Rosyth
Dear parents,
Greetings!
My daughter was born in 2010. I am thinking of applying PV in Rosyth next year. Will that be too early? Think I can get more time to finish the 70hrs requirement before registeration.
Would anyone can advise me? -
Parry Ave:
Thanks, Parry Ave. Clueless about gep. Hopeful someone could at least condition DD when time comes, and not let her go selection \"cold\".Hi KiasuNewbie,
Yes, the p3 students will sit for an \"ability test\" during the 1st term.
Those who're strong in EL & MA will be selected for the so-called \"GEP\" training, about 50 of them.
They will be divide into 2 groups for a ~2hr EL & MA enrichment class once a week.
Critiria: EL & MA subj.
All,
I hope my info is correct ... pls feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.
Any validation appreciated. Thanks
Any validation appreciated.
Any validation appreciated. -
Hi Hgn888,
Never hear of GEP-training in Rosyth. Maybe I am not aware. What I know is that P3 students who are strong in english and maths are encourage to attend an enrichment class on Monday. Maybe this is the class that PerryAve was referring to.
Perry, pls correct me if I’m wrong.
Criteria for the above: I think it’s based on Term1 result. Never hear my ds mention about ‘ability test’ . . . or maybe he didn’t tell me lah. -
Halo Bay,
It's OK, we are just sharing what we know lor.
[quote][/quote]Yes, I am referring to the Monday 10.15-12pm enrichment class.
To what I know, the identified ones were taught on rather \"chim\" vocab/thesaurus and thinking maths.
I heard that two years ago, only 25 students were being identified based on the so-called \"ability test\". But last year, it was increased to 50 students but I don't know whether they were selected based on Term 1 result or otherwise. :roll:Bay:
Hi Hgn888,
Never hear of GEP-training in Rosyth. Maybe I am not aware. What I know is that P3 students who are strong in english and maths are encourage to attend an enrichment class on Monday. Maybe this is the class that PerryAve was referring to.
Perry, pls correct me if I'm wrong.
Criteria for the above: I think it's based on Term1 result. Never hear my ds mention about 'ability test' . . . or maybe he didn't tell me lah. -
Parry Ave:
Yes, I am referring to the Monday 10.15-12pm enrichment class.Halo Bay,
It's OK, we are just sharing what we know lor.
[quote]
To what I know, the identified ones were taught on rather \"chim\" vocab/thesaurus and thinking maths.
I heard that two years ago, only 25 students were being identified based on the so-called \"ability test\". But last year, it was increased to 50 students but I don't know whether they were selected based on Term 1 result or otherwise. :roll:Bay:
[/quote]Thanks, Perry Ave and Bay. Appreciated.Hi Hgn888,
Perry, pls correct me if I'm wrong.
Criteria for the above: I think it's based on Term1 result. Never hear my ds mention about 'ability test' . . . or maybe he didn't tell me lah. -
Vacancies for Phase 2B (14 July 2011)
Total, Phase1, P2A1, P2A2, Vacancies left for P2B
Rosyth 300 168 13 70 25
source:-
http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/admissions/primary-one-registration/vacancies/#serangoon -
Hi all,
I will be registering my boy for P1 at Rosyth under Phase 2C next week, keeping our fingers crossed for now. =/ Kinda worried and anxious too…
Anyone knows when will the balloting be scheduled?
TIA. -
Hi, I am new here. Understand from the MOE tabulation, that within 1km there is no balloting and we fall within this category. Did anyone receive any confirmation letter under phase 2b yet? After going through such stressful P1 excerise, I guess i would not want a second time. Hope to link up with new and experience parents out there.
hi,parents,
i will be shifting to a block right in front of roysth,and my dd is going to P1 in 2013.As her elder sister is in CHIJOLN in hougang,she is given a confirmed place in 2(A),however,i still wish that i can register my younger dd in Rosyth coz its so near to my place.Can any one please advise me on this?i am rather upset if i have to give up enrolling her in roysth just because of the ballot.Please advise me on this topic!!I really need help here!Thanks to you!! -
Hi auntie lynn, I feel that getting into Rosyth is getting tougher every year. Let’s take this year for example, the intake was cut by 30 numbers and in Phase 1 more than 30 places were taken up compared to 2010. The tension has accerlated from balloting in 2C within 1km to 2B between 1 to 2km. Having said that there are still ways to improve the chances of getting in, such as PV and grassroots avenues but NO GUARANTEE. FYI : Registration for PV in Rosyth take place 2 years before the registration (you can call the school to ask). Phase 2B eligiblity will be given to grassroots leaders who have served 1 year of service as an executive member in the GRC.
Considering your situation, the new place that you are moving in is about 1.7m away from CHIJOLN and your elder girl is in the school, it may be easier for logistic arrangement and the sisters can take care of each other at school.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.