Ngee Ann Primary

758 Posts 72 Posters 311.0k Views 1 Watching
      terry

:sad: Im facing the same issue with my ds in 1Tenacity. Im oso doing mostly wat u guys r doing to cope.

He wakes at 6.20am and we leave the hse latest by 7am. It takes 20mins to drv to sch depending on the traffic. Tho i stay relatively near but morning rush hr is a killer. Its difficult to make him eat a complete bfast once he wakes cos normally, just awake will not hv much appetite even for adults. Smtimes he takes cereal with milo or bread or a pc of cake. But qty is v little to last him till recess. Smtimes he really no appetite so he will eat in the car or drink a packet of milo in the car.

These past wk, he told me he eats 2bowls of noodles during recess, so i gotta gv him extra $$. Evday he tells me v hungry when i pick him up. He has his lunch abt 2.30-3pm. At first i insisted he bath then eat, but i see him so hungry so chg to eat first then bath.

He oso lost abt 1kg. Now all skin and bones.

I oso dun understand y sch ends so late. Cos when i drv pass chij and haig girls, tkps, all the children alrdy left sch liao. I reckon their sch ends abt 1 or 1.15pm.

Nw he is able to zzz early by 8pm cos not much hw. Imagine, for a 7yo, by dinnertime, they will be awke for more than 12hrs liao without a nap. I oso cant tahan. Wanna bring him for tuition oso heartpain.

terry

Just tried to get into the feedback pg. cannot leh.

KP29

terry:
          Just tried to get into the feedback pg. cannot leh.

http://i47.tinypic.com/nxs4ue.jpg\">

I sent an email to [email protected]

KP29

terry:

I oso dun understand y sch ends so late. Cos when i drv pass chij and haig girls, tkps, all the children alrdy left sch liao. I reckon their sch ends abt 1 or 1.15pm.
            I agree. I think NAPS dismisses the latest among all the other neighbouring schools.
            terry:
            Nw he is able to zzz early by 8pm cos not much hw. Imagine, for a 7yo, by dinnertime, they will be awke for more than 12hrs liao without a nap. I oso cant tahan. Wanna bring him for tuition oso heartpain.
            Early bedtime ~ that's a luxury I can't give my DD. :sad:
            I don't want her to have tuition, if I can help it. As long as she can cope with her schoolwork, I am happy already. 😄

chloecube

DD is only tired on the way home, after her shower, she is "awake" again

tried to get her to nap in the noon, she cant. ended up watching tv.
              and she also very good to "tong", can stay awake till 10pm after the show!
              her sleeping time is 10pm -6.30am

i just hope the school can seriously consider shortening the hr.
              instead of just friday release at 1.15pm,hope they can change it daily

KP29

The VP replied me.

Excerpt from his reply:
                ... can bring some biscuits and eat during lessons (about mid-day) after seeking permission from the teacher.

Just for your information, pupils who receive food from their parents/guardians are usually those who have activities after school hours (e.g. CCA, remedial / supplementary lessons).

In my email, I had mentioned seeing parents/guardians bring food for their kids to eat immediately after dismissal, thus the above statement made by the VP. But I can't verify if his statement is true or not.

Aeomi

I went to speak to my son’s form teacher this afternoon. She says that the school has already received some feedback about the long school hours and they are looking into it. There is supposed to be some "changes" (not sure what!) but only from NEXT YEAR, so for the rest of this year it looks like nothing will be done?

When I asked about letting the kids take a snack in class, she said it was difficult for her to promise as it is not the school policy yet.

She did encourage me to give feedback directly to the principal or VP, so please do give your feedback! If enough of us write in, I’m sure they will have to do something earlier! Within THIS year!

terry

Is neuromath enrichment by the sch for selected pupils?

Sweetbaby456

Yes I think so.

Did your son/daughter get selected?

terry

I cancelled his outside math tuition for tis neuromath. I hope its good. The class size is kinda huge, up to 18 pupils. But the fees is half of wat im paying outside and I dun hv to ferry him here and there.

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 76 / 76