Top schools obsession!

123 Posts 33 Posters 21.9k Views 1 Watching
      dorisp

crony.in.ksp:
      Most high end cars have keyless entry and ignition. Showing car key or key fob means not driving high end car. So what is the envy all about ?

Ya lor, even higher than that is ah mah holding the car keys, PA holding handphone and maid holding the umbrella so don't need sunglasses that covers any part of the face at all......

Mdm Koh

I feel that wanting to enroll our students in good schools is not a big problem, because we all want the best for our kids. Recently, though, I have come across ads where tuition agencies state that they only want to hire tutors from ‘top JCs’. They are even so bold as to list down fewer than five JCs.

I think that is already crossing the line over to what is known as discriminatory practices at work. What if one day other companies follow suit and declare that they only want employees from RJ, HCI and VJ?

I understand that they are doing so because they perceive that having tutors from these schools may earn them more profits, but it’s both unethical and ridiculous. Shouldn’t they consider the applicants’ results instead? Their limited application criterion suggests that they would rather hire a student from HCI who got 4 B’s than a student from SRJC who got all A’s.

It’s all very dubious.

Joule

Mdm Koh:
          Their limited application criterion suggests that they would rather hire a student from HCI who got 4 B's than a student from SRJC who got all A's.

It's all very dubious.
          mdm. this is called marketing. don't have demand, will not have supply

don't know where I heard (probably here) that there was 1 teacher teaching in an 'top school' that revealed to the class she studied in a neighbourhood school. And then 1 of the student so happen to told their parents, who then proceeded to complain to school management and request the school to 'remove' that teacher?

since top tuition center (and top school) 'attracts' this kind of parents, it may just be better to kill the potential problem at its roots

not say I wan to say but during CNY it is a good time to hear my relatives (who are verykiasumummies) talk about this kind of thing. hee hee hee

Mdm Koh

Joule:

don't know where I heard (probably here) that there was 1 teacher teaching in an 'top school' that revealed to the class she studied in a neighbourhood school. And then 1 of the student so happen to told their parents, who then proceeded to complain to school management and request the school to 'remove' that teacher?

since top tuition center (and top school) 'attracts' this kind of parents, it may just be better to kill the potential problem at its roots
            Oh no, and how did the principal respond?

I think that parents who do that are misguided? :oops: The secondary schools or JCs that teachers attended are irrelevant once they've attained university degrees and teaching diplomas. Parents should assess them based on their teaching skills and higher education results.

The only way in which one's secondary school may be relevant for a career is for networking with the alumni. I don't think coming from a 'top school' adds any real value to the teaching or tutoring service.

But how to change parents' attitudes? I haven't thought of an answer yet. 😂

pirate

Mdm Koh:

Every subject the kid goes to a tuition centre for will get a +1 towards the L1R5. In the case of primary schools, each subject will get a -10 towards the T-score. :evil:

Joule

pirate:
                Mdm Koh:

Every subject the kid goes to a tuition centre for will get a +1 towards the L1R5. In the case of primary schools, each subject will get a -10 towards the T-score. :evil:

I regret not ownself go to tuition center when I was taking O level, maybe I can squeeze out 6 extra points and then go RJC

nms1

Mdm Koh:
                  Joule:

Oh no, and how did the principal respond?

I think that parents who do that are misguided? :oops: The secondary schools or JCs that teachers attended are irrelevant once they've attained university degrees and teaching diplomas. Parents should assess them based on their teaching skills and higher education results.

The only way in which one's secondary school may be relevant for a career is for networking with the alumni. I don't think coming from a 'top school' adds any real value to the teaching or tutoring service.

True - the school that you went to has absolutely nothing to do with your teaching ability. And if you think about it, you may also find better teachers in some of the \"non-top\" schools as they are more experienced in working with those of lesser ability, those without support at home or tuition.

KSP

firefly38:
                    vinegar:

aiya,typo...BMW la...

YES,lots of them show their car keys....and ex h/phone.....LV handbag

'Ex-h/phone'? Now still fashion LV meh??
                    Wa, why you spend so much time noticing what other people hold in their hands??? :siam:

:slapshead: why top schools topic become top brands topic....

but i really saw some ppl carry iphone/ipad with LV case..... AND IS FROM FATHER!!! 😆 :rotflmao:

for some who really dun know what is LV (maybe act blur).... the design is like a chess board but in deep and light brown colour....

anyway i dun pay special attention for car plate start with SXXxxxxX something.... coz no diff as anyone else.... only those with special character ones that i must give way otherwise may get a ticket for blocking them..... :siam: :rotflmao:

Joule

[quote]but i really saw some ppl carry iphone/ipad with LV case..... AND IS FROM FATHER!!! 😆 :rotflmao: [/quote]but these iphone/ipad cases could be genuine imitations or the chatuchak variety. mix and match, they will never be able to tell if it's done correctly 😉

Fresco

Joule:
                        [quote]but i really saw some ppl carry iphone/ipad with LV case..... AND IS FROM FATHER!!! 😆 :rotflmao:
                        but these iphone/ipad cases could be genuine imitations or the chatuchak variety. mix and match, they will never be able to tell if it's done correctly 😉[/quote]Precisely, why topic of top school obsession discussion side tracked to disgruntled views of richie rich parents' flaunting of branded accessories and cars??? Come on, LV bags are not all that expensive after all if even people taking buses and MRTs are using them. Half the time, most of these accessories are fakes if you scrutinize them closely. So what is the big deal? I have seen a parent at HCI carrying a LV bag filling up forms to apply for bursary and financial assistance for her kid. I rolled my eyes as that gesture alone spoke volumes about the authenticity of the bag she was carrying. People can afford to buy a LV bag but at the same time seek financial assistance on school fees? These people seriously need to set their priorities right! It's such a shame. Tsk...Tsk.....

Anyway admission into top schools is by merit and not by how rich you are especially so for secondary schools onwards. Every school has their fair share of student cohort of different financial background. It is not true that all top schools are made up of students having affluent parents.

I would not say that getting into top schools has become an obsession with Singaporeans. It happens everywhere. Everyone strives for the best things in life. Who doesn't? So long as you are willing to work hard and achieve your dreams and goals and you have what it takes, why settle for second best? Of course, one ought to be realistic. What is best may not necessary suit you. So wisdom is the key in making the right choice for oneself. Ultimately, anything that makes one happy and be at peace with oneself is what that really matters.

So who cares which school one goes to, what handbag one carries or what car one drives? Are these people really happier than others who have naught? :?

Getting fed up of having to scroll through the same posts each visit? When you register for an account, you'll always come back to exactly where you were before, and choose to be notified of new replies (either via email, or push notification). You'll also be able to save bookmarks and upvote posts to show your appreciation to other community members.

• 12 / 13