Marymount Convent
jnemummy:
Hi jnemummy,Hi mummies,
i heard there are bullies in most student care by the older students. Have anyone have such experience? I am hesitating to send my dd going to MCS P1 next year to student care. If i put her at home in the morning with maid - no one to help her with her homework and likely she will watch TV all the time.
bullies can b found anywhr. More imptly, we need to teach em how 2 handle bullies. :evil:
My DD has always been petite so somehow she was an easy target during her childcare days.
However, due 2 her small frame, her closer classmates were v protective of her. :boogie: We juz need 2 monitor her behaviour to ensure tat she's not keeping silent despite being bullied.
So far, she will complain abt some nitty gritty thgs but mainly verbal bullies. Nothing physical. We have oso taught her how 2 handle these kind of bullies. As parents, we can't brush off their complaints & pretend tat it was nothing.
On e other hand, unless it's somethg serious, like affecting her sch work, change in her behaviour, reluctant to go to sch/student care etc, we will not b too overly concern. :imcool:
Glad to say, so far DD1 is still enjoying her primary sch life (seven mths only lah, cos P1 nia).
As I have mentioned in my earlier posts, e teachers at e student care is quite stern. Guess tis is a strong deterrent to bullies??? :evil:
michyms:
Good to hear from your experience, thanks for sharing! Do you think that the school is doing well preparing them for PSLE? Or is it necessary to have tuition etc?[/quote]Hi michyms,Tinkerbelle:
[quote=\"michyms\"]Tinkerbelle, wow your dd is doing PSLE this year? I can imagine how kan cheong it will be for us parents... how do u prepare her for that?
Hi michyms,
Yes, DD1 is sitting for her PSLE this year. Aiyoo, feel so old already.
She's doing lots of past year papers & work assigned by sch. When she can spare me the time, I'll let her do some of the assessment books I bought for her. Many are still untouched. Will eventually leave them for DD2. Hopefully, the syllabus won't change too much. :evil:
I trust your DD will enjoy herself at MCS.
Generally speaking, MCS does prepare the gals adequately for PSLE but sad to say, with Singapore's education system, most kids (regardless of which schs they hail from) still go for some form of enrichment lessons or tuition.
Just for your reference, last year, 10 MCS gals made it to RGS.....8 thru academic and 2 via Rhythmic gym....quite an achievement huh!! :rahrah: -
hoylj:
Hello mommies, I'm an AC-sian. So, ACS (Primary) and ACS (Barker) are affiliated to ACS (Barker) and ACS (Independent) only accepts those with t-score above their high COP. I think last year's was 250. Of course, both are affiliated to ACJC. ACS (Primary) to me is more disciplined and hence more academic while Barker is traditionally more boisterous so more 'naughty' and not as good in their MT. Hope this helps to clear the air...somewhat.
Hi hoylj,
Good to see another daddy here.
Thanks for your clear explanation about ACS affiliation.
So which one are you.....the disciplined one or the boisterous one??? :evil: -
cantbearit2:
Hi cantbearit2,
He's up & running, v active & playful.Tinkerbelle:
Glad to hear that DS3 has recovered from his surgery. Hope it was not too traumatic for him. What a brave boy!!
Well, wat can we expect fr a 19mth old....
Tinkerbelle:
Thks for asking. My mum's wound has not close up yet. Doc says it will take a while. But she needs 2 go 2 e polyclinic 2 clean her wound at least 2x a wk.How's your mum after she removed her bandage today? Hope her wound has healed nicely and she can get back into the swing of things soon.
Tinkerbelle:
My DDs are fine. DD1 is super busy preparing for her prelims & PSLE. She's cool about it all. It's mummy who's more kancheong
In S'pore, i dun tink there r a lot of parents who can keep their cool wen their kiddos reach P6. Gambatte, Tinkerbelle!!! :ugogirl: More brands essence 2 keep alert??? :snooze:Tinkerbelle:
Err....ey can wear it to sch??? My DD oso bought it but not sure wen to let her wear it. True tat XS is big. More like adult size leh.... Same as yur DD2, my DD oso v petite. Going by tis sizing, my DD needs XXXS, hee.....
DD2 is still the same happy-go-lucky gal. Like your DD1, she still enjoys buying stuff back from the bookshop. She just bought the fund-raising Marymount T-shirt last week and wore it to sch today. She's very petite so the XS shirt still looks big on her. Looks like we both got DDs who are 'Shopping-Queens-in-the-making'. :faint:
Glad to hear your DS3 is back to his usual active self...keeping mummy busy.
Oh...is your mum's wound supposed to be healed by now or is it the norm to go for twice weekly dressings? Do take care.
Thanks for your moral support.... will stock up on chicken essence. Maybe closer to PSLE, I'll also need birds' nest...haha.
Ya, DD's teacher told them they can wear the fund-raising Marymount t-shirt to sch on PE days only. She even told the class they can wear it on national day celebrations on Monday but DD2's stubborn...must wear red on top and white at the bottom.
Single session on Monday again....will be a torture getting DD2 up. :snooze: Is your DD ok waking up that early? Already heard some P1/P2 parents say they're planning on missing sch that day. -
cantbearit2, thanks.
Good that the teachers are strict. Will take note of that. -
Hello mommies, Iβm an AC-sian. So, ACS (Primary) and ACS (Barker) are affiliated to ACS (Barker) and ACS (Independent) only accepts those with t-score above their high COP. I think last yearβs was 250. Of course, both are affiliated to ACJC. ACS (Primary) to me is more disciplined and hence more academic while Barker is traditionally more boisterous so more βnaughtyβ and not as good in their MT. Hope this helps to clear the airβ¦somewhat.[/quote]
Thanks for the clarification. I guess my friend was from ACS Independent, which explained why he could not register his ds for ACS as an old boy. -
Tinkerbelle, 10 girls to RGS, that is really quite impressive I must say! All the best to your dd for PSLE, and I hope she will be one of those this year to make it to RGS, if that is your aim for her :rahrah:
Hi all!
Please add me in to the list of parents whose girls will be entering P1 next year :).
Tks! -
michyms:
Tinkerbelle, 10 girls to RGS, that is really quite impressive I must say! All the best to your dd for PSLE, and I hope she will be one of those this year to make it to RGS, if that is your aim for her :rahrah:
:thankyou: for your well wishes, michyms -
Gin:
Welcome Gin.Hi all!
Please add me in to the list of parents whose girls will be entering P1 next year :).
Tks!
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.