Maris Stella High
cherrygal:
Yup I think the Chinese standard is comparable to other SAP schools coz I let DS do NYPS and Ai Tong Chinese exam papers and he did quite well. The questions covered the same scope. My expectation was higher and I set a difficult Chinese test paper for him personally. He didn't do too well for the paper I set. My paper was the \"more difficult\" prelim paper to wake him up.
Wow! You set your own paper? :yikes: -
24hr-mum:
to get into MSH secondary, will kids who take up higher chinese be given 2 bonus points? my girl's sch wont, as they say already got discount for affiliation, from what i heard
i won't be surprise if the affiliation cut-off does not include hmt bonus points. but there should be a standard way of computation by moe. it is not up to the individual school. it should apply across all SAP schools. -
bigfoot:
Yes I did. I based it on the format given by the teacher and the textbooks, and also incorporated some assessment questions for the compre part. I am quite free as a SAHM now ma...cherrygal:
Yup I think the Chinese standard is comparable to other SAP schools coz I let DS do NYPS and Ai Tong Chinese exam papers and he did quite well. The questions covered the same scope. My expectation was higher and I set a difficult Chinese test paper for him personally. He didn't do too well for the paper I set. My paper was the \"more difficult\" prelim paper to wake him up.
Wow! You set your own paper? :yikes:
I made it deliberately tricky so he will buck up. The actual paper seemed a breeze as compared to my paper. I think I was overly worried.
Bigfoot, you taught GEP students rite? Your coaching should be flawless... must share tips k? -
24hr-mum:
to get into MSH secondary, will kids who take up higher chinese be given 2 bonus points? my girl's sch wont, as they say already got discount for affiliation, from what i heard
Dun worry about that lah. MSHS affiliation cut-off point is already quite low so I don't think the kids actually need that extra 2 bonus points. Usually they will cham siong since same family. If still worried, you could opt for the Direct School Admissions programme? -
smurf:
Smurf,
I still hope that he can take up higher chinese in p2, but then...sigh...
SJIJ offers higher chinese in P2? Or you transferring him to SAP? -
cherrygal:
No matter what, you actually went to that extend. I must :udawoman:
Yes I did. I based it on the format given by the teacher and the textbooks, and also incorporated some assessment questions for the compre part. I am quite free as a SAHM now ma...
I made it deliberately tricky so he will buck up. The actual paper seemed a breeze as compared to my paper. I think I was overly worried.
Bigfoot, you taught GEP students rite? Your coaching should be flawless... must share tips k?
I was teaching at the secondary level and currently teaching at JC level. I am equally (if not more) clueless for primary. I did not even know what is number bond until I see it on my DS worksheet. I did think of setting my own papers but since there are so many resources (past year papers and assessment books), I decided to take the easy way.
Hi Cherrygal,
SJIJ offers higher chinese at p2 to students who show that they have the ability to take up. -
smurf:
Then SJIJ is like a SAP school leh... most other schools only offer higher chinese at P5 rite?Hi Cherrygal,
SJIJ offers higher chinese at p2 to students who show that they have the ability to take up. -
no lah, sjij where got SAP, i think most primary schools offer higher chinese at p2.
Does Maris Stella offer Higher Chinese to selected boys at P2, or are all boys supposed to take it?
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.