Marymount Convent
Obisana:
:hugs: hi I'm reporting here too. My dd will join Marymount Convent School next year.Reporting here...
DD will join the school next yr...

roidman:
Hi, I used to live in that area before I got married. Haha, my parents' residence in that area. Is your dd going MCS next year too?Congrats to all parents!
Anyone residing around the vicinity of upp. Aljunied or upp. Serangoon rd? -
:congrats:
Welcome onboard everyone!
I have a P3 gal in MCS already. Next yr my younger gal will join her sis in MCS too. Maybe our gals will be in the same class. :hi5:
Hope your DDs will enjoy sch as much as my eldest gal. :rahrah: -
cantbearit2:
Hi, can share with us more about the teachers and the P1 CCAs and what Pri 1 life will be like at MCS? :please::congrats:
Welcome onboard everyone!
I have a P3 gal in MCS already. Next yr my younger gal will join her sis in MCS too. Maybe our gals will be in the same class. :hi5:
Hope your DDs will enjoy sch as much as my eldest gal. :rahrah: -
sembgal:
Well I guess every sch has its fair share of gd & bad.
Hi, can share with us more about the teachers and the P1 CCAs and what Pri 1 life will be like at MCS? :please:
Even e sch bus drivers at HG route seems better than the SRG route.
Haha...yes i have shifted fr HG to SRG. For parents who require sch bus driver, no need to fret. During orientation, ey will gif u a list on e diff bus route & contact person. However b prepared tat e timing may be relay to u v late, & I mean v late. My DD1's time, it was like 2 days b4 sch term start lor..... :slapshead: But e HG route bus uncle is pretty responsible so aft a few 'incidents', i realised tat he's not too bad aft all.
E admin people has been most helpful to my eldest gal. :snuggles: IM grateful to em for all e help ey have rendered my DD1 since P1. Yes, my DD1 is still 'bothering' em fr time to time.
As for feedback to eir gen admin email add, hm......i suspect e emails r not working?
haha...!!! ey nv once reply on any feedback i sent. So I shall not comment further.
Same for all sch in S'pore, there's gd & not so gd TR everywhere. I prefer my DD's current FT compared to e past 2 yrs. :please: She's younger and able to provide more constructive feedback to us. She is oso more pro-active in sharing. Generally e TR at MCS r pretty nurturing & ey r oso pretty responsive in eir email correspondence.
E thg i loved abt MCS is e exposure e gals r given. I loved eir Modular CCA (not juz sports but life skills, project work, etc), Mass PE, PE period, performance week, WELL week (aft mid yr exams, whole week of outings) & so on & so forth...... E niche CCA in MCS is Rhythmic Gymnastics. If yur gal is interested, ey may join on recreational basis (yes in P1) & subsequently if ey show talent, may even join e sch team.
During my DD1's time, Speech & Drama club is v much in demand so audition is required. My DD1 is too shy to go for it. :oops: Same goes for Art. Tink u have to go thru selection if e CCA is v popular.
Academic wise, e Eng paper is nv easy (not sure if it's a convent sch thgy, std v high). Chinese is manageable (mayb oso due to e fact it's a convent sch :evil: ). Maths is getting tough at P3 :nailbite: (i guess same for every sch).
Tat being said, MCS is not like those 'branded' sch where academic excellence is super duper high tat it may demoralise e avg kid. E TR will not ask u to send yur gal for tuition. Neither will ey hint to u to trf yur gal out to other sch if ey can't cope
(yes, i've heard it happen to some 'branded' sch). My DD1 is average but definitely still enjoying gg to sch everyday.
E sch will be upgrading e sch premises wen our 2007 babies are in P2 & P3 for those who are interested to know. E holding sch will b juz somewhr behind Marymount Kindergarten aft Caldecott MRT stn. If u go into e small road at Toa Payoh Rise, u will c it at e end of the road.
As for the P, she come across as a v On kind of P. Under her reins, I do c quite a fair bit of improvements in MCS. But tat's my personal opinion nia.
Wen yur gals are in MCS, mayb u can share yur comment??? :evil:
I certainly like e vibes in MCS but have always wished tat there's an affiliated sec sch which my DD can continue her learning journey with. Tis is prob e only major concern I have for my DD in MCS.
E above sharing is really my personal feel. Other existing parents, please dun :torchme: if u dun feel likewise. -
:thankyou: That's a long post. Your comments almost same as comments I heard from friends' sources before I enrolled my girl. I like Marymount Convent but the distance is going to tire my child out. Luckily next year she's in pm session so she can sleep till 9plus wake up.
I heard that they can go on a week long excursion during school holidays. I think that is a good initiative by the school. If I were to compare Tien Hsia ๅคฉไธenrichment excursion for 5 days during school holidays, I would have to pay around $300. If Marymount Convent School brings them out, the cost is very low.
Glad to hear same positive comments from some parents. I also have friend who send their girl there. They said the teachers are good and very nurturing, the girls are well behave. I really hope that our DD can have an enjoyable smooth sailing primary school life there!
Anyone knows when will the school send us the confirmation slip? Thanks -
floppy:
:thankyou:sembgal:
I went down to Marymount personally to enquire too. This is the best school that gives the good vibes. I could observe that the girls were well-behaved, admin lady was cheerful and helpful to our queries. This school is highly recommended if not for the distance. I'm still deliberating if the distance is worth it. There were only a handful of parents that went to apply this afternoon. Moreover this school is within 15mins walking distance from Caldecott mrt station.
Congrats to your success!
I do think the distance is worth it if 1. you are getting into a good school and 2. without ballot. -
My DD is in p2 this year and she loves gg to school, something Iโm happy abt rather than pushing her into top school like my elder son had, and ended him having an unhappy 5years (hell started in p2 when high scores were emphasized). Really regretted. Teachers are strict but approachable.
CCA wise she wasnt selected for dance club last year but this year school chose her to join. So if yr DD wasnโt selected in 1st yr for preferred CCA, donโt fret there may be another chance fwlg year.
Overall thumbs up for MCS! -
chubby mum:
Hi Chubby Mum,My DD is in p2 this year and she loves gg to school, something I'm happy abt rather than pushing her into top school like my elder son had, and ended him having an unhappy 5years (hell started in p2 when high scores were emphasized). Really regretted. Teachers are strict but approachable.
CCA wise she wasnt selected for dance club last year but this year school chose her to join. So if yr DD wasn't selected in 1st yr for preferred CCA, don't fret there may be another chance fwlg year.
Overall thumbs up for MCS!
Can you reveal (or just PM) which top school your elder son went to? Want to avoid it in future.
Also, I'm happy for your gal.
Thanks.
Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.