these experiences. Am so glad your gal didnt seem too traumatised.
Thanks for the updates and I am super proud that the school stepped in promptly. -
next fri will be parent-teacher-conference… and my kid is in P3… 4 different teachers… so how to meet them eh? or just meet up the FT & Chinese Tr?
FT - in classroom
Chinese Tr - in the hall
Maths Tr - ??
Science Tr - ?? -
reiner:
Not sure about now. But previously when my (then) P2 had more than 2 teachers, the FT may already feedback what the other subject teachers talked about my child. I could then make my way to the subject teacher's classroom (usually is FT of a class) and queue to take my turn if I want to hear more. It's a bit of a hassle and move around but boh pian.next fri will be parent-teacher-conference... and my kid is in P3... 4 different teachers... so how to meet them eh? or just meet up the FT & Chinese Tr?
FT - in classroom
Chinese Tr - in the hall
Maths Tr - ??
Science Tr - ?? -
I have not verified this but was told that school distributed out information leaflets for a series of talk organized by Xingzhi. These FREE talks will be happening next week, the speaker is Lee Chong Jian (Taiwanese teacher/writer). Some of the talks are on engaging the child, others on reading and writing.
Super highly recommend parents to attend. Ah Jian is an extremely engaging speaker from whom I have learnt a lot about engaging my kids. For instance, if nagging has not worked to correct certain behaviour, he will tell the audience why go down that same path. It’s quite sensible but I am guilty of not practising that.
His way is to connect with the child’s innermost desires to reach a stage where the child and parent can connect harmoniously. A bit cheem and I am definitely not doing his work any justice. If you have time, go listen (all in chinese).
It was from HWS PSG intro that I went for his talk about 2 years back, since then, I just keep going back. A bit repetitive (cos same topics), but he’s so good that I just keep returning (also see quite a few familiar faces). Also helps to refresh my understanding. -
Dear parents,
I am going to register my son for 2016 intake P1 this year, am facing a dilemma now so wish to check if anyone here faces the same situation as me.
I am an old girl of HWS, have checked that I can enrol my son in phase 2A2, however, I’m staying in Bishan, and Catholic high is just a 1 min walk from home. But I hv no affiliation with Cat high, hence will be enrolling via phase 2C, and base on past balloting history, it’s always oversubscribed.
I would love to send my child bk to my alma mater as HWS has incalcated in me a strong love in Chinese culture and language. However, if w/o car, there is no direct public transport to sch from bishan, I hv to change a few bus/mrt and walk to reach the school. If cater school bus my son will prob hv to wake up very early vs going to a sch just a stone throw away. Hence I’m torn in between now, wondering if I sld commit to HWS or try my luck at Cat high. If you were me, what would you choose? Any parents here staying >2km/further away from HWS? -
You have a choice
Either
Enrol into HWS under Phase 2A2, seek Transfer to Catholic High
from end of P1 Registration exercise ended until end of P4
(most schools do not accept Transfer in P5 / P6 Psle preparation years)
OR
Ballot less than 1 km at Catholic High, under Phase 2C for SC
If fail to ballot in :
Proceed next step to enrol your child into schools, at Phase 2C Supp.
Once withdraw from HWS to try balloting at another school,
HWS Not obliged to take your kid back anymore.
Once you choose to withdraw from Phase 2A2 :
school give your vacancy immediately created to the next available child in the queue, awaiting eagerly to enter HWS.
If fail to ballot in & want to return to HWS, School will ask you to join the waiting list, while your child has been enrolled into another school, in Phase 2C Supp.
Since you live in Bishan -
the only school that still have vacancies in Phase 2C Supp :
is Guangyang primary
http://www.kiasuparents.com/kiasu/content/bishan
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.